ferrytales 4th Gear July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 just my 2 cents, after test drive M3 (the 2018 one(standard version) and the new avante(elite) in Dec2018 or early Jan 2019), if you really drive cars for a few years, you can tell avante is of lower quality overall in terms of interior design or driving experience...Of course, the price is easily 20k cheaper. I will rather save the 20k and go on holidays for the next 10 years. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 Yes. Brand new car, drive a few months, then have to change steering column etc......Its not acceptable. Give me 20 dislike points if you cannot take the truth. I am just being super honest. I fully agree with you, Roger. Hyundai has a long way to go in terms of built quality and reliability, as compared to the all time favorite Toyota. It's more assuring to pay a 35% premium for a Toyota Altis. No point to buy a Hyundai Avante cheap and end up with a load of problem. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 just my 2 cents, after test drive M3 (the 2018 one(standard version) and the new avante(elite) in Dec2018 or early Jan 2019), if you really drive cars for a few years, you can tell avante is of lower quality overall in terms of interior design or driving experience... I presume you are talking about mz3. mz3 has a better interior cabin. more refined compared to the hyundais for sure. got multi-link rear suspension. But lower end of spectrum in terms of cabin space/boot space. My honest opinion is that mz3 doesn't drive anywhere as well as it's bigger brother, the mz6. I actually did go down to kaypoh test drive it before after my BIL bought one. Found it underwhelming. Not something i really remember fondly. All are competent B&B cars to me. specs, price and looks are more impt. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 I fully agree with you, Roger. Hyundai has a long way to go in terms of built quality and reliability, as compared to the all time favorite Toyota. It's more assuring to pay a 35% premium for a Toyota Altis. No point to buy a Hyundai Avante cheap and end up with a load of problem. I remember someone posted here before saying korean cars nice to see only. Lol. I think if compared in the 90s and maybe early 2000, korean cars have improved but maybe the quality and reliability still lack if you compared with honda and toyota la. The price difference already tell you, you need to pay a price for the quality and reliability de. No such thing that you pay low price and yet can get good quality and reliability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huuray 2nd Gear July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 I remember someone posted here before saying korean cars nice to see only. Lol. I think if compared in the 90s and maybe early 2000, korean cars have improved but maybe the quality and reliability still lack if you compared with honda and toyota la. The price difference already tell you, you need to pay a price for the quality and reliability de. No such thing that you pay low price and yet can get good quality and reliability. No wonder the Jap brands are not reducing their prices as the higher price (which does not necessarily means better equipped or better reliability) is actually 1 of their main selling point! Empower the owner with the feel good factor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 No wonder the Jap brands are not reducing their prices as the higher price (which does not necessarily means better equipped or better reliability) is actually 1 of their main selling point! Empower the owner with the feel good factor.The jap cars agent see no need to compete with the Koreans. They know their forte is reliability and people are willing to pay for it. They have been following this principle for decades already and are still making money. I remember someone posted here before saying korean cars nice to see only. Lol. I think if compared in the 90s and maybe early 2000, korean cars have improved but maybe the quality and reliability still lack if you compared with honda and toyota la. The price difference already tell you, you need to pay a price for the quality and reliability de. No such thing that you pay low price and yet can get good quality and reliability.Ya lah.....the Avante is entry level car and in order for Hyundai to make decent profits out of this model, they must built it to very low cost. There is no such thing as low cost and high quality in the automotive world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 M3. S/B MZ3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged July 20, 2019 Share July 20, 2019 I presume you are talking about mz3. mz3 has a better interior cabin. more refined compared to the hyundais for sure. got multi-link rear suspension. But lower end of spectrum in terms of cabin space/boot space. My honest opinion is that mz3 doesn't drive anywhere as well as it's bigger brother, the mz6. I actually did go down to kaypoh test drive it before after my BIL bought one. Found it underwhelming. Not something i really remember fondly. All are competent B&B cars to me. specs, price and looks are more impt. I agree... at the entry level, with price a factor in the overall package, not much difference between most brands... for mass market brands... Mazda tries to upmarket itself, but it is still a mass market brand... they have tried to rely on design, both interior and exterior to pull in buyers... but unless it's so much better at the same price point, everybody will have to cut corners here and there to meet the entry level price point lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Privacy 5th Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 just my 2 cents, after test drive M3 (the 2018 one(standard version) and the new avante(elite) in Dec2018 or early Jan 2019), if you really drive cars for a few years, you can tell avante is of lower quality overall in terms of interior design or driving experience...i disagree. i drove maz3 deluxe for 2 yrs and elantra s trim for a yr. maz3 is not refined... elantra definitely better drive... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 Mazda & Subaru, while in the "mass market" pricing range, were never "mass market" They were niche offbeat brands, appealing to others that look beyond Toyota & Honda efficiency. Boxer, Rotary, AWD etc So what are the Koreans' mission statement ? Simply to copy and beat the rest ? At a certain point, they have to build an identity for themselves. While I agree they have come a long way regards to build quality and design, I personally dun feel anything for them. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinkydong 3rd Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 Second that. The Mazda 1.5 engine is underpowered and very unrefined. Engine is vocal when extended (typical of many b&b 4 cylinder powered cars) but its also unrefined and rough. I have also just test driven the latest 2019 Mazda 3 Elegance Sedan. It has impressive interior trim and safety features. NVH has improved significantly, resulting in a more acceptable engine noise in the cabin when extended. However, the car is still very underpowered despite of their claims of having a mild hybrid system to assist. It merely gives the driver a sense of being responsive when u step on the accelerator from stand still. It only offers just that initial split second response, thereafter there is hardly much asssistance from 1,500rpm onwards. Revving the car till redline is pretty pointless. In this aspect, Hyundai's 1.6 engine gives much better low to mid end torque. i disagree. i drove maz3 deluxe for 2 yrs and elantra s trim for a yr.maz3 is not refined... elantra definitely better drive... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ferrytales 4th Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 I fully agree with you, Roger. Hyundai has a long way to go in terms of built quality and reliability, as compared to the all time favorite Toyota. It's more assuring to pay a 35% premium for a Toyota Altis. No point to buy a Hyundai Avante cheap and end up with a load of problem. What problems bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 What problems bro?Please Google for the problems or read through this topic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 i disagree. i drove maz3 deluxe for 2 yrs and elantra s trim for a yr. maz3 is not refined... elantra definitely better drive... Mazda almost across all models have very "stiff" interiors. The seats are always on the hard side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 Mazda almost across all models have very "stiff" interiors. The seats are always on the hard side.I suppose in keeping with their sporty image lar... a lot depends on the choices made by the manufacturer... Hyundai seats not always the most comfortable...What problems bro?Bro Vinceng just being sarcastic bro... ha ha ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 Mazda almost across all models have very "stiff" interiors. The seats are always on the hard side. hmmm mostly for the driver, yeah i do feel that. Not super comfortable type. I suppose in keeping with their sporty image lar... a lot depends on the choices made by the manufacturer... Hyundai seats not always the most comfortable... Bro Vinceng just being sarcastic bro... ha ha ha... think when i test drove the cars, toyota had the more comfortable back seat. Hyundai vs honda vs toyota. But it's not really a lot in it... I can feel the lumbar area is bit lacking for me for the elantra. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 hmmm mostly for the driver, yeah i do feel that. Not super comfortable type. think when i test drove the cars, toyota had the more comfortable back seat. Hyundai vs honda vs toyota. But it's not really a lot in it... I can feel the lumbar area is bit lacking for me for the elantra. My own car the rear seats angle is not correct... so not comfortable... when you sit and lean back, the feeling not comfortable... like lean too far back... especially for shorter people like my parents... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 I suppose in keeping with their sporty image lar... a lot depends on the choices made by the manufacturer... Hyundai seats not always the most comfortable... Bro Vinceng just being sarcastic bro... ha ha ha... Honda cars also have sporty image but their seats still quite comfortable. But think toyota should have the most comfortable seats esp i find the 2005 altis seats nice to sit. Dont know if the current altis seats comfy or not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...