COE Bidding – May 2021

Carbon82

4 hours ago, Jamesc said:

We dealers have a very clever plan.

If COE only goes up then people see COE so high won't even come into out showroom except to eat the biscuits like @PhillipKee

So when COE goes up a few times and then comes down even if only a little bit suddenly all the people on the side lines will say now is the time!

And rush down this weekend to put deposit.

This is consistent lah, my friend who plays in the stock market said that a healthy correction is always good for the next  wave of surge.  AD will tell potential buyers to qickly act on it before COE price raching the next high.

17 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

This is consistent lah, my friend who plays in the stock market said that a healthy correction is always good for the next  wave of surge.  AD will tell potential buyers to qickly act on it before COE price raching the next high.

That's what I say

"quickly act on it before COE price raching the next high."

15 hours ago, Jamesc said:

We dealers have a very clever plan.

If COE only goes up then people see COE so high won't even come into out showroom except to eat the biscuits like @PhillipKee

So when COE goes up a few times and then comes down even if only a little bit suddenly all the people on the side lines will say now is the time!

And rush down this weekend to put deposit.

Huat Ah! 💰💰💰

15 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

Aiyo! Cat A COE drops by only about 1600$, still ex. Do you all think it will drop further in next round??

The next round should not have big movement like 10k up or down, so the effect to car price won't  be significant. Can buy now if you plan to buy one, otherwise, wait for  a few years for the next higher COE quota cycle.

21 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

Aiyo! Cat A COE drops by only about 1600$, still ex. Do you all think it will drop further in next round??

if we all know we would be a rich car dealer like james hahaha

15 minutes ago, Atachi said:

Replace BTC with COE. 

jason leong is hilarious! great one, thanks for sharing!

17 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

Aiya, whether the coe comes down or go up, AD default would tell their customers to act quick to buy de. When you will hear AD tells you dont buy one? Lol.

44 minutes ago, Mooose said:

if we all know we would be a rich car dealer like james hahaha

Jamesc is not rich car dealer lah.

We just help collect COE and pass it to the gov.

We don't even get commission for helping collect so much 

Work in IRAS at least can get a bonus for collecting more then expected.

We get nothing. I think even sweep stake seller get bonus if he sells the winning ticket.

1 minute ago, Jamesc said:

Jamesc is not rich car dealer lah.

We just help collect COE and pass it to the gov.

We don't even get commission for helping collect so much 

Work in IRAS at least can get a bonus for collecting more then expected.

We get nothing. I think even sweep stake seller get bonus if he sells the winning ticket.

you sell nothing but winning cars .. so sure get bonus!

otherwise we would see you selling sweep stakes instead of cars hahaha

COE price should go up in the next few months... 

Heard Tesla Singapore has started bidding for COE for their order already. My friend who ordered say Tesla will be bidding 15% - 20% above the last closing price for the next round. 

Assuming they have order in the backlog for delivery until end of year... I think Tesla alone will be bidding for 100 COEs per round...

16 hours ago, tldd said:

COE price should go up in the next few months... 

Heard Tesla Singapore has started bidding for COE for their order already. My friend who ordered say Tesla will be bidding 15% - 20% above the last closing price for the next round. 

Assuming they have order in the backlog for delivery until end of year... I think Tesla alone will be bidding for 100 COEs per round...

Tesla selling price excludes the COE. I am curious to know how they determine how much to bid for the COE? Buyer decides or Tesla decides? Instead of 15%-20% above, can I ask them to bid lower than last round price? Can you help to ask your friend? Thanks

The more COE goes up the more new car people will buy.

They kancheong mah.

Its all human psychology.

When low COE no one wants to buy.

Edited by Jamesc

@Soundphile They will ask you to sign a COE agreement to authorize them to bid up to $x (value is 15% - 20% above the COE price in the previous round, and determined by Tesla) 

They will let you know the exact amount and if you sign off they will bid for you. 

You cannot self-bid COE (at least for now), if you want to buy a Tesla Model 3 directly from Tesla you will have to let Tesla bid it for you. Tesla do not take any profit from this process, so I think they just want to streamline the whole process since it will be quite challenging to track the COE bids if it's different price for different customer. They will only do one bid on the agreed amount. They will request for a $10,000 deposit to start bidding the TCOE for you. 

Once you secure a COE, it's more of less waiting for your car to be produce in Shanghai. The first delivery is expected to happen in mid-July. Right now Tesla will only contact owners who will have their cars produced in the next production run for RHD. Unfortunately you cannot contact Tesla to bid for you now even if you are keen.

That's why I'm expecting COE price to rise significantly, assuming Tesla will be bidding away quite a number of COEs per round. 

23 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

The more COE goes up the more new car people will buy.

They kancheong mah.

Its all human psychology.

When low COE no one wants to buy.

When high, people scared will go higher so they buy.

When low, people always think will go even lower so they wait and no one buy. 

Lucky I never wait during CB. 

Not forgetting, last yr Jun and Dec holiday + this yr Jun and Dec holiday, all trapped in Singapore and nowhere to go. Each overseas holiday easily 10k for middle income family...... 

Hosay liao, many will be tempted to buy car liao....