Anyone did Zip/ZipTrack blinds?

Atrecord

Has anyone here installed those Zip or Ziptrack blinds that are increasingly common nowadays, on their balconies?

I'm thinking of doing it, and see that there are so many installers and types/brands around, so would like to ask if anyone has any knowledge/experience with them to share? 

Basically, my first priority is strength, as once in a while, i have really very strong winds on my balcony, so i don't want one that might give way or worse, break, under severe wind. All the sales persons will say their products can withstand typhoons/hurricanes, but i don't think i should just take their words for it. Other considerations include water-proofing, reliability, maintenance, support, and of course price.

Any advice or sharing would be appreciated.

38 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

Has anyone here installed those Zip or Ziptrack blinds that are increasingly common nowadays, on their balconies?

I'm thinking of doing it, and see that there are so many installers and types/brands around, so would like to ask if anyone has any knowledge/experience with them to share? 

Basically, my first priority is strength, as once in a while, i have really very strong winds on my balcony, so i don't want one that might give way or worse, break, under severe wind. All the sales persons will say their products can withstand typhoons/hurricanes, but i don't think i should just take their words for it. Other considerations include water-proofing, reliability, maintenance, support, and of course price.

There are motorised and manual versions!

54 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

I have. Probably the best investment for my reno. Last few weeks the winds are quite strong with heavy rain. The blinds managed to block out most of the water. Some leakages though but I'm fine with it. Mine comes with an app to set timer. Not a fantastic feature though as you cant see the status.

I got mine from mc2. Service wise they are quite good. Called them once to touch up on the sealing. Their zip blinds price are quite competitive but not their curtains and blinds. 

5 hours ago, Fitvip said:

There are motorised and manual versions!

yup, am looking at the motorised one. Got elderly parents at home, so will need all the help from automation.

4 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

I have. Probably the best investment for my reno. Last few weeks the winds are quite strong with heavy rain. The blinds managed to block out most of the water. Some leakages though but I'm fine with it. Mine comes with an app to set timer. Not a fantastic feature though as you cant see the status.

I got mine from mc2. Service wise they are quite good. Called them once to touch up on the sealing. Their zip blinds price are quite competitive but not their curtains and blinds. 

Thanks! I got a quote from mc2 too. Not the cheapest, but also not the most ex. Quoted me significantly than a neighbour upstairs though, and when pointed out, only reduced it a bit. Am keen on it cos my neighbour would definitely experience the same - if not stronger - wind than me, so my first concern is somewhat taken care of, even if my neighbour's system showed a little bit of 'looseness' at the one side.

For the leakage that you mentioned, was it through the surface of the blinds, or from the bottom?

21 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

yup, am looking at the motorised one. Got elderly parents at home, so will need all the help from automation.

Thanks! I got a quote from mc2 too. Not the cheapest, but also not the most ex. Quoted me significantly than a neighbour upstairs though, and when pointed out, only reduced it a bit. Am keen on it cos my neighbour would definitely experience the same - if not stronger - wind than me, so my first concern is somewhat taken care of, even if my neighbour's system showed a little bit of 'looseness' at the one side.

For the leakage that you mentioned, was it through the surface of the blinds, or from the bottom?

If I'm not wrong, their motor is either US or German made. So I think it's worth the bit more money. Overall their installation quality is quite good. That is one thing from my reno which I have no complaints.

My leakage mainly from the bottom. Only sometimes if the rain and wind very strong, some water will penetrate through the blinds. But those are just small water patches or small beads of water running down the blind.

But my system is less than a year old. So reliability is still unknown.

4 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Expensive but good as its windproof and also quite waterproof

so keep ur balcony clean but downside its expensive

yah... it's more expensive than the COE of our previous car 😅

but should be a good investment. Would have been much better if we had this product 10 yr ago... now we're 10 yr late...

4 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

If I'm not wrong, their motor is either US or German made. So I think it's worth the bit more money. Overall their installation quality is quite good. That is one thing from my reno which I have no complaints.

My leakage mainly from the bottom. Only sometimes if the rain and wind very strong, some water will penetrate through the blinds. But those are just small water patches or small beads of water running down the blind.

But my system is less than a year old. So reliability is still unknown.

Yes, they said the motor is from Europe. France i think. Told my neighbour do 3 panels instead of 2, will be cheaper, as 2 panels will mean too long to go into the lift, so need to charge more...

Then we asked for 3 panels so as to have more flexibility in which one to open/close, and then tell us 3 panels more expensive as got one more motor... 😂

Hope reliability - and support if needed - will be good in the long run.

get from anyone except the curtain boutique...

Motor is good, but reliability concerns. the other concern is: if motor jam, overheat, you cannot manually override

9 hours ago, Vegas said:

get from anyone except the curtain boutique...

Motor is good, but reliability concerns. the other concern is: if motor jam, overheat, you cannot manually override

Oh, what was your experience with them? think they all say they use the same brand of motor leh. called somfy or something...

they are the other company i got a quote from, actually. Came recommended by a friend who did a small piece for his study room, which he needed 100% water-proof... but his is small, and doesn't have strong wind, so i'm also not 100% convinced this can withstand strong wind, unlike mc2 which my neighbour upstairs did... (confirmed experienced same wind as me)...

2 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Oh, what was your experience with them? think they all say they use the same brand of motor leh. called somfy or something...

they are the other company i got a quote from, actually. Came recommended by a friend who did a small piece for his study room, which he needed 100% water-proof... but his is small, and doesn't have strong wind, so i'm also not 100% convinced this can withstand strong wind, unlike mc2 which my neighbour upstairs did... (confirmed experienced same wind as me)...

the sell u time bery gd... the pay $ time, and install time, much to be desired.

TCB do zip trak only. there are others such as zip blind zip etc. somfy is ang mo one. got china one. if want smart, need to have access point and select comm method.

ziptrak is proven in aussie harsh weather... i choose the manual one. the price for ziptrak manual is almost the price of other brands motorised / smart blinds 😞 

On 12/24/2021 at 11:59 PM, Atrecord said:

Yes, they said the motor is from Europe. France i think. Told my neighbour do 3 panels instead of 2, will be cheaper, as 2 panels will mean too long to go into the lift, so need to charge more...

Then we asked for 3 panels so as to have more flexibility in which one to open/close, and then tell us 3 panels more expensive as got one more motor... 😂

Malaysian salesman Ah? Roti prata flipping? 

9 hours ago, Vegas said:

the sell u time bery gd... the pay $ time, and install time, much to be desired.

TCB do zip trak only. there are others such as zip blind zip etc. somfy is ang mo one. got china one. if want smart, need to have access point and select comm method.

ziptrak is proven in aussie harsh weather... i choose the manual one. the price for ziptrak manual is almost the price of other brands motorised / smart blinds 😞 

wah... ok ok tks. TCB got east and west showroom. you got from which one? now got festive promo, about maybe 10+% discount, and install schedule is around Mar liao. Biz too good...

manual one i think is gonna be tough for my old folks. might have to bite bullet on this...

got one brand zip screen is the cheapest... but TCB said got lots of problem and they stopped selling it some time back... 40% cheaper than ziptrack...

29 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

wah... ok ok tks. TCB got east and west showroom. you got from which one? now got festive promo, about maybe 10+% discount, and install schedule is around Mar liao. Biz too good...

manual one i think is gonna be tough for my old folks. might have to bite bullet on this...

got one brand zip screen is the cheapest... but TCB said got lots of problem and they stopped selling it some time back... 40% cheaper than ziptrack...

My new place have many pple do zip screen.

if i sales who dun have that product to sell, cfm also say that product chuiz.

my damn installer was late by 3 hours. I needed to run some errands for 2 hrs, come back he installed and run road. Any installation is need to be sign off approve by owner what. I ask the sales show me sign off… they cant.

just take note: when booked pay deposit, after measure actual, pay more $. 1 week before install, pay all. They take ur $, end up IMO, a shit aftertaste

33 minutes ago, Vegas said:

my damn installer was late by 3 hours. I needed to run some errands for 2 hrs, come back he installed and run road. Any installation is need to be sign off approve by owner what. I ask the sales show me sign off… they cant.

just take note: when booked pay deposit, after measure actual, pay more $. 1 week before install, pay all. They take ur $, end up IMO, a shit aftertaste

Whack in their social media lor. Else they always heck care. 

4 hours ago, Vegas said:

wow... now i know why they said give 3% discount if pay in full... pay liao change phone no. then the owner HK liao... looks like cannot trust...

but is the zip screen really good, would you know? i have a friend/neighbour installed, but his unit is blocked, so is confirmed no strong wind one; mine is unblocked, so i dun dare to take his (he installed 1 yr+ no problem) as accurate... Else is like half price of the TCB quote...

On 12/24/2021 at 11:59 PM, Atrecord said:

Mine is 3 panels due to my balcony shape. I prefer less panel as more panels means more vertical struts/guide mounted on the floor. 

But mc2 require full payment when confirming order. I saw some not happy with this kind of terms. So it maybe something for you to consider.