ScottyWittyKow 1st Gear April 15, 2022 Author Share April 15, 2022 On 4/7/2022 at 5:51 PM, ManManMandy said: I'm also a class 4 student right now in the same school, my TP test is coming up mid-Apr. Wish me good luck, please! and, about campervan rental in Aussie/NZ, u don't need class 4 licence, just class 3 is sufficient and they are A/T. Unless you're going for RV (motorbus), then class 4. But don't think there's any RV for rent in Oceania. @ManManMandy- How is your Class 4 TP test? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManManMandy 1st Gear April 21, 2022 Share April 21, 2022 On 4/15/2022 at 12:24 PM, ScottyWittyKow said: @ManManMandy- How is your Class 4 TP test? yoz!! I graduated this week!! Passed with 12 points. slow in moving off, aka too careful, V-course tio wrong signal also, and he said I use wrong gear during downslope. Overall, tester was very kind and friendly. went out for u-turn nearby the school then right turn return to school. Outside for 15mins max, then go interview room chit-chat for 20 mins after the roadsign test. LOL 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 21, 2022 Share April 21, 2022 3 minutes ago, ManManMandy said: yoz!! I graduated this week!! Passed with 12 points. slow in moving off, aka too careful, V-course tio wrong signal also, and he said I use wrong gear during downslope. Overall, tester was very kind and friendly. went out for u-turn nearby the school then right turn return to school. Outside for 15mins max, then go interview room chit-chat for 20 mins after the roadsign test. LOL congrats. time to buy that Y-plate and burn some diesel!!!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManManMandy 1st Gear April 21, 2022 Share April 21, 2022 I asked about class 4 vs. class 5 licence, here's what the tester told me: class 4 is any vehicle exceeding 2500kg (unladen = no load), can carry load/people >> Prime Mover >> Low-bed trailer >> Dump truck >> Lorry >> Rolls Royce Phantom, Merc G-wagon (by right) >> Fire Engine >> Private bus / coach class 5 is any vehicle exceeding 7250kg, but cannot carry any loads >> cement mixer >> mobile crane >> rubbish truck (this one also weird, rubbish is not load meh??) He said I don't need class 5 unless I'm gonna drive rubbish truck 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottyWittyKow 1st Gear April 21, 2022 Author Share April 21, 2022 19 minutes ago, ManManMandy said: yoz!! I graduated this week!! Passed with 12 points. slow in moving off, aka too careful, V-course tio wrong signal also, and he said I use wrong gear during downslope. Overall, tester was very kind and friendly. went out for u-turn nearby the school then right turn return to school. Outside for 15mins max, then go interview room chit-chat for 20 mins after the roadsign test. LOL @ManManMandy - Congrats !! U got ask why the V course tio wrong signal? Is alot of points leh. If I remember correctly, it is 4 points. i don’t understand why they penalize on that part. Anyway, good that you passed. Happy for u. 🎉🎉 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottyWittyKow 1st Gear April 21, 2022 Author Share April 21, 2022 1 minute ago, ManManMandy said: I asked about class 4 vs. class 5 licence, here's what the tester told me: class 4 is any vehicle exceeding 2500kg (unladen = no load), can carry load/people >> Prime Mover >> Low-bed trailer >> Dump truck >> Lorry >> Rolls Royce Phantom, Merc G-wagon (by right) >> Fire Engine >> Private bus / coach class 5 is any vehicle exceeding 7250kg, but cannot carry any loads >> cement mixer >> mobile crane >> rubbish truck (this one also weird, rubbish is not load meh??) He said I don't need class 5 unless I'm gonna drive rubbish truck @ManManMandy - Wah thanks for the info. Will screenshot it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManManMandy 1st Gear April 21, 2022 Share April 21, 2022 @ScottyWittyKow Tester told me that V-course is signal right first then move off, I turned before signalling right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManManMandy 1st Gear April 21, 2022 Share April 21, 2022 26 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: congrats. time to buy that Y-plate and burn some diesel!!!! Thanks !!! Any lobang to buy Unimog? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 21, 2022 Share April 21, 2022 1 minute ago, ManManMandy said: Thanks !!! Any lobang to buy Unimog? if you have to ask for a lobang... then probably you cannot afford it... 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ManManMandy 1st Gear April 21, 2022 Share April 21, 2022 8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: if you have to ask for a lobang... then probably you cannot afford it... 😁 yeah... you're correct. I reckon it's gonna cost 3 kidneys for a Unimog in SG, even though I can get one for 15kEUR in Germany. the last time i checked C&C don't carry Unimogs, need to do own import or maybe SBS can help me? LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BusLover92 Neutral Newbie September 25, 2022 Share September 25, 2022 Hi guys! I do plan to continue taking up the class 4 licence, failed 2-3 times before the covid-19 era. Regret not continuing and now the fees has gone up sky high. But i check on the police website im still able to renew the PDL, guess i just have to retake the whole thing again 😔 a bit nervous though, read thru some of the tips here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BusLover92 Neutral Newbie September 25, 2022 Share September 25, 2022 @ManManMandy private bus is 20 seater and above, below that still class 3.. important to drive a bus in singapore is a valid bus Voccational License Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo5sg 2nd Gear September 26, 2022 Share September 26, 2022 On 4/21/2022 at 4:56 PM, ManManMandy said: yeah... you're correct. I reckon it's gonna cost 3 kidneys for a Unimog in SG, even though I can get one for 15kEUR in Germany. the last time i checked C&C don't carry Unimogs, need to do own import or maybe SBS can help me? LOL The last time I drove MID unimog, fuel consumption was 2 to 3 Km/l! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AhSeng65 Neutral Newbie October 3, 2022 Share October 3, 2022 On 9/25/2022 at 6:50 PM, BusLover92 said: @ManManMandy private bus is 20 seater and above, below that still class 3.. important to drive a bus in singapore is a valid bus Voccational License I don't think so. Class 3 definition clearly says the car =<7 pax excluding the driver. So vehicle carrying more pax than that would belong to a higher class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 3, 2022 Share October 3, 2022 On 9/26/2022 at 5:00 PM, Evo5sg said: The last time I drove MID unimog, fuel consumption was 2 to 3 Km/l! Lust time I also drove unimog...a year and a half thereabout...neber bother about fc...becos ah gong paid...I just whacked...until peep peep peep...up to the 8th time then eased throttle...some driver vocation guys dared to try till the 9th beep... I scared sekali the brake fail me...so better to be on the safe side instead of kena sign extra for triggering the SWD counter...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BusLover92 Neutral Newbie October 3, 2022 Share October 3, 2022 (edited) .deleted Edited October 3, 2022 by BusLover92 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BusLover92 Neutral Newbie October 3, 2022 Share October 3, 2022 10 hours ago, AhSeng65 said: I don't think so. Class 3 definition clearly says the car =<7 pax excluding the driver. So vehicle carrying more pax than that would belong to a higher class. @AhSeng65 those models like Toyota Hiace highroof is 13 seaters and Class 3 can drive but you need to have a Bus vocational licence from LTA coz ferrying pax and insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Natarajan Neutral Newbie October 18, 2022 Share October 18, 2022 Based on the tips from ScottyWittyKow, in addition to the actual lessons in the circuit, I have managed to pass the TP test today (18 Oct). This is my second attempt. Here are the tips from my side: 1. Make sure the reverse gear warning works in your vehicle. I'm not sure how to test this when you are with the TP though, but this will be big issue if you are not very familiar with manual vehicle. During my first TP, I have got vehicle number 214, with faulty reverse alarm. I completely rely on the reverse sound to check whether I'm in gear 2 or reverse. As the alarm was not working, I ended up moving the vehicle in reverse gear on two occasions, when I actually wanted to move forward. First time was minor, this was as soon as I have started the vehicle. So only 2 points. However when it happened next time in the circuit, it was after parking. So I ended up hitting the kerb, with 10 demerit points. Few more blind spot checking issues, I ended up with 24 points in the circuit itself. So no road test in the first attempt. I guess I have to blame my bad luck for getting a vehicle which is faulty. I thought of objecting to TP, but if this happens in real life, I can't blame reverse alarm for causing an accident. It's still going to be my responsibility. Not sure whether I could have asked for a replacement vehicle. Anyway I didn't do any of those things and thought second time I'll be lucky with the TP test, as there was no major issues otherwise. 2. You have to book for five lessons upfront, before you can book for TP test. See whether you can move the last two lessons just before the TP test. Preferably the last one on the same day that of TP test. This way you will not forget the finer points, as to where to make the full left, when to straighten during reverse parking etc. Moving the dates involves selling your current booking, which could be bit tricky. You may lose the money ($150?) if no one buys it and you don't go for the class. But in a way, it may be worth it, instead of booking for test for the second time ($300+). 3. If you prefer a colorful traffic signs list than the one given by the school, here it is. Anyone taking the Class 4 test, best wishes ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...