Engine oil change - what can go wrong

Gnahp

On 2/11/2026 at 9:36 PM, Beregond said:

wont la lol, frankly the tolerance for these stuff, is very very high 1, even if base on experience hand tighten, u wont crack it.

only those very newbie mech use bull strength then can damage😅

ah, reminded me of our previous car

bought new, serviced at the dealer until warranty expired (3 years/100,000km)

when I took over

the plastic oil filter housing was weeping oil

I thought it's the o-rings

turned out the plastic oil filter housing had a hairline crack

I change it to a new one

no leak for another 7 years 180,000km

until COE expired

On 2/11/2026 at 9:49 PM, Gnahp said:

ah, reminded me of our previous car

bought new, serviced at the dealer until warranty expired (3 years/100,000km)

when I took over

the plastic oil filter housing was weeping oil

I thought it's the o-rings

turned out the plastic oil filter housing had a hairline crack

I change it to a new one

no leak for another 7 years 180,000km

until COE expired

You know it's the workshop gorilla's. They always think the tighter the better. (wait... that sounds a bit offensive). 

Maybe they use air impact wrench to tighten. 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 2/12/2026 at 1:00 AM, Volvobrick said:

You know it's the workshop gorilla's. They always think the tighter the better. (wait... that sounds a bit offensive). 

not every time gorilla

sometimes jelly hands, not tighten enough

I get under my wife's car recently, and found out one of the 10 undertray screws was loose

screw is still hanging there but not tighten

the undertray at that spot was rattling when I pressed with my hand

car went for an ATF change in workshop a few months ago

after I tighten it

that random buzz under the car seems went away

undertray.thumb.jpg.8e7f3bbebd6a9daeaf2f9e8f2f8e9f12.jpg

I sit very low in my car

I can see the bottom of other cars from a tiko angle 

MANY cars, have loose/dropped undertray

some even flapping at speed 

On 2/12/2026 at 4:00 AM, Volvobrick said:

What to do. Lots of our mechanics are the uneducated ones across the causeway. When you address this with them, it’s like that one or they based on their sifu who told them. Never based on engineering principles.

but of course there are good ones who I listen to and respect. But those are pretty rare. 
some are acceptable with only some minor bulls**t they spout. 

Edited by Mkl22

Oil Filter Wrench 3/8" dr 25Nm Torque Limited Adapter - A must have for shops that do not own torque wrench. All car oil filter spin-on type or paper filter with cap need only 25NM torque. 

Turn Your Normal Basic Ratchet To 25Nm Torque Wrench

Convenient to use on oil filter wench installation.

Made from high-strength, heat treated chrome vanadium steel and corrosion-resistant chrome plated finish for mechanical, industrial or construction work.

OIl filter Torque socket.jpg

From yr 2000 upwards,  most Toyota cars  up to 2000cc use plastic cap for their paper cartridge filter.  Their designed  oil filter wrench comes with 6 slots to anchor the cap firmly to the filter cap. No slip and will not cause damage to the plastic cap.

image.png.0568b0a7f9a84926e5405afd76d11335.png

On 2/12/2026 at 11:01 AM, Yeobh said:

Oil Filter Wrench 3/8" dr 25Nm Torque Limited Adapter - A must have for shops that do not own torque wrench. All car oil filter spin-on type or paper filter with cap need only 25NM torque. 

Turn Your Normal Basic Ratchet To 25Nm Torque Wrench

Convenient to use on oil filter wench installation.

Made from high-strength, heat treated chrome vanadium steel and corrosion-resistant chrome plated finish for mechanical, industrial or construction work.

OIl filter Torque socket.jpg

U wanna bet 90% or even higher % of the ws out there Will never use a torque wrench to tighten your oil filter.

Even the best ws I go. I never see it. Even the AD dun do it.

🤣

On 2/12/2026 at 5:38 AM, Mkl22 said:

What to do. Lots of our mechanics are the uneducated ones across the causeway. When you address this with them, it’s like that one or they based on their sifu who told them. Never based on engineering principles.

but of course there are good ones who I listen to and respect. But those are pretty rare. 
some are acceptable with only some minor bulls**t they spout. 

Can only blame the bosses who hire them lo.

But most customers just want chip chip service😂

On 2/12/2026 at 12:02 PM, inlinesix said:

Can only blame the bosses who hire them lo.

But most customers just want chip chip service😂

the expensive ones (dealers) also the same leh...

On 2/12/2026 at 3:34 PM, Gnahp said:

Maximise profit ma.

Cust not going to pay more for Engineering Grad doing menial work.

On 2/12/2026 at 3:34 PM, Gnahp said:

That is the problem with car repair service in SG.

There is no qualification comparision.  Good or not good is almost 100 % base on our own experience with the WS or by mouth,  recommendations. 

Worst case if while most driver willing to pay top money for their ride. When it come to service and repair , they become very niao. 

Worst plus Worst is most driver know nothing about maintenance and repair , plus the super niao attitude. 

That is what happen to our car ws culture now.

On 2/11/2026 at 9:13 PM, Gnahp said:

want to hear the opinions here since we are on this topic

see that torque spec on the oil filter housing?

it says - 25+5Nm

what is your interpretation?

for me, I read it as 25Nm to 30Nm is ok

like +/- without the minus

i.e. if 25Nm +/- 5Nm

meaning 20Nm to 30Nm is ok

s-l1600.webp

IMHO.
If put 25Nm, sure got some will wonder how to get exactly 25Nm.   The +5Nm is meant it is ok to tighten a bit more perhaps. 

Edited by Kklee

On 2/12/2026 at 5:57 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
If put 25Nm, sure got some will wonder how to get exactly 25Nm.   The +5Nm is meant it is ok to tighten a bit more perhaps. 

I prefer those repair manual that give you a range for torque specs

i.e. 13Nm to 16Nm, 43Nm to 55Nm

more chin chye more relax 😁

like you said, if give one exact number, it made it sounds critical

worst is they put zero(s) at the back of the number

25.0Nm or 25.00Nm

siao liao....

how-to-read-service-manual-v0-qfmr3o08tw

On 2/12/2026 at 6:18 PM, Gnahp said:

25.0Nm or 25.00Nm

siao liao....

IMHO.
I was "researching" on the use of analog and digital torque wrench in this aspect.   For analog,  use 30Nm because the physical springs (etc) weakens.  For digital,  usually human error ( slow reaction ) so use 25 Nm.  🤣

25.0Nm or 25.00Nm

siao liao....

For road bike, torque must be exact.

Otherwise, need to buy new bike🤭

On 2/12/2026 at 5:57 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.

In the old day, those to chui, will alway say hand tighten is enough, if any newbie go use bullstrength on the wench, the taochui will scold, next time come back servicing, u go open that filter yourself. 🤣

25.0Nm or 25.00Nm

siao liao....

If u want refer to manual, too many stuff, long ago i actually use the recommended torque for my wheel nuts, But then later i keep have the feeling its not tight enough, i increase 30% more😂

And talk about manual, how many AC ws actually have the proper chart how much oil is needed for each car model. Long ago i actually saw 1 WS follow that chart when i do AC flushing and they pump in the new oil. 

But its super rare. 

On 2/12/2026 at 7:51 PM, Beregond said:

In the old day, those to chui, will alway say hand tighten is enough, if any newbie go use bullstrength on the wench, the taochui will scold, next time come back servicing, u go open that filter yourself. 🤣

If u want refer to manual, too many stuff, long ago i actually use the recommended torque for my wheel nuts, But then later i keep have the feeling its not tight enough, i increase 30% more😂

And talk about manual, how many AC ws actually have the proper chart how much oil is needed for each car model. Long ago i actually saw 1 WS follow that chart when i do AC flushing and they pump in the new oil. 

But its super rare. 

IMHO.
IIRC,  Toyota-BM tell me they use auto dispenser,  but every time the EO overfilled. 
For AC,  how many workshop actually change/look at the receiver-drier when servicing the AC or use the correct PAG. 

On 2/12/2026 at 7:43 PM, inlinesix said:

For road bike, torque must be exact.

Otherwise, need to buy new bike🤭

those are built to the limit for weight saving, with no much allowance 

so everything need to torque sui sui and accurately