Discoburg Supersonic December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 Anyone here used Airalo when overseas? Any comments on whether the data is stable? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 (edited) I used it in hokkaido during Aug and BKK in Sept, were happy with them in term of speed and availability. Dont try staruhub,it is real crap, wasting money and unacceptably slow even for simple text transmission. Edited December 12, 2023 by Ct3833 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 Tried it when I was in JB last month. So issues. Didn't encounter any no reception or can't connect issue. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 I use this AloSim, currently having promo US$20 for US$50 credit to be used in any country. So far I have been using it in Japan, HK, Taiwan and Msia, so far all good. You can top up anytime with the credit in your wallet. I haven't used up the US$50 credit which has 1 year expiry date. The data price also quite reasonable (in USD) https://shop.pcworld.com/sales/alosim-mobile-data-traveler-lifetime-esim-credit-25-for-50 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 pardon me tot is areola 🙈🙉🙊 no pun intended 😀 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 Simba the best 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 (edited) On 12/12/2023 at 8:44 PM, Jman888 said: I use this AloSim, currently having promo US$20 for US$50 credit to be used in any country. So far I have been using it in Japan, HK, Taiwan and Msia, so far all good. You can top up anytime with the credit in your wallet. I haven't used up the US$50 credit which has 1 year expiry date. The data price also quite reasonable (in USD) https://shop.pcworld.com/sales/alosim-mobile-data-traveler-lifetime-esim-credit-25-for-50 Wow, this is cheap. I am going to buy one and try. Edited December 12, 2023 by Voodooman 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 On 12/12/2023 at 8:29 PM, Ct3833 said: I used it in hokkaido during Aug and BKK in Sept, were happy with them in term of speed and availability. Dont try staruhub,it is real crap, wasting money and unacceptably slow even for simple text transmission. Agree SH is lousy , some more for Corp lines ……. The app’s crappy ….. sickening to the core ….. must change PW every 6 months ….. even Singpass is not so paranoid with PW changes 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic December 12, 2023 Share December 12, 2023 On 12/12/2023 at 8:12 PM, Discoburg said: Anyone here used Airalo when overseas? Any comments on whether the data is stable? I used it once ….. it’s good but the settings part was a little confusing as it’s an E-Sim actually and I had some problems initially……. Something to do with primary and secondary settings 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic December 13, 2023 Share December 13, 2023 (edited) On 12/13/2023 at 5:02 AM, BanCoe said: Agree SH is lousy , some more for Corp lines ……. The app’s crappy ….. sickening to the core ….. must change PW every 6 months ….. even Singpass is not so paranoid with PW changes The passwd thing is likely due to you company security control or your security setting, nothing to do with starhub. But the overseas data part CMI, i subscribed for $20 but didnt manage to use beyond 30 cent, it was just so slow like ot was hang hang, i wrote to starhub after my trip but they simply ignore me. Edited December 13, 2023 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic December 13, 2023 Share December 13, 2023 (edited) On 12/13/2023 at 8:10 AM, Ct3833 said: The passwd thing is due to you company security control or your security setting, nothing to do with starhub. Have argued with them so many times …… I’m giving up …..moving over to Simba next month ; their Corporate is only $8/- per month plus 1GB auto roaming , KNN SH is charging $23 per month for what ?? At first i also tot it some settings but last year finally the staff admitted that they change PW if app is not used in 6 months dormant…… WTF!! Edited December 13, 2023 by BanCoe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 13, 2023 Share December 13, 2023 On 12/13/2023 at 5:02 AM, BanCoe said: Agree SH is lousy , some more for Corp lines ……. The app’s crappy ….. sickening to the core ….. must change PW every 6 months ….. even Singpass is not so paranoid with PW changes Uncle change password very hard to remember is it? Just use my one lah ILOveSEX696969 100% chop sign guarantee cannot forget one! 6 month change to IHateMIL4444DieDieDie!!! Cannot forget and also cannot be broken! 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator December 13, 2023 Share December 13, 2023 On 12/12/2023 at 8:12 PM, Discoburg said: Anyone here used Airalo when overseas? Any comments on whether the data is stable? I got promo code, you want? hahaha. I just came back from guangzhou, the connection is okay. But i think it is more expensive than e-sim you can find in shopee. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 13, 2023 Share December 13, 2023 (edited) On 12/13/2023 at 8:10 AM, Ct3833 said: The passwd thing is likely due to you company security control or your security setting, nothing to do with starhub. But the overseas data part CMI, i subscribed for $20 but didnt manage to use beyond 30 cent, it was just so slow like ot was hang hang, i wrote to starhub after my trip but they simply ignore me. Not much the poor customer service person can do so they ignored you lah! Now if they were service oriented they would have replied Dear Mr Ct3833 I am very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience overseas with your data connection. It must have been terrible to load $20 and only use 30 cents. If I was in your position I also have to put up my hand and admit if I was in the same position I also would not been best pleased. I have spoken to my manager about your happy experience and I have pushed him for the best resolution for your unfortunate case. He has spoken to higher management and they have very generously decided to give you the best possible solution to your case. They have from the kindness of their hearts decided to give you another $20 for your next overseas trip and have spoken to engineers to improve the connectivity overseas. I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to inform us of your experience and it is valued customer feedback to spurs us everyday to improve our service to customers. Once again thank your for contacting us and if you don't hear from us again we wish you a happy life. Warmest, kindest and most sincere regards james Customer service representative of the week award holder Week 42 2019 Like this maybe on your next trip you only use another 30 cents again and true cost to them just 30 cents. I think that's what they call a win win! Edited December 13, 2023 by Jamesc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 13, 2023 Share December 13, 2023 On 12/13/2023 at 9:07 AM, kobayashiGT said: I got promo code, you want? hahaha. I just came back from guangzhou, the connection is okay. But i think it is more expensive than e-sim you can find in shopee. I also think esim cheaper but Airlo less data but a lot of days. So Airlo good for use for people don't use much data but want many many days. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 13, 2023 Share December 13, 2023 Any customer service managers reading this please do not cut and paste and make it a template for your customer service reps. If want to use please pay copyright to jamesc Song Song gao Jurong Marketing and PR consultants Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand and Batam. On 12/13/2023 at 9:11 AM, Jamesc said: Not much the poor customer service person can do so they ignored you lah! Now if they were service oriented they would have replied Dear Mr Ct3833 I am very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience overseas with your data connection. It must have been terrible to load $20 and only use 30 cents. If I was in your position I also have to put up my hand and admit if I was in the same position I also would not been best pleased. I have spoken to my manager about your happy experience and I have pushed him for the best resolution for your unfortunate case. He has spoken to higher management and they have very generously decided to give you the best possible solution to your case. They have from the kindness of their hearts decided to give you another $20 for your next overseas trip and have spoken to engineers to improve the connectivity overseas. I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to inform us of your experience and it is valued customer feedback to spurs us everyday to improve our service to customers. Once again thank your for contacting us and if you don't hear from us again we wish you a happy life. Warmest, kindest and most sincere regards james Customer service representative of the week award holder Week 42 2019 Like this maybe on your next trip you only use another 30 cents again and true cost to them just 30 cents. I think that's what they call a win win! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic December 13, 2023 Author Share December 13, 2023 On 12/13/2023 at 9:07 AM, kobayashiGT said: I got promo code, you want? hahaha. I just came back from guangzhou, the connection is okay. But i think it is more expensive than e-sim you can find in shopee. Just saw there is a 10GB plan for USD9 that’s why I’m keen over the Changi recommend dongle I usually rent. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic December 13, 2023 Author Share December 13, 2023 On 12/13/2023 at 9:14 AM, Jamesc said: I also think esim cheaper but Airlo less data but a lot of days. So Airlo good for use for people don't use much data but want many many days. Airlo not esim meh? ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...