Jamesc Hypersonic October 13, 2025 Share October 13, 2025 On 10/13/2025 at 11:14 AM, denser said: I plan to self-drive from Tokyo to mount fuji, any recommend car rental company? Nice! The car rental companies are Toyota, Nissan, Times, Nippon, Orix, etc. The distance between Tokyo and Mount Fuji is approximately 100 kilometers. The drive typically takes around two to three hours, depending on traffic conditions. Enjoy your drive. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 10/13/2025 at 11:42 AM, Stary said: I did almost all my bucket-list traveling about 10-15 years ago when I was younger. From the Swiss Alps to the prison in Auschwitz, I have seen heaven and smelled hell. From the current "war-rage" Portland (lol!) to the war tunnels in Cu Chi, to eating goulash in an underground war bunker in Poland, I have endured...😄😄. Now if I were to travel far again, it is mostly to repeat those places. Other places not in the list, not interested even if given free tickets.. 😄 You're like some people I know who won't revisit a place they've been to before... I'm also somewhat like that... but there are some places I will surely return to again... got memories mah... interesting to revisit with my kids now cos they weren't there before... got stuff to talk to them about... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 9:08 AM, teomingern said: You're like some people I know who won't revisit a place they've been to before... I'm also somewhat like that... but there are some places I will surely return to again... got memories mah... interesting to revisit with my kids now cos they weren't there before... got stuff to talk to them about... You can only do when they are young (like b4 go to Primary School). Not forgetting you are much older than a lot of fathers. No roll eye already very good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 (edited) On 10/13/2025 at 1:04 PM, Jamesc said: Nice! The car rental companies are Toyota, Nissan, Times, Nippon, Orix, etc. The distance between Tokyo and Mount Fuji is approximately 100 kilometers. The drive typically takes around two to three hours, depending on traffic conditions. Enjoy your drive. I took a day-tour from Tokyo to Mt. Fuji. In-between got nice Jap guide who speaks English and talk about Mt. Fuji. Besides going up to Mt.Fuji, the tour includes a nice Jap lunch, got lake tour on a boat and got a cable car ride up to some mountain. Then the bus back to Tokyo . One full day, just chill and let the nice guide bring around..... 😆😄 Edited November 5, 2025 by Stary 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 11:39 AM, inlinesix said: You can only do when they are young (like b4 go to Primary School). Not forgetting you are much older than a lot of fathers. No roll eye already very good. Ha ha... hopefully cultivating the relationship now will keep it going in their teenage years lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 (edited) On 11/5/2025 at 9:08 AM, teomingern said: You're like some people I know who won't revisit a place they've been to before... I'm also somewhat like that... but there are some places I will surely return to again... got memories mah... interesting to revisit with my kids now cos they weren't there before... got stuff to talk to them about... i can tell you a tip. They forget 99% of what they saw before, especially before lower primary. When they are older, get them to write their own journal when overseas daily. can bring like scotchtape or glue then can paste admission tickets etc inside their travel journal. That's the only way they have some memories. Even photos are very meaningless to them Edited November 5, 2025 by Lala81 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 12:38 PM, Lala81 said: i can tell you a tip. They forget 99% of what they saw before, especially before lower primary. When they are older, get them to write their own journal when overseas daily. can bring like scotchtape or glue then can paste admission tickets etc inside their travel journal. That's the only way they have some memories. Even photos are very meaningless to them Perhaps if they're not involved with the planning and experience with the holiday? My approach is to plan then involve them in what to expect, to look forward to... then do everything with them... my boy who was 2 years old when we did the Japan trip can still remember a lot of what we did... maybe will fade later but we do talk about the trip from time to time and spend time to pore through the photos and talk about our shared experience... learning from holidays isn't always tangible but mostly intangible I feel... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 9:08 AM, teomingern said: You're like some people I know who won't revisit a place they've been to before... I'm also somewhat like that... but there are some places I will surely return to again... got memories mah... interesting to revisit with my kids now cos they weren't there before... got stuff to talk to them about... haha. i planning "couple" trip with my daughter to Seoul. Told her to choose a place for Father and daughter trip. Guess if i dont do it now, I don't know if i ever will especially as she gets older. have been to Seoul many times but all for business. never ventured out before. She is planning. I just follow and pay. 😁 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 12:38 PM, Lala81 said: i can tell you a tip. They forget 99% of what they saw before, especially before lower primary. When they are older, get them to write their own journal when overseas daily. can bring like scotchtape or glue then can paste admission tickets etc inside their travel journal. That's the only way they have some memories. Even photos are very meaningless to them dont say them i also forget the trip unless i look at photos then can remember. if 20years ago, then lagi cannot remember as much less photos taken. At least with the phone always with you, you tend to take many more shots and video to store memories and to jog them in the future. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 1:25 PM, teomingern said: Perhaps if they're not involved with the planning and experience with the holiday? My approach is to plan then involve them in what to expect, to look forward to... then do everything with them... my boy who was 2 years old when we did the Japan trip can still remember a lot of what we did... maybe will fade later but we do talk about the trip from time to time and spend time to pore through the photos and talk about our shared experience... learning from holidays isn't always tangible but mostly intangible I feel... Sure will fade one lah when the kids are so young. If you understand how memories are formed, it doesn't mean being extremely excited or looking forward to it, means they will remember in future. Extremes of emotions can anchor memories but it's limited. You are basically doing active recall from looking at the photos. Once u stop this active recall, they will forget one. If you want them to intrinsically do something to interrupt the forgetting curve, then it can work by souvenirs etc. Journaling is the way my wife uses. Of course doing some memorable experience overseas will help them remember certain aspects. Like seeing snow or playing in snow etc. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 2:11 PM, Mkl22 said: haha. i planning "couple" trip with my daughter to Seoul. Told her to choose a place for Father and daughter trip. Guess if i dont do it now, I don't know if i ever will especially as she gets older. have been to Seoul many times but all for business. never ventured out before. She is planning. I just follow and pay. 😁 Let me guess, she will bring you to: Myeongdong Seongsu Hangang sunset and most importantly London Bagel Museum🤭 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 2:13 PM, Mkl22 said: dont say them i also forget the trip unless i look at photos then can remember. if 20years ago, then lagi cannot remember as much less photos taken. At least with the phone always with you, you tend to take many more shots and video to store memories and to jog them in the future. I don't really take that many photos when I'm overseas. I always tell the kids to focus on the now. Photos and videos are nice. But just a few or an obligatory one is good enough. Unless it's something interesting. But people are way too obsessed with taking "I'm or We're here" photos in this social media age. Like if it's a nice view, just really look and embrace the now. You didn't spend 30mins climbing up a hill to take photos of the surrounding view. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 2:11 PM, Mkl22 said: haha. i planning "couple" trip with my daughter to Seoul. Told her to choose a place for Father and daughter trip. Guess if i dont do it now, I don't know if i ever will especially as she gets older. have been to Seoul many times but all for business. never ventured out before. She is planning. I just follow and pay. 😁 wah that's a really good idea. I will try when my kids are older. I'm the 100% planner in the family. my wife doesn't even know what's going on, she just goes. 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 2:28 PM, Lala81 said: Sure will fade one lah when the kids are so young. If you understand how memories are formed, it doesn't mean being extremely excited or looking forward to it, means they will remember in future. Extremes of emotions can anchor memories but it's limited. You are basically doing active recall from looking at the photos. Once u stop this active recall, they will forget one. If you want them to intrinsically do something to interrupt the forgetting curve, then it can work by souvenirs etc. Journaling is the way my wife uses. Of course doing some memorable experience overseas will help them remember certain aspects. Like seeing snow or playing in snow etc. Oh yes definitely... every place we go to will have something memorable... always try to find something we can't do in Singapore... ha ha... of course will forget... but some dispositions will stay... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 2:11 PM, Mkl22 said: haha. i planning "couple" trip with my daughter to Seoul. Told her to choose a place for Father and daughter trip. Guess if i dont do it now, I don't know if i ever will especially as she gets older. have been to Seoul many times but all for business. never ventured out before. She is planning. I just follow and pay. 😁 That's nice... suitable for older kids... will definitely do it when my kids are older... they must have the travel bug... some kids I know not interested in travelling or planning... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 Sounds like you took a day trip to Kawaguchiko with the boat and cable car ride. On 11/5/2025 at 11:50 AM, Stary said: I took a day-tour from Tokyo to Mt. Fuji. In-between got nice Jap guide who speaks English and talk about Mt. Fuji. Besides going up to Mt.Fuji, the tour includes a nice Jap lunch, got lake tour on a boat and got a cable car ride up to some mountain. Then the bus back to Tokyo . One full day, just chill and let the nice guide bring around..... 😆😄 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 2:36 PM, Lala81 said: wah that's a really good idea. I will try when my kids are older. I'm the 100% planner in the family. my wife doesn't even know what's going on, she just goes. Ha ha... your wife very nice hor... I plan, but always consult extensively along the way... my wife has more common sense than me... ha ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged November 5, 2025 Share November 5, 2025 On 11/5/2025 at 2:13 PM, Mkl22 said: dont say them i also forget the trip unless i look at photos then can remember. if 20years ago, then lagi cannot remember as much less photos taken. At least with the phone always with you, you tend to take many more shots and video to store memories and to jog them in the future. I do remember most of my trips... perhaps cos I plan all our family trips once my parents and I started travelling... kind of very memorable leh... heh heh... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...