Recommendations for Car Aircon Repair/Servicing

Finally time to check and service the car aircon. Now it takes a while for the car to cool down.  Appreciate any recommendation for a good reliable AC specialist shop in the Toh Guan/Bukit Batok area or Jurong East (less ideal).

camping here to learn from the lao jiaos (old birds)

On 3/25/2026 at 12:51 PM, Volvobrick said:

Finally time to check and service the car aircon. Now it takes a while for the car to cool down.  Appreciate any recommendation for a good reliable AC specialist shop in the Toh Guan/Bukit Batok area or Jurong East (less ideal).

Ah Luck...at ubi...

https://www.companies.sg/business/53189810E/AH-LUCK-MOTOR-TRADING

Won't change anything that need not change...old skool mech fellow with a good heart...my previous old skool repair wkshop owner (retired) is there almost everyday to help his buddy...donno vested or just to kill time...😁

On 3/25/2026 at 1:24 PM, mersaylee said:

Ah Luck...at ubi...

Won't change anything that need not change...old skool mech fellow with a good heart...my previous old skool repair wkshop owner (retired) is there almost everyday to help his buddy...donno vested or just to kill time...😁

Ubi leh....

Ah Luck...at ubi...

My aircon condensate pipe clogged up.  He cleared it and declined payment 

On 3/25/2026 at 2:40 PM, Volvobrick said:

Ubi leh....

No need to use passport is accessible lah 😁

• Haha! 8

On 3/25/2026 at 5:06 PM, serenade said:

L & Kim at Ubi. Go early and Q. Always many cars needing a/c repairs. 

Good shop. 

On 3/25/2026 at 12:51 PM, Volvobrick said:

I remember toh guan got 1 popular one at Enterprise Hub. Forgot the name. 

My go to is L&Kim at Ubi. 😅 Even my friend from Bukit Panjang travel all the way to ubi to repair aircon.

On 3/25/2026 at 2:40 PM, Volvobrick said:

Ubi leh....

i will travel anywhere in SG for a reliable and reasonable shop. location be damned. 😁

too many rubbish shops these days. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 3/26/2026 at 12:47 PM, Mkl22 said:

i will travel anywhere in SG for a reliable and reasonable shop. location be damned. 😁

too many rubbish shops these days. 

I ever travelled to patu bahat to fix my car...easily 40% off...cheaperer than cheaper jb...😁

Ah Luck...at ubi...

deleted.. wrong ah luck :D 

Edited by Beehive3783

I went to this New Luck at Kaki Bukit upon reading good reviews.

Honestly I didn't have a good experience. Eventually didn't let him fix my aircon.

Went there, he plugged in the high and low pressure gauges and told me compressor is faulty. Ok, I considered that he checked, even when he didn't rev the engine to see if there were any changes in the pressure.

Then, he told me cooling coil needs to be replaced, without even checking if the cooling coil is leaking. When I asked him why, he said usually these are changed together, and if only compressor is changed, then there is no warranty on the compressor as the debris from the cooling coil may contaminate the new compressor and cause premature failure. I was thinking, knn you didn't even check my cooling coil for leaks and you say cooling coil needs to be changed?

Thanked him for his time and went on my way. Later on i changed the compressor at another workshop. Cooling coil didn't need to be changed. The mechanic checked the refrigerant by leaking some out from the high or low pressure valve and told me it's clean, no need to change cooling coil.

So for those thinking of going to New Luck, please continue, but be wary of upselling without proper troubleshooting.

On 3/26/2026 at 1:48 PM, mersaylee said:

I ever travelled to patu bahat to fix my car...easily 40% off...cheaperer than cheaper jb...😁

Which workshop did you go to? I use Seh Heng Tyre for suspension work, servicing and battery replaement, and tyre rotation, balancing and alignment

On 3/26/2026 at 3:03 PM, Kklim said:

Which workshop did you go to? I use Seh Heng Tyre for suspension work, servicing and battery replaement, and tyre rotation, balancing and alignment

Can't remember oredi...over a decade ago...a small oms shop...only remember a neaby hc got one very nice bao stall...i mean the real bao to go with kopi...😅

On 3/26/2026 at 2:42 PM, Beehive3783 said:

Honestly I didn't have a good experience. Eventually didn't let him fix my aircon.

Went there, he plugged in the high and low pressure gauges and told me compressor is faulty. Ok, I considered that he checked, even when he didn't rev the engine to see if there were any changes in the pressure.

Then, he told me cooling coil needs to be replaced, without even checking if the cooling coil is leaking. When I asked him why, he said usually these are changed together, and if only compressor is changed, then there is no warranty on the compressor as the debris from the cooling coil may contaminate the new compressor and cause premature failure. I was thinking, knn you didn't even check my cooling coil for leaks and you say cooling coil needs to be changed?

Thanked him for his time and went on my way. Later on i changed the compressor at another workshop. Cooling coil didn't need to be changed. The mechanic checked the refrigerant by leaking some out from the high or low pressure valve and told me it's clean, no need to change cooling coil.

So for those thinking of going to New Luck, please continue, but be wary of upselling without proper troubleshooting.

I certainly hope it's not ah luck himself you'd dealt with...or...🙏😂

On 3/26/2026 at 1:48 PM, mersaylee said:

If not risky failure. Else on the way there break down. Then. Woohoo…. An adventure in itself. 

On 3/26/2026 at 2:42 PM, Beehive3783 said:

He is not totally wrong. It depends on what went wrong with the compressor. 
1. compressor jam and seized. Then he is 100% right. Need to replace the coil as the compressor piston debris will be stuck inside the coil and can float out and damage the new compressor. Flushing might not solve and get everything out. 

2. compressor magnetic  clutch spoil or worn. Sometimes no separate part and have to replace whole compressor. Yes you can reshim the plates if the fault is due to the air gap. But it a temporary measure. But if the magnet spoil then whole clutch need to change. 
3. compressor pressure valve leak. Can be replace by itself but sometimes no stock so entire compressor replaced. 

for 2 and 3, don’t have to replace the coil as the compressor debris is not inside the system. 

for the mechanic that tells you he let out fluid, he also cannot be sure. Just agar agar and try luck. If you are lucky and debris are very little then you get away. But no one can tell hence usually replace the condenser coil. The condensor coil is the one in front of the radiator with thin lines. They cannot be flushed. The evaporator inside your car are big tubes, can be flushed. 

Edited by Mkl22