CAI - My version

Andrewkb

Hi guys,

As some of you are aware, the Stream 2.0L had an extremely cramped engine bay.

I've managed to DIY a CAI with a friend. Not much place to mount the inlet hole.

E.g.

1) Behind radiator fan -> Hot radiator air -> No good

2) Behind fog light cover -> The front crash bar (I believe) blocked and sealed the area behind the fog light cover

3) Beside radiator -> Very small hole, only 1/2 of the 3" pipe is exposed

Finally .. we've settled on the BOTTOM of the car !

I cut a hole through the bottom splash guard and insert the 3" pipe through. Since it's squeezed through, the hole and the pipe held to each other very well.

(About 1/2 inch is exposed)

I further reinforce it by covering it with wiremesh, so that leaves and big objects don't get sucked in.

My question now is, how much risk am I running into sucking in enough water to cause hydrolocking ? My thoughts are:

1) The pipe is 3", with a arm length vertical climb up before reaching the air box

To have enough power to suck sufficient water up this length though a 3" pipe, the entire mouth of the intake need to be submerged. (I am pulling analogy from sucking through a straw. A non air tight straw cannot suck water)

2) The stock air filter box has 2 small drainage holes are the bottom end. This will be sufficient to drain out some water.. but when engine is sucking air, the drain holes got use ?

Lastly, I am thinking, maybe cut a hole in the 3" flexi-hose and cover it with rubber cap ... so if I kena heavy heavy rain, I can always remove it to suck in secondary air.

BUT !!! If I kena heavy rain in the middle of a drive, how am I going to remove that rubber cap ??

Comments, guys ??

same as what i have done.....so here's 2 things you may want to do to prevent the water from being suck in.

1) at the bottom of the hose near the bottom end.....slits a few lines across.....this will let water seep through.

2) the pipe connected to the air filter box can be connected by the screw on betal fastener. should you meet floods, you can unscrew first and screw back later.

avoid places with floods, if not, drive through it very slowly.

got any pics?

Is your intake pipe exposed out of the splash guard ?

As for:

1) Which part you meant to cut slit ?On the flex-hose itself ?

2) Yah ... this is easy .. but problem is, what if I'm stucked in a thunderstorm in the middle of a journey ... cannot come out of the car, holding umbrella to dismantle rite ?

BTW, the VIP is quite easy to run CAI what ! My previous VIP was sucking air through the foglight cover.

yah, i suck through the foglight cover. i think its one of the easiest car to do CAI man.

1) yes the felxi hose itself at the opening.

2) i rather get wet then let my engine get wet sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

actually i try not to drive in heavy thunderstorm....not coz of cai but safety.

Edited by S2P2

Nobody like driving in thunderstorm .. but sometime bopian ... esp worst is those on NS-highway.

Anyway, at foglight cover area, you're easily 10" above ground level.

Mine is at the bottom of the car !!! Probably 5" above ground level !

So how much clearance do U have now ? Mine is abt 7", which is the length if you stretch your thumb and last finger out (thumb pointing up, last finder pointing down)

After all this talk about CAI sucking air towards the filter..

My query is...is air really suck in or is it just being channelled in? I would presume there's something in the throttle body that's drawing the air?? Even if it is, the drawing strength would not be so strong as to draw in the water as well??

Hmm...

Cheers.

Answer is sucked in. My friend placed his hand there and I rev, he got a shock !

His turn to rev, I place my hand there, the suction is actually quite strong !

Yo bro... Where are the pics ?

Also, did U consider the bypass thingy from AEM - maybe can try that to auto-cut if there's water.

Edited by Modeldriver

[sweatdrop] ...2) Yah ... this is easy .. but problem is, what if I'm stucked in a thunderstorm in the middle of a journey ... cannot come out of the car, holding umbrella to dismantle rite ? ...

The other problem is if there's a flood, U'd be wading thru water too ! [sweatdrop]

Aiyah .. family commitment lah ... wife due in < 1 month ... so quickly quickly get all these done ....