Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Author Share July 21, 2003 Thanks for the offer. My current job doesn't allow me to "eat snake" during office hour liao ... not as flexible as before. I've further modded the design after work today. Instead of facing FLAT down, I've shifted the front part UP, and the rear part down. So, effectively, it's like a small little scope. I believe due to the design of the iVTEC engine, even professional CAI makers are sucking air from where I am right now, i.e. Comptech Icebox, except they didn't cut a hole and let the pipe through. Downside is, it's sucking hot radiator air. Others like DCSports CAI & AEM CAI are sucking air from the bumper. The stupid stream has a 4.5L washer reserviour taking up the whole of the left bumper. From there on, is the radiator. So there isn't much space left. The AEM CAI provides a replacement reservoir that allows user to install it on the other side of the bumper instead. SHIONG AH !!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 there are still a small space next to the radiator just behind the plastic cover. Let me show you mind & I believe yours can also be done that way after I look into Modedriver's Stream . Make a trip to my 'offsite' office during lunch time & I can show it to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 hey, why u anyhow tell ppl.... ..it's suppose to be SECRET project leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Author Share July 21, 2003 That little place is only 1.5" wide ... that covers only 1/2 of the 3" pipe lah ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 (edited) You don't have to squeeze the whole pipe opening thru' there, can re-direct the air to the opening Edited July 21, 2003 by Vtim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 bro, u ain't sucking any air lah.....air will streamline through your undercarriage, your engine will be starve of oxygen instead and will run richer in fuel....sorry to say, but why should u go down under??? i believe this is the new civic....i would prefer the original manner of sucking air than not getting any.... Yo turtle... new avatar I see... looks like hit rev limiter sort Anyway, what u mean by oxygen starvation ? Thought that even if car is that aerodynamic, there'll still be air coming thru the bottom - and since bottom is generally more 'straight' than the top, by aerofoil design (just like wings), air should be travelling fastering on top than below right ? How come no air then ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Author Share July 21, 2003 OH !!!! Now that adds a new factor to the equation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 i think most cars except for mitsubishi or cefiro are covered under bonnets....mits and cefiro seems to have the pipe pointing direct from the bonnet.... the thing is this......imagine that the pipe is perpendicular to the ground, when the car moves, the air kinds of cuts through instead of into the pipe......but if the pipe is pointing directly forward, then i guess more air can get in Several I've seen - e.g. Mit Chariot, Toyota Estima/Picnic, etc - their intake sits kinda over the grille, but there's this shape on that when U cover the bonnet, it's kinda then 'exposed' to take in air that flows in. Stream on the other hand is behind this plastic piece, somewhat blocked by a radiator mounting bracket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 Scratches are from previous owner ... but ... sigh ... cannot see never mind lah Interesting... would be fun if can quantifiably measure the improvement Realised U got as many scratches at the bottom bit as I do too Basically figure it's the Stream's overhang from the front wheels, and the ride height - very easy to kena the bottom - been having more than my fair share lately after lowering - really tempted to raise it back to stock height. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 OK .. here's my feedback after the mod:1) Difference betwen air con on and off is lesser 2) Engine more willing to pick up 3) Lesser power lost during gear change 4) Can feel pull after gearchange, more like a manual than auto now 5) Very nice induction sound :-) Interesting... would be fun if can quantifiably measure the improvement Come meet up and we'll listen to your roar ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Author Share July 21, 2003 (edited) I've angled the intake pipe slightly towards the front, and that plate that I mounted on is also slightly angled. Thus that is where the air is being accelerated down, thus immediately behind the intake mouth should be the area with least pressure, do might result in oxygen starvation. (See pic) Also, I've no lower front lip, so air is shooting straight into the mouth. Edited July 21, 2003 by Andrewkb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 his new setup is very impressive, should come to meetup and see.... Hmmm... didn't get to see Turtle's new set up - must look this week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 Hmmm... so that's why from your pic the grate seems so obvious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Author Share July 21, 2003 Aiyah, wife due soon lah .. say already ... We can always have informal meetup (lunchtime) not late night meetup lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Author Share July 21, 2003 Yah loh .. a bit too obvious .. took a can of black paint and spray it just now .. now cannot see liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 Wow... vtim - din know U've got an off-site office too ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 hey, why u anyhow tell ppl.... ..it's suppose to be SECRET project leh Since when has good stuff been a secret on MCF ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 21, 2003 Share July 21, 2003 Ok lah... wun push you. let us know when the happy day arrives, and remember to post pics ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...