Silver_z 1st Gear July 29, 2003 Share July 29, 2003 Why not use a fan? In case your self made scoop dun hold in place and becomes vertical, you not drawing much cold air, thus end up still sucking hot radiator air. If you use a custom air scoop, you risk replacing it your scoop due to it being scrap off by humps. A 12volt PC fan will suck up the cold air, pushing your hot air up(hot air rises mah), and your engine will suck up the cold air. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 29, 2003 Share July 29, 2003 Your car like vaccum cleaner sia!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 29, 2003 Author Share July 29, 2003 That's a good idea ... but problem: #1: Extra air during idle -> Irratic Idle #2: Slow fan speed might affect high speed air flow (during high speed travel) #3: Durability of fan when exposed to undercarriage condition Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 29, 2003 Share July 29, 2003 Extra air during idle wont happen. Coz you are just looking the area where the air is sucked with cool air. Not directly using a fan to push air in, like a electrical supercharger. Get the Big ass fan that most shop won't recommend for your PC due to noise. A 5400rpm fan, should do it. Even if it doesnt give you all the cold air needed, it will guarantee a cooler environment where air is drawn within bay. Durability..... Hmmmmm........ Not to sure. 12cm fan on my PC running 24X7 almost 2 years and still running. Anyway, its only $7 each at Sim Lim Tower. Can put 4 to maximize cooling and air flow. Dun buy from computer shop, too ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 29, 2003 Share July 29, 2003 Interesting... did U try measuring the temperature difference with this setup ? What about the butt dyno ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 29, 2003 Share July 29, 2003 Not sure if that's a good idea though... first - recalled earlier parts of the thread that the air pressure under the car is already lower, hence the fan would have to work extra hard to suck air in, if it is able to suck it in in the first place. Remember also your PC fan is working in an in-door condition. The bottom of a car goes thru a lot more punishment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie July 29, 2003 Share July 29, 2003 See my other post... suspect a fan may really not be strong enough to pull air in effectively. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie July 29, 2003 Author Share July 29, 2003 BTW, Comptech had just added an instruction to ICEBOX users recommending them to cut a hole in the splash guard so that cool air get sucked into the inlet !!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 Actually the best way, which me and my friends use to do is to remove the headlight and port a piping from there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 there's only one problem, the fans are not splash proof, if waters gets in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 so when do you want to come to my 'off site' office so we can have a good look at the location for your CAI, or maybe we can do it on this Friday night Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 >>Actually the best way, which me and my friends use to do is to remove the headlight and port a piping from there. You surely mean one of the spotlights, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 Fans are cheap, replace when necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 i think so lah........headlights??? siao liao man..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 Nope. I mean the headlight. We dun do it for long run, just a short sprint out in the afternoon. Remove headlight, extend piping out of headlight area until the open pod filter is outside the bonnet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 Frankly, it doesnt do much. Always makes me wonder why people are spending so much effort in drawing cold air. When the most effective and practical(doesn't mean legal) way to do it is to TURBOCHARGED or SUPERCHARGED. NOS is a cheaper alternative. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 I see, if it's for testing, testing OK lah but not for long term. Taking out one of the spots is a viable long term solution, though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 30, 2003 Share July 30, 2003 You are talking about SIGNIFICANT improvement! How wonderful it is if TC/SC is not illegal...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...