CAI - My version

Andrewkb

Initially I thought your intake is facing the front, you should get colder air (w/o affected by radiator fan) .. until I dig through the old thread and realised you're suffering the same ...

Probably having the intake mouth below the side mirror will be the best [:p]

I almost wanted to do it and also add a backlight.......laugh.gif.. but after reading abt your misadventure....sly.gif...I had 2nd thoughts...laugh.giflaugh.gif

OK lah, will join in the new project after my reservist..sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif..I'm going in from 18/8 to 30/8...nod.gif

Have you put in a oil catch tank or oil breather tank? I intend to fabricate one, maybe we can brainstorm together to get it done cheaply...aftermarket one are very expensive...sweatdrop.gif

The backlight idea is very good .. because at night, the display cannot see liao ...

Also the oil catch tank ... I think no need lah ... our engine probably dun run so high rev till it spill oil out .. I checked the breather hose ... inside is so CLEAN ! No oil stain leh !

Initially I thought your intake is facing the front, you should get colder air (w/o affected by radiator fan) .. until I dig through the old thread and realised you're suffering the same ...

Probably having the intake mouth below the side mirror will be the best [:p]

My intake is facing (but not directly, about 40% direct) the air scoop but not joined to it. There's a gap of abt 2". I made it this way becos I was afraid of rain being sucked in. This, of course, prove unfounded as Turtlekar's and Saaber's design has shown. I need to redirect the opening to join with the air scoop. This, I believe, will reduce the amount of hot fadiator air being sucked in. Unfortunately, I have been too lazy.... [sweatdrop]

Just curious ...

1) Where is your thermometer probe placed?? (Sorry .. forgotten)

2) What is the highest temperature reached ?

Don't mind me join in. I've a 3" hose connected from my airbox to my front air scoop(no gap), tried driving in heavy rain without problem. But when I remove my air filter and found leaves, cigarette butt and tiny stone/sand inside, luckily the airfilter is there to block it. My concern is, will water wet the whole airfilter(mesh or sponge) during heavy rain and sip into the TB? And I reckon need to clean the filter and airbox regularly.

Cheers!

Yeah, curious to know.

My highest is 60+ [sweatdrop] when I step back into the car(before I crank it) during a hot afternoon start/stop drive! but drop to 40+ after move off a while.

Solution for your ciggy butts/leaves/dead bird [sly] problem - place a wire mesh over the opening.

If you look within the airbox properly, there are a few holes for water runoff. Water from the rain should not pose a problem. Unless you start to scoop in flood water! [sweatdrop]

Yeah, this is the thing I need to do to stop rubbish get into it. I did realise there is a small hole at the bottom of the airbox.

Do u think doing the TB bypass will help bring down a few degree? [confused]