Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Author Share August 11, 2003 Yeah.. did my coolant bypass already ... U driving a FIT rite ? It has the same cramped engine bay as the Stream ... so very jia lat ... I dunno if you need to remove the airbox .. but on the Stream, it is preferred, but not necessary .. you just need long nose pliers .... and A STEADY HAND !!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacko Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 I only thermo-wrap my exhaust header and fill up the collant with WaterWetter. Yet to change the thermostat and others. not too sure what is the water temp, thinking of fix up a Techtom CMX100 to monitor Air/Water temp & Air pressure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 Becareful, it did not work for my car and instead temp when up. Had to undo it.. and unfortunately, I scaled my hand... Mine did not work cos 1. There is a sensor at the TB 2. How the coolant circulate flow was from Fuel Rail to TB then to Engine block. The flow from Fuel to TB is internal.. therefore cannot block I suggest you do this with Latex glove, if anything goes wrong, you will be like me not hestitate to undo quickly... and make mistakes to yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Author Share August 11, 2003 I borrowed a fellow SWOG-forumer's CMX100 (There's only 2 that own it anyway, $300+ .. a bit hard to swallow) and plugged it in ... wow ... at that moment, rainy night, parked in carpark for ~5-10min of idle .. Air Intake Temperature: 60degC Engine Coolant Temperature: 101degC As comparison, the Jazz 1.4L (owner of the Techtom) reading is: Air Intake Temperature: 50+degC Engine Coolant Temperature: 80degC So, I immediately, over that weekend, went to get my coolant temperature down ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacko Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 I can't really see the bypass hose, probably more jia lat than you stream. If I were to remove the airbox, I probably put back the open pod and see what's the different in terms of temp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Author Share August 11, 2003 Cool, typo lah .. it's Coolant to TB not Fuel to TB. Anyway, another suggestion is to do it in the morning before you start the engine .. everything is cooled down and pressure in the radiator is low !!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Author Share August 11, 2003 How you squeeze the probe into the TB huh ? I really worried about air leakage at that point ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 sorrie sorrie.. coolant correction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacko Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 those are the reading I get from fellow swoggy on the Jazz/Fit. Your water temp is really high is that case huh! Is the connector the same for your ride? Yeah, $300+ is a bit hard to swallow....Still thinking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 Also, get rather 1 meter coolant hose 6mm type with Clips. Incase you accidentally tear the original hose, you need to cut to fit I torn mine.. the coolant hose can get from SIM MING distributors.. about $5 per meter. Standby for emergency... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacko Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 Point noted. Will only do this early in the moring as suggested by Andrewkb. I actually plug out the original sensor which siting in a rubber seat, secure the prob and push the sensor back swee swee. Sorry no pic, no digital cam yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 dID YOU do the oil catch tank thingy we discussed ? if yes, you can put the sensor at the TB neck. BTW.. no digi cam yet so cannot show you picture of the engine oil cooler.. until this thursday hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Author Share August 11, 2003 Aiyah .. no time for major project leh ... probably later ... much later ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Author Share August 11, 2003 Though $300+ but that's the best & most accurate reading you can get, because that's what the ECU see !!! Maybe get the Palm version where you can get full OBDII sensors reading .... e.g. rpm, speed, etc .. not cheap also ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 you think my father print $$$$ ah....or my father own workshop to dyno cars No lah... only maybe U print $$$ If thought Ur father own workshop - dun you think we'll all be lining up for dyno already ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 BTW, I had spent significant amount of investment to bring my engine temperature down !New low temp thermostat, low temp fanswitch, 1.3bar radiator cap and Water Wetter. Also thermal paint+warp my exhaust manifold !!! However, it only help to get it down to 80degC .. prev was 101degC !!!! All things considered... 20% improvement is not bad leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 I'm thinking of doing the coolant bypass, but need to remove the whole airbox. Seem like this weekend project then. Did you did the coolant bypass? How the effect? My nick is the same in SWOG, Jacko. Going down to meetup tonite? I guess not with your new born, congrats man!! Hey... Andrewkb should try to come to MCF meet up first ... when he settles his baby. But then again, last time got one already cannot come... now got two probably would be harder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie August 11, 2003 Share August 11, 2003 Yeah.. did my coolant bypass already ... U driving a FIT rite ?It has the same cramped engine bay as the Stream ... so very jia lat ... I dunno if you need to remove the airbox .. but on the Stream, it is preferred, but not necessary .. you just need long nose pliers .... and A STEADY HAND !!! Not sure about VTEC-based FIT, but seen the Jazz iDSI engine - the bay is even worse than Streams ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...