Sky8807 1st Gear April 18, 2002 Share April 18, 2002 wholly,Good that you engine and car feel good with Esso 95. Like I said, caltex is my last choice, until my car no more petrol and the only stn is caltex and if don't pump engine no energy alreadi then bo pian. My choice of petrol in order of preference are shell, mobil/esso, bp, spc. Many ppl don't like shell, don't know exactly why, maybe the brand name or maybe too long in the business. I myself initially also don't like shell, but becos I know the cleaning properties of the petrol, I use it. If shell does not have that extra agent, me also don't want to pump shell. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tantt70 Neutral Newbie April 18, 2002 Share April 18, 2002 Hi Sky, how come you so sure Shell got cleaning agent and other brands don't have? You know someone working there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 19, 2002 Share April 19, 2002 All petrol got cleaning agent. I believe in shell cleaning agent becos I have alreadi verified it in the past. That is fine for me. When car only run on carburettor, only the very top range uses electronic. A group of friend evaluated the different brand of petrol and concluded that shell is the cleanest and caltex is the worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie April 19, 2002 Share April 19, 2002 (edited) you've just opened a can of worms! anyway, i also pumped Shell. no particular reasons though, just like their corporate logo. Edited April 19, 2002 by Carbine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 19, 2002 Share April 19, 2002 With fuel injection engine, the fuel lines is concealed all the way to the combustion chamber and only injected into the chamber, so those fuel with poor cleaning and vapourising additivies are not so critical as those with carb engines of old. Shell have been advertising abt their fuel cleaning properties for years and how they keep the valves clean inside the engine. Of course, today all the other brands also advertise on this points as well. If you ask me which is the cleanest, the answer is obvious. This claim by shell dates back many years where the others did not put up the claims in the past. So through the years everyone progress. If you pump shell you pump the cleanest petrol IMHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 19, 2002 Share April 19, 2002 Shell logo is really a Shell.... i heard a joke that if u pump shell petrol too much.. u'll probably have daughters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 19, 2002 Share April 19, 2002 Think i must try Shell out to see how is it... in my 5 to 6 yrs of driving... usually pump mobil, caltex.... and then SPC... didn't really pump shell alot... but will give it a shot....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 20, 2002 Share April 20, 2002 Give it a try, u shd feel the difference, be it smoother or rougher, otherwise it mean that the fuel is the same. The negative difference, does not necessarily mean the petrol is bad, but maybe your engine is reacting to the new formula u put in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 21, 2002 Share April 21, 2002 I've heard from pple that all petrol is the same..... so that's why i'm pumping SPC 92!! with the 10% discount.. it's almost $1/litre..... and it's ok..... just curious what would other petrol do to my car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear April 21, 2002 Share April 21, 2002 Basically they are the same. If u are comfortable with SPC then continue using it. Other petrol should not do any harm to your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 21, 2002 Share April 21, 2002 Yah, i know... just pumped SPC 92 again... reckoned that whatever savings i get from better mileage can't compare to the 10% savings at SPC!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo6_23 Neutral Newbie April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 hi guyver... after long time of 92 petrol if u try v-power now maybe u will feel some difference... but... it's expensive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Aiya... if want power can use L2 or L3..... so for general driving.... cheap good will do.... but will not limit myself... so i'll try out Shell V-Power in my next pump..... see how my car response to it? Let's say it miraculously hit 13km/litre due to one reason or another... then i'll stick to it then Shell V-power..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Look at me figures. Funny, it really helps me economy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 Yah, i can see that... that's why i'm keeping my options open..... will try it our the next round... so how shall i apply for the Escape card thingy? how it works? is it good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 22, 2002 Share April 22, 2002 It is a loyalty points programme. At ur next fill-up, ask for an escape card. Fill in details. Give them ~1 wk to process, then u can log in to www.myshell.com.sg and see ur points, etc. Points not bad, for eg, this month and next, normally for V-power, we get 20% extra points, but for the next 2 months, ending May31, for every 150 points ($spent) we wil be given, on top of the 20% extra, ie, 180, additional 100 points!!! thus, in 2 months, i will get 560 points, and if this is achieved, additional 100 points. If I top up 90 points, ~ie, 750 points total, i can redeema $30 petrol voucher. Thus looking at this scenario, it is a forward savings of ~8-9%. Have I lost u yet? Well, just apply lor!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo6_23 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2002 Share April 23, 2002 wah now then i know shell got better loyalty programme compared to mobil/esso... 8-9%...!! [shocked] mobil/esso is only about 4%...!! every $500 spent can be exchanged for a $20 petrol voucher ==> 4%... wait... actually count count 750 points ==> $30 (shell) and 500 points ==> $20 (mobil/esso) is the same rite...? BUT shell is giving more points as bonus now... so still more worth it... too bad i stuck with many many points in mobil... btw is there an expiry to the reward points in shell...? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie April 23, 2002 Share April 23, 2002 Hey Nick, You earn commission from Shell is it?? Personally, don't really like Shell but have been using it for the past 4 years. Sounds contradictary? Corporate card lah, so no choice. Tried V-Power but cannot feel the difference, other than the PRICE. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...