2.0/2.4L MPV?

Webbyboy

Hello,

What will be a good 2.0/2.4L in terms of FC, space, performance? I've some in mind like Picnic, Estima/Previa, Odyssey, Grandis and anymore? Would be looking like 120k<.

Price wise, i'll say Picnic. Looks wise, Odyssey/Grandis. Performance wise, Grandis. Consumption wise, Picnic.

eddie

I think estima > 120K

Picnic if you get from BM is 11k downpayment required I think

Grandis ard 11?k (not too sure) ? Comes with onboard DVD/LCD

Odyssey at 113/119k

I suggest you go check out the PIs for the Toyota Sienta. Completely blows your mind away of what you will expect for an MPV. Boasts a 1.5L engine. Yes 1.5L but very torquey for the low end. Excellent city MPV, FC is pretty good. With that engine displacement, you get lower road tax. Auto sliding door and still pretty roomy. 90+k

For Singapore, consider this gem of a car. It is not butt ugly but pretty cute with its round headlights. Go to the Toyota FOC SIG forum in Delphiforums. The forum mod Iansienta drives one. There is a long thread on it as well.

The Sienta looks like a good package. But with that diminutive size, isn't the car's 3rd row of seats too cramped even for small-sized adults?

Have to disagree with you. Trajet's third row seat is big enough for Adults as well as kids and also with air con vents.... [sweatdrop]

Ah yes, but the Trajet is more like some kind of Multipurpose Van! [sly] . High ceiling much like the Espace. Compare these two to the more estate looking MPVs that are more prevalent and you will see that their 3rd row seats are really more for kids.

But the new Odyssey is a very strange exception. Pretty well laid out.

Edited by Genie47

Grandis is great

Grandis looks great & not too bad interior space but heard that FC not that good, 7 or 8 km/L sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Can get lah! Your kids don't grow so fast one lah. 3rd row seats good for them. Mid row for adults. Still OK. But consider the Sienta. Lots of people buying it. Dunno how one guy got it and paid 79k for it. [:)]

Cheapest among all the Sienta owners. Very nice MPV for Singapore.

This is what Iansienta says in Toyota FOC SIG:

I will give it thumbs up. One thing I forgot to do is to do a full 360 degrees turn to hear my shaft whether anything wrong or not..will do that upon collection of my car.

Drove the car with both my parents, brother n sis in law and one baby. The car is spacious no doubt abt it...learn how to play the seats around. My mum sat in the last row. She can actually have a huge ample space of legroom if she were to sit behind my sis in law..so third row seats space is good.

I tried the "s" mode...hmmm the gear really drags and makes climbing slopes a breeze. "B" mode and "S" mode no difference to me leh..anyone care to explain wat is the difference?? Tikobxxxxxd, can you explain?? The suspension I give top marks..guess Toyota suspensions is the best of all....going over humps is like a breeze...I dont get the hard and bouncy feeling of the ride at all..

cubby holes are a plenty...I used to have a box with all the car tools, cloths etc...but now I can discard the box away and put all these items into the hidden holes.The tools tray that comes with the spare tyre is very good to use and very neat. There is even a compartment for the car jack under the front passenger seat. getting in and out of the car is a breeze especially the sliding doors..the interior space is big that even while in the car, my mum and bro can actually switch seats front 2nd to 3rd row without coming out of the car...so that tells you abt something.

I decided to change my rims to 16 inch rather than 15..The wheel still look small in the tyre well..but to me 16 inch is enuf liao...dont want to compromise on the fuel consumption thing....I get quite a lot of stares from drivers and passerbys while drving this car. One couple driving Colt even purposely slowed down to take a look at my car from front to side to rear...hahaha...

The engine is the 1NZ-FE which is the same as the Corolla LX and Corolla Spacio. The platform is the Corolla's as well.