Advice needed: Increase HP and Torque

Blaster

Need some advice here.

My current ride is a nissan b14 (i know quite old liao). Would like to increase the HP and torque. Will having a piggyback ECU helps? Or any other mods to do the job?

Dun tell me to change car hor...unimpressed.gif

bro....can i tong pang abit here? sori.... [:p]

those reading this, pls oso recommend gadgets to reduce FC for Santa Fe. tks..

Go one step at a time so that you will know what is working and what is not.

First change to CAI. Monitor or dyno. Got increase, keep. Don't have, troubleshoot. Maybe sucking hot air. Dyno. OK? Good. Not OK, throw away the thing. Don't mod this area.

Change exhaust header and everything. Repeat.

ECU and piggyback ECU should be the last thing you should mod.

Just to check with you sir, I've seen those plastic pipe with its opening facing outwards of the bonnet, whats that actually for ? I heard its called "rammed air **********"

Yeah it is air ram induction or air ram intake. Must have the bonnet scoop to work. Faster you go, more air getting into the engine.

Edited by Genie47

wah ... then all the foreign objects go in as well ? Between CAI and the rammed air intake which is more effective ?

think need to do a cut on the bumper to make way for the pipe ...

Edited by BMW320i

Bumper? No you got it all wrong. CAI usually has a tube running to an empty foglight position. ARI has a hole on the bonnet. A CAI can be considered an ARI when you put have the tube run from the empty foglight position.

Both have filters. So you don't have to worry about foreign objects.

Sometimes not necessarily from the empty fog position. Some CAI systems use an airbox heatshield. Check out the ITG airbox system.

From what I was told, CAI increase high end torque but decreases low end in return. But after my friend fixed it, it actually increase low end rather then high end, that I'm puzzled. My low end torque is low enough [laugh]

ic ... Actually my car is still under warranty hence making any mods a pain in the rear... I actually considered replacing stock filters with K&N but I'm afraid those people at PML will cook up all sorts of rubbish saying "oh ! its because of your filters thats why your car door can't close properly." [rifle]

haiz ... think I'll keep it stock [:/]

Why should ECU be the last thing to mod? I was thinking of doing it as the first thing.tongue.gif

hmmm ok....where can i get the CAI, straight through and extractor? how much will all these cost me? Have to start bugeting liao...sweatdrop.gif. Anyway, any of these mods is illegal?confused.gif