Advice needed: Increase HP and Torque

Blaster

Yours auto or manual ?

How much power you want to increase ?

Doing a piggyback ECU on a stock car prob can gain a few horses...dun expect much but like 5-7bhp only.

If you looking at hugh increase...there is only 2 way. One is force induction or the other way is to increase your capacity.

Turbo/super charging can easily gain up to 40bhp and beyond (but that would means how deep your pocket is). 0.5bar boost is quite fun but power is addictive so I assume that you would want more and more...which will means pay more and more too.

Capacity increase is a plug and play method. Since there is no factory bolt on kit for your B14, you would have to look at people fabricating a system for you. Maybe you should pay GTR a visit...they are doing fabricating turbo systems.

Increasing cap you will have to go do your homework...what engine will sit nice and sweet into your bay without modification of the mounting points.

If not to extract power from a NA machine is very expensive affair.

If you want the car to be more responsive but stay in NA Tune...

1) If manual....lighten flywheel - Dun give you any horse increase BUT you can reach your power band faster.

2) Enlarge throttle body - Improve your respond from the car.

3) Port and Polish - Done correctly...it can yield up to 15bhp increase !! No joke...but not a cheap option. Expect to pay 1K plus for this.

By the time I reach step 5 my wallet will feel alot lighter laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Jokes aside, whats your step 7? sly.gif

very much lighter man laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

GTR Technologies. They are located at Bukit Batok. Building next to Orix Leasing. Ground floor....just behind the bustop in front of the buliding. Look for Ah Heng.

OK, thanks. Do they do hybrid turbos or can they do a P&P on it + slight clipping on the blades, then re-balance it?

Best way to find out....

pop by for a chat with Ah Heng lor....can do or cannot do its up to him....but I warn you first lor...they a bit siow one...you ever heard of a 4WD RX7 FD before ? No ? They got it.....using the 4WD drive train from a Rex......very innovative.

Simple...go look at some automotive bible and get your figs lor. If not dyno the bugger before you do any mods. Then you will see the diff in your modification.

Maybe you tell us what car and someone who drives the same car might have the figs for you.

Err....a bit too late liao...i have changed my extractor and air filter liaotongue.gif

no need to dyno oredi can feel the diff...thumbsup.gif

anyway....wat's the diff in power between 4-1 or 4-2-1 extractor? any bros here know?confused.gif

Did you changing the piping size as well ? De Cat ? Change muffler ??

You change all...you lagi love it !! Muffler change to semi flow can liao....if not you loose too much of your low end.

4-1 is more suitable for manual...power comes in higher rev.

4-2-1 suited for autos...helps to maintain the backpressure.

Power diff...not sure.

Need some advice here.

My current ride is a nissan b14 (i know quite old liao). Would like to increase the HP and torque. Will having a piggyback ECU helps? Or any other mods to do the job?

Dun tell me to change car hor...unimpressed.gif

one fo them is changing the compression ratio.....but 2 high will blow the engine

bro y is 4-1 more suited for manual? i'm driving manual n wanna improve the low end. any advice? btw the only mod ive done is change 2 a straight flow rear muffler, which i believe improves the high end only. however my driving style very rarely visits the high end. thanks.

one fo them is changing the compression ratio.....but 2 high will blow the engine

yap, skim the block head sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif