Ah_veo Neutral Newbie August 21, 2004 Share August 21, 2004 in the meantime, enjoy your search. try not to rush into committing. take your time to choose & pick, view & test-drive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 21, 2004 Share August 21, 2004 Isit? Not what the SE told me thou.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 1. Why must it always be Toyota? Only Toyota can make good car meh? IMHO, buying a Toyota is not fashionable for the newer generation and you get sick of seeing Toyota everywhere. 2. What is the exact cost saving on FC, comparing a 10km/L and 11 or 12Km/L over 10 years? If one is so concern about FC, better don't drive, use MRT/buses instead. Regads, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 Supercharged August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 FYI, my 3 weeks old Liana HB auto doing at least 11-12km/L. Driving style like 70/30 highway/normal and always travel between 100-120km/h on expressway. Imho, good and solid car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 mmmm....i think its up to individual's preference & priority lor. some ppl buy car for working purposes(outdoor sales) & they dun really care if all the ppl are driving the same car on the roads. their main concern, FC. i dun see anything wrong with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 The Liana has better FC figures than most cars in the 1.6 category. Don't let others dissuade you. Most desirable FC figures are attained from driver discipline and technique. I'm sorry to tell you that a car's excellent FC figures that is reported can only get you this far. You got to work hard at it to achieve it. I believe you are a family man and gunning down a straight would not exactly be your thing. If it was, you would most likely be looking at a Celica GT4 as a family car . Ignore immature advice from people who "feel boxed in" because they favor a certain driving style. Know who you are and what your purpose is in getting the car. Finally, do not get a car bigger than your needs. Always consider your immediate family first. If you have a spouse, 1-2 kids, up to 1.6L passenger cars will suffice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowboy Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 Honestly speaking i am happy and sad... happy is that i did not commit myself to LIANA (nearly) sad is that i have already set me mind on it till i realised in is not advisable..... Thanx bros.... looks like got to hold back and do more research b4 committing. Rather than going for hear-say kind of advise, pls do a non-bias and intelligent comparison of fuel consumption, by visiting this UK official website: http://www.vcacarfueldata.org.uk/downloads/ It does a technical roadtest for all brands/makes/models. Suzuki liana 1.6A is comparable to Toyota Corolla 1.6A. But frankly speaking, if fuel consumption is of top most priority for you, please go for small engine car, 1 - 1.3 litre. Any 1.6 litre car will not suit you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneofakind Neutral Newbie August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Favouring a 'particular' driving style isn't exactly immature. Whats wrong with getting something that can minimise your spending unneccessary time on the wrong side of the road while overtaking(ala Malaysia and dual carriageways)? Have u ever wondered why all Saabs and most Volvos are turbo-charged My friend who sold his liana for an Altis wasn't a lead foot but he did need the extra performance from the Toyota. As I have said I have driven both and the Altis is definitely faster And it is about the same price of a Liana....Resale value who will be better? Dun even have to consider here... If $$$ is not a consideration, of course there are more chio sedans out there but @ $70,000.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 I'm not saying that favoring a driving style as immature but giving advice based on a particular driving style is not very mature. People get cars for different reasons. Not everyone wants to do a Schumacher especially for a family man. Actually, any car can give the performance if you push it hard enough. Streetable performance that is. Well, with that, you do burn more gas and gas is a little too high for comfort these days. Of course the Altis is faster. The Liana gets weighed down with all those safety features, airbags and stuff. Unless you can lup in the 2.0L engine used on the Aerio . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneofakind Neutral Newbie August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Agreed Must admit I am skewed more towards the 'go' factor. Family considerations are important too, more directly wifey's approval....that why I ended up with a swedish meatball.....was eyeballing Evo & Sti until wifey kicked out a fuss and threatened to me. Safety is tops on her list followed by style, comfort & performance. Everything is a compromise Liana with 2.0L engine.....now that will turn the tables Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Not just 2.0L The US Aerio as the Liana is called there is an AWD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Two colleagues have it. FC according to then is 'shocking' Expect to get less than 10 km/ltr for combined cycle. Possibly worse if u are mostly city driving. Acceleration is best described as sufficient not to hold up traffic. One got so sick of it he binned it after just one year and got an Altis. Altis about same price as Liana....go for the Toyota...much better engine and performance. FC always brings a smile to your face I have driven both the Altis and Liana and seriously the Altis is where I would put my $70,000....Liana's pace or rather the lack of it can become tiresomes after some time. Nothing can be more shocking that the 2002 Kia Spectra which I drove over 4 days. Light footed. 70/30 highway/city Mileage ? -- 8.5km/l Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Guys, need advise as I am eyeing on this car but know nuts about it.... juz happen to be a passenger and am impressed by the rear leg room, interior and the smoothness of the ride... pls let me know the pros and cons and the most importantly is the FC.. My budget is ideally can be below 70K. Hyundai Matrix at just over S$60K is a good choice with lots of space. But it drinks like mad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lemie Neutral Newbie August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Maybe you should test-drive it yourself to have a feel of what the car can give you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jemig Clutched August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Honestly speaking i am happy and sad... happy is that i did not commit myself to LIANA (nearly) sad is that i have already set me mind on it till i realised in is not advisable..... Thanx bros.... looks like got to hold back and do more research b4 committing. dude, u can't always win in a ball game. there bound to be minor trade-off in decision making. make yourself an evaluation matrix. list down all factors u want for a car. u can't just possibly turn away from a liana just bcoz it didn't give a better FC than altis. look at a different angle. i like the high seating position, ample leg and headroom. and it's a hatch! corolla can be too common on the streets. u can practically one every 10 meters? hehe...(no offence for corolla drivers intended). the ball is in your court now. cheers!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Instinct Neutral Newbie August 23, 2004 Author Share August 23, 2004 Wow thank u & u guys are fantastic.... Once again tank u for so much info, guidance and advises. U guys are rite... Is my fault for being frickle minded. My wife and I has decided to have a car as she juz gave birth to a baby and having a car is much more convie. to move around especially when we wanted to go back to my in-laws hse in Perak. As we we have a budget to compromise and taking into considerations our mthly expenses. Thats y FC and maintenance cost is one of area that I need to look at. Once again Sorry and tank u for everything.... all the advises.... Will redo my research again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 23, 2004 Share August 23, 2004 Don't have to say sorry lah. I'm sure ppl here are more than happy to help. Think carefully what you want and go for as many test drive as you need to make a good asessment and ask as many questions as you want here. Once you sign on that dotted, it's final....$$$$$$ down the drain...or should I say $$$$$$ into Govenment's, dealers and bank's pocket. Good luck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...