Genie47 1st Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 Imagine those that got NOS behind. See got fire in haste didn't see take wrong cylinder, spray.....BOOOOM ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 You mean if the local dealer follow Proton. Damn local dealers. They even stripped off the anchor points for child restraints on the back board of my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Author Share October 7, 2004 Hi there, I asked a Korean Car SE what is the cost for adding Airbags and ABS, she told me they came originally without them and you can't get it fitted here. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 (edited) That is because the dealers ordered these stripped out ones. Aveo airbags got sell in eBay. Can fit locally if you got the tech and know-how. Edited October 7, 2004 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Author Share October 7, 2004 Hi there, 1. Thats the problem! 3rd party fitted one is not covered under warranty. Factory-fitted has better assurance than those fitted locally. 2. Hands itchy lately, wonder what cars to test drive during weekend. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 upgrade to Gen 2???!!! I rather get Waja. (Personal point of view). When mentioned 59K in this thread, it could be the price after the Proton and DBS discount... Me too ... see Remy's Waja make me itchy liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverarrow Neutral Newbie October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 The photos may not tell the full story. What it do not tell is how the accident happened (eg. what speed, location, etc). It looks like the accident did not happened in that exact location, b'cos there is not debris on the road. Look closely at the area on the road just slightly above the corner formed by the two merging white lines in the foreground. That's your debris right there. The small amounts of debris plus the relatively small area of dispersion confirms the fact that the collision occured at relatively low speeds. The cars were subsequently moved to one side so that the roads around that Damansara Perdana carpark would not be obstructed, as people usually do in minor fender benders. There is also a possibilty that the Gen 2 and the kencil (not sure of the model)did not run into each other head-on, cos the impact points and the extend of the damages of the 2 cars doesn't look 'right'. You're right: it wasn't a head-on collision, as in the case of almost all accidents. There was a definite offset, with the front right of the Kancil nudging the front left of the Gen.2. Modern cars usually suffer more in a frontal collision, cos of the crumble zone concept. Crumple zones are meant to absorb the impact of collisions from 60km/h and above. But if a car can be easily battered up from very low speed impacts, alarm bells should be ringing. In an Insurance Institute for Highway Safety assessment on how well bumpers can prevent damage in 5 mph impacts simulating the fender-bender collisions that are common in commuter traffic and parking lots, the following comment was issued: A good bumper system should absorb the energy of these minor impacts and protect expensive body panels, headlamp systems, and other components from damage. In the accident above, not only was the Gen.2's bumper and left fender smashed in the car's left-sided impact, but the right fender was damaged in the process, indicating a structural rigidity that is lacking. Chassis realignment won't be cheap. Furthermore, a radiator coolant leakage can be seen in the second accident photo above, indicating additional costs to replace damaged components within the engine bay. Such a sorry excuse for a "crumple zone" will most definitely fail in a normal road accident, even if the passenger cell is built rigidly. Malaysia's high mortality rates for road accidents bear testimony to this. And often, the poor Proton driver may find himself being one with the engine, like the guy in the following photos: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 (edited) Gen2 is the first car they are trying out to be fixed with locally sourced parts... good or bad?? your call... Cheers Edited October 7, 2004 by Vidz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 kekeke.... can dress up the car and cheap so more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 bro, looks like u like Gen 2 very much? how about a vios at the same price? isn't the build quality much better? and u are praising the handling while driving a focus, i guess Gen 2's handling must be pretty good then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 Make sure the price comes with a fire extinguisher FREE!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 This car have the potential to beat quite a number of car... including mine... sure bo? beating something with bigger TB? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 Me too ... see Remy's Waja make me itchy liao how about some V6 lution? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrate Neutral Newbie October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 Hi there, I'm attracted by the review published by some car magazines and websites. I'm driving a Focus. Regards, Hello fren, from a Focus you wanna "upgrade" to Gen.2?????? Crazy lah you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Author Share October 7, 2004 Hi there, 1. Sorry, for some personal reasons, Toyota is last on my list in car selection. This has nothing to do with its performance and reliablity. I simply don't like Japanese, I mean Jap cars. 2. The handling is good for a car of such look and price. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Author Share October 7, 2004 Hi there, 1. Since when did I say I wish to purchase one??? 2. I'm telling you guys that this car offers so much features and good handling at a low cost. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrate Neutral Newbie October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 oic... sorry... misunderstood you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 Hi Kelpie, why don't you try out waja? both sharing the same chasis but has got 'higher' interior space somemore interior feels better and it's using the old reliable and proven mitsu engine with a huge collection of spareparts around[thumbsup] if i am not wrong, the price is about the same too ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...