Problem with DuraEdge...advice anyone?

Nightchaser

Hi guys,

Just got myself duraedge wiper for the driver side. Here's my story: My original wiper juddering, I think the rubber hard liao, so decided to change sometime early this month. Lucky I buy one only cuz they dun have the passenger side size.

Anyway, seems ok, first day rain, wiper started juddering again, then the unbelievable happen. The driver and passenger side wiper start banging each other, then driver side finally gets stuck. So I drive without my driver wiper for the whole day. Quite pissed.

Next day go back to the place where I bought the wiper to complain. He said is not wiper fault, then goes on to say my wiper arm loose. I bought the idea and he tighten the wiper arm.

I thought that was the end. Then wiper arm come loose again.. the next day.. I DL liao, go distributor to solve the problem.

Ok, now ok liao. But today started raining and my wiper is juddering again!!!! the wiper arm looks like its having a tough time moving the wiper blade cuz the friction between the screen and blade seems alot.(P.S this happens only to the driver side, and I did not apply anything to my windscreen)

Now my question is, is my wiper arm problematic in the first place? or is the duraedge wiper causing my wiper arm to develop the problem.

Actually feel like returning the wiper...cuz i personally think it sucks big time. [:(]

1st - resolve ur windscreen problem. i suggest white vinegar with a clean cloth to clean follow by newspaper. ok lah... this one taxi driver method. [laugh]

2nd - wiper arm. either ur 1st or 2nd or both arms appears to be longer, which is the mistake itself. the covering radius and speed obviously resulted in clashing.

but dun throw the redundant wiper away, u can use it to wipe off water after rinsing ur car and before drying up with cloth.

I m on Dura Edge too and it have serve me well..solved my juddering problem....from yr description seem like the size of yr wiper is not right and most likely yr wiper arm need some servicing......why not send back to yr wkshop for a check first....

Using it on my 04' ES5... seems to have solved the juddering problem.. BUT.. a new problem.. streaks which seems to appear near the end of the blades. Not severe, and I can quite live with it. Am experimenting with using DuraEdge on the driver side blade (the side with juddering problem), and stock on the passenger (where I didn't have juddering problems in the first place).

And nope, never use Rain-X or the likes ever on my ride..

where the 2 wipers are pivoted to the car, there is a common linkage.

effectily one of the wiper is master and the other is slave. hence they move at the same speed or rotation. however, both arms r typically of different lenght. hence one hv a bigger radii than the other.

there is no 2 seperate motors. on some cars, merc i think, they only hv 1 wiper.

problem is therefore the wrong lenght of wiper.

I got mine at Pin Liang at Zion road [:)] Saw your ride in another thread, am quite interested in the rotors you have, where did you get it installed?