Help! Petrol oil problem..

Findtrex

Hi gurus,

I'm sharing my car with my brother.. to my horror my brother has been pumping Shell 98 although i told him i am pumping Shell 95.. this has been going on for about 2 months until i found out today.. [shakehead]

Is mixing the two petrol oil bad for the engine? Will it cause any major problems? How can i solve any problems this might cause?

Please advise.. thank you very much..

no problem at all...as long as the petrol used is higher than the min octane requirement stated in the car's manual. since your bro is pumping higher RON, everything shd be fine.

mixing them is all right. i pump my petrol all over singapore and all over jb. ur car would state minimum requirement of wad petrol if ur car is normal saloon stock it would require RON95. adding in ROn 98 would neutralise it, maybe become RON96.5? [laugh]

As long u met the requirement is ok de. if urs is car wif wadever turbo, u might require RON98. but from wad i know nowadays 95 is enuff. [thumbsup]

nothing wrong except that if u see a tanker at the petrol station filling up the basement reservior. do not pump there.

cos with the mixing of new fuel into the basement tank, contaminant is stirred up within the tank.

and although they hv filters at the pumps itself, these cannot capture all contaminants (reminds me of KNN filters)

Hi gurus,

I'm sharing my car with my brother.. to my horror my brother has been pumping Shell 98 although i told him i am pumping Shell 95.. this has been going on for about 2 months until i found out today.. [shakehead]

Is mixing the two petrol oil bad for the engine? Will it cause any major problems? How can i solve any problems this might cause?

No problemo, he is pumping higher than what you are pumping...so average out you using 96.5....hehehehe [laugh]

Peace Bro [sunny]

No worries about mixing petrol. My car has the following:

Caltex 98

SPC 98

SHELL Vpower from m'asia

SHELL 98

A little leftover of Mobil 98

So no worries about mixing them.. so long don't take the black nozzle and pump can liao.

Hi gurus,

I'm sharing my car with my brother.. to my horror my brother has been pumping Shell 98 although i told him i am pumping Shell 95.. this has been going on for about 2 months until i found out today.. shakehead.gif

No problem lah ... dun worry wink.gif as long as he doesnt pump diesel ok liao tongue.gif

Most important thing is:

Who's paying for Ron98? That's the greatest difference. [lipsrsealed]

edit: ie. he pays thru speedpass that's charged to you at end of the month. [shakehead]

[sunny]

Edited by Kianbeng

Haha, sorry i've been out of town last few days didn't get to surf the net.. my brother paid for the Ron98.. so good for me [sly] Thanks for all the replies, really appreciate them [thumbsup]

wow you've a good brother man.

My bro was asking me if my car takes in Ron92. haha....what a world.

I can't blame him coz recently petrol is extremely expensive..... so we actually take turns to go into msia to pump Ron97.

[sunny]