Shell Better Mileage Public Challenge?

Vincentacy

IMG_2041.jpg

I have been selected for the above challenge. I have since changed my wheels to the original 13' 155/70 configuration. I think I am more for the 3 tanks of petrol than winning, cos I got to be practical... I need my car for work purposes.

Anyway, anyone also got selected?

I was getting 14-15km/litre before the wheel switch, so I am expecting 16km/litre and up during this period of time.

Vincent

Updated on 23rd Oct at 3:20am...

P1000379.jpg

All thanks to Azlan's posting on the Australian (who drove to Genting and back). Follow his driving tips, it's the way to go!

Before today, I've been doubting a fella club member's claim of "230km with the needle only touching 3/4 mark" on his Picanto (I have since exceed around 50km of his).

All is about to change for all KIA drivers and of course, all drivers that want good FC. Please read the article posted up by Azlan on the Australian driver on Page Two of this post. http://sgkiaclub.proboards27.com/index.cgi...8328293&start=0

Being conservative, I would like to believe, a rough estimation of the effective FC of our Picanto would be around 19km/litre with SAVVY driving techniques!

Vincent

Edited by Admin

I don't think I was aimming to win in the first place... since it's a challenge, I thought I just try out for all my Picanto fellas... at least set a standard there.

There will as usual be people that would cheat their way to the first prize anyway... so.. to win with 19km/litre... wait long long lor...

Vincent

Yeah that is why the reports on these hybrid cars damn skewed. Toyota and Honda made them go through so many traffic jams with stop-start situation and the FC went to the 60MPG range. But on highway driving, the hybrids became like normal cars.

There are many of the Aveo drivers using the Aussie driver's technique. FYI, he is John Taylor and his wife is Valerie. We call his technique Taylor driving style.

With the 1.4L Aveo, we can achieve 15km/L with sparodic sprinting because we want to really DRIVE and not act like a bus sometimes.

Arah who drives the 1.5L SOHC version clocks 14-15km/L easily. Different car need different technique. Arah and I change up at 1.5k RPM for 1st and 2nd gear. 3rd and 4th change up at 2k. For me, to enter expressway just whack with whatever gear I'm already on (2,3 or 4) to reach 90kph cruising then change up to 5th to cruise.

The auto transmission drivers for the Aveo can achieve 13km/L by judiciously staying the throttle.

Our cars hate jams and start-stop traffic consumes gas for doing nothing! So we avoid as much as possible. Even going the long way round is better. May take longer time, reach office a little late but the most important is that the car clocks more mileage for less petrol. The petrol MUST WORK FOR THE MILEAGE and not give you A/C only.

For example. KJE to PIE from Sg Tengah onwards is jam like siao every morning. I take Old CCK Rd to Jln Bahar then PIE. Smoother traffic. Car is moving faster and getting more mileage. You can call this cheating but hey I drive manual and working hard on the clutch for moving 20kph is damn bohua!

Another example. Exit from AYE to North Buona Vista usually packed. So move up ahead just before the ERP gantry is Portsdown Rd. Depending if a slow Sunday driver is ahead of you or not, can do some rally tarmac action! Drive 90kph on that small tiny road. Damn shiok! sly.gif After going through Portsdown, you will come out miraculously at North Buona Vista. Longer way but nicer drive for more mileage using less fuel.

I forgot to mention, I move around MSCP if the MSCP is big with 4th gear. sly.gif Just power up with gears shifting up all the way to 4th and don't touch the gas pedal letting the car roll along in 4th. Save a lot of gas. Only time to slow down to 2nd is when encountering a hump or going up an MSCP ramp.

Edited by Genie47

I ever tried to change gear b4 2k RPM, but my FC got worst... [shakehead] 12 ~ 13Km/l

It get better if i change gear @ 2.5K ~ 3K RPM. [thumbsup] 13.5 ~ 14.4Km/l

i think not all cars work the same way... [;)]

Edited by Titanium

Different cars behave differently. But most liked to be whacked to reach higher speeds. But for speeds up to 50kph, better do "tip, tip, tip". My way of saying going up the gears fast.

Edited by Genie47

Change up very fast. Clutch disengage, 1st, engage at half-clutch. Once rolling, disengage, up to 2nd, half-clutch gain more speed to 1.5 to 2k RPM. Disengage, up to 3rd, engage clutch fully rev to 50kph and finally go up to 4th to stay around 50-55kph.

Very very fast gear changes. So it is like tip toeing across a room for three steps before fully running. That is why I call it "tip tip tip". I do it so fast, I modified it to use 4th gear to move around MSCP if there is a lot of space in the MSCP. Only difference is that I don't rev up to 50kph but 35 and the gas pedal is not touched at all on 4th gear. The car just rolls along due to the momentum provided by the earlier gears. Actually rolls along quite well unaided.

[shocked] Wah... Very Chim leh, maybe i shld try to change up soon also. [thumbsup]

Me always try to use the right gear for the right speed. [sweatdrop]

But if i not wrong, maintain half-clutch is not heathly.