Looneytune Neutral Newbie November 8, 2004 Share November 8, 2004 think its better to change it. no pt repairing cos u cant get to e root of the prob. changed my old honda accord gearbox in 2000, got from those 3yr old jap cars. have been driving w/o prob for past 4 yrs. so think its worth to change. $900 from CAS is really affordable. rem at that time, i paid abt $2k from outside mech. jus last yr oso i got a replacement aircon compressor from same source. paid only $80 & aircon damn powerful. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear November 8, 2004 Author Share November 8, 2004 Hi Looneytune, my ride is '92 Civic...and this model end at 1996, assuming CAS get the 3yrs Jap imported gearbox...it would have been exported out in 1999 and it been 4 yrs since. Not sure if CAS will service the box first before installing? And next to consider would be their workmanship. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie November 8, 2004 Share November 8, 2004 you can try asking those transmission specialist shops that were given to you above. I don't think CAS would open up the transmission to check if it is in good condition or not. you can check if yr transmission can use the models from the ESI and VTI models ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear November 8, 2004 Author Share November 8, 2004 Mine is LSi..so if change to ESi or VTi, the tranny would perform better? And I think it won't be cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie November 8, 2004 Share November 8, 2004 well, no harm in asking... not so much in tranny performance, but rather in terms of gear to torque ratio.. maybe if you can chk with yr honda club members to see if there's any significant improvement if you were to use their model of tranny....of course mechanically it must fit. since you are going to rework your tranny, might as well drop in a better model type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Looneytune Neutral Newbie November 8, 2004 Share November 8, 2004 shd have lah..mine accord was 91 model & they can still find. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 8, 2004 Share November 8, 2004 That is possible for Japan, because they have a large car manufacturing Industry to support which is a big earner of foreign exhange. Besides there is also the downstream car scrapping industry which not only sell used cars and parts but also gradually being upgrade to become a big recycle industry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear November 8, 2004 Author Share November 8, 2004 So LooneyTune, when you change your ATF...do you flush first or just drain and refill? Coz some mech say old tranny better not flush. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Looneytune Neutral Newbie November 8, 2004 Share November 8, 2004 i go to CAS for servicing. did not opt for flush package. so only drain niah..anyway, dun think u need to flush ATF. as long as got oil inside, can protect the tranney liao. to be fair, honda cars of our generation very well built. engine & tranney can last for years. only replaced the tranney once in 14 yrs of my car's life. but sadly, i just sent e car for scrap, cos its deprn is really ex, due to high coe. oso road tax is a killer at 2.3k/pa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear November 8, 2004 Author Share November 8, 2004 (edited) Since you go to CAS for servicing, so how you find their services and workmanship? So what is your new ride? Edited November 8, 2004 by Alant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Looneytune Neutral Newbie November 8, 2004 Share November 8, 2004 value for money lah. still can do. my new ride is a lancer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear November 9, 2004 Share November 9, 2004 it all depends on how long u wanna use ur civic. i change recon autobox b4. & mechanic told me it can last about 5 yrs. not a problem for me then as i would scrap my car in 3 yrs. but if ure using for long period, more than 5 yrs, think the recon is not a safe option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear November 9, 2004 Author Share November 9, 2004 So those export from Jap is a better choice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivi Neutral Newbie November 10, 2004 Share November 10, 2004 Is you auto transmission very bad, if not i suggest u treat it with MSP, may help and u can save money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear November 11, 2004 Author Share November 11, 2004 What is MSP? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivi Neutral Newbie November 11, 2004 Share November 11, 2004 It stands for molecular science product. It is a special treatment for the engine, power steering, transmission, differential, fuel system etc. My friend's auto gear was like very noisy, after applying this treatment, it is now much smoother. As for myself, my once draggy car is now much smoother. Proven to reduce wear by upto 95%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 11, 2004 Share November 11, 2004 engine oil modifier.--> additives. for ATF, just stick to OEM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bryanho Neutral Newbie November 12, 2004 Share November 12, 2004 think its better to change it. no pt repairing cos u cant get to e root of the prob. changed my old honda accord gearbox in 2000, got from those 3yr old jap cars. have been driving w/o prob for past 4 yrs. so think its worth to change. $900 from CAS is really affordable. rem at that time, i paid abt $2k from outside mech. jus last yr oso i got a replacement aircon compressor from same source. paid only $80 & aircon damn powerful. I got an aircon from MC from woodland.. recon from J-pun.. aircon caused stalling problems.. so much for 3 year old compressors.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...