Big problem with my starlet

Giggsy3

This problem has been going for more than 4 months at least. My car's rpm sometimes goes up to 1500 during idling instead of the usual 800. It will only happen after I travelled for a distance when the car comes to a stop eg. traffic lights or slow traffic, etc....

But the problem is inconsistent, sometimes have sometimes dun have, well most of the time have~~ [sweatdrop]

Anyway, when this problem arise, I will have another problem:

my air-con will be giving out warm air..... hot inside the car [sweatdrop]

However my car temp remains normal throughout. So once I off my air-con my rpm will drop back to ard 1000 (looks normal), and I'll have to wind down my window throughout my journey without my air-con.

Went to my mechanic before and he said it's something to do with this "air-con box" at my passenger seat there, not really sure what it is, and he said cos my car is a very old model, got to live with it as if want to find old spareparts is not worth the $$$....

So now I'm living with the problem and whenever it comes I'll just off my air-con and wind down my window for the journey....

Does any starlet users here got similar experiences???

I'll check to see with the rest of the guys if they can help you. I think the A/C needs some changing together with some tuning of the carburetor. After Hari raya. Be patient.

haha thanks! But I'm rather broke so if the whole thing involves alot of $$$ so I would rather live with it!! Sorry for the trouble!! [sweatdrop]

This problem has been going for more than 4 months at least. My car's rpm sometimes goes up to 1500 during idling instead of the usual 800. It will only happen after I travelled for a distance when the car comes to a stop eg. traffic lights or slow traffic, etc....

But the problem is inconsistent, sometimes have sometimes dun have, well most of the time have~~ sweatdrop.gif

my air-con will be giving out warm air..... hot inside the car sweatdrop.gif

However my car temp remains normal throughout. So once I off my air-con my rpm will drop back to ard 1000 (looks normal), and I'll have to wind down my window throughout my journey without my air-con.

Went to my mechanic before and he said it's something to do with this "air-con box" at my passenger seat there, not really sure what it is, and he said cos my car is a very old model, got to live with it as if want to find old spareparts is not worth the $$$....

So now I'm living with the problem and whenever it comes I'll just off my air-con and wind down my window for the journey....

I use to have the same problem with my Peugeot.

The idling problem was due to a dirty throttle body.

The aircon problem was due to an ailing aircon compressor.

bro,

i had teh same problem some months ago....

it's really the air con compressor gone case already..... you need to change the air con compressor.

if you dun change, and if you are driving on a highway with that air con problem, the compressor will burn out, and you will have burning smell blowing out of the air con vents.

i bear it with for some months until i cant stand it. like you, i got to off the air con and drive with window down. on a hot day, i almost die in the car!

went to a recommended (by another starlet owner) air con work shop. name: New Luck Air Con, at Ubi. near the Post Office Bldg. i dun have the address now. but you can check with the business listing directory or something.

they quoted me $200 for a re-con compressor, new air con filter(look like a smoke grenade), new piping, plus top-up gas. time taken about 2 hours.

owner is v friendly.

i changed in July 2004. till now, no problem at all. pretty satisfied so far.

if you go, tell the boss it's a red starlet (doing printing business) referred you to him. i hope he still remembers me though. i brought my company van to him also for air con gas top up.

sounds like a bad joint or faulty relay. this relay circuit located below passenger glove box temporary turns off aircon compressor during inital drive off (juz like a Power pass system)

What I did is just turn off the air con and everything is fine through the journey... No smell or burnt things at all. Temperature remains normal and I'll just step on accelerator for awhile, and I'll on the aircon again and it should be ok already. The main idea is to step on the acclerator hard and travel for awhile

Air Con uses engine power 1

Inconsistant idling could be caused by faulty TPS (Throttle Positioning Sensor) 2

Check your air vent to see if it's closed 3

But the problem is inconsistent, sometimes have sometimes dun have, well most of the time have~~ sweatdrop.gif

Sorry.....my reply as below...

I had the same idling problem which you've described a few months ago. But air-con seems OK. Had my mechanic to adjust the carburator a few times but unsuccessful. Finally need to replace the carburator @ $380 (Parts + labour).

thanks for all the suggestions. I'm still relatively idiot to all the technical terms of the car parts, so pardon me for the ignorance. So roughly how much $$ I would need to solve the prob? As I'm very tight up in my pocket nowadays so hope can keep everything to a minimal [sweatdrop]

Else have to wait for AWS liao [blush]

I will make arrangements with some of the Starlet kakis for kopi. Maybe can come to discuss your problems and see if it can be done by DIY. SMS me so I can your number. We meet on the fly so don't be surprised we can meet in 2hrs notice.

my charade had this problem too....the rpm is irregular (sometimes engine died) but the air-con is still giving cool air. End up it's the aircon valve that's not working properly.