Stingerquek Clutched January 30, 2005 Share January 30, 2005 wah biang eh. scary leh. change to wat?? if to jap corolla i will die on the spot la. dun scare me pls. later i go buy then 1 yr later they change lo. my heart is weak,got BBB.. lolx anyway is it just pure speculation?? or got hard facts? Wa Lau eh bro,don't worry la,if you like the car,just buy la.If everyone like your think,than those who buy Nissan Sunny now how? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear January 30, 2005 Share January 30, 2005 i think you answered to the wrong person. I have already purchased a vehicle that i really like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 red pussy? i want! i want! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 hi guys, i think i haf finally decided not to get a 2nd hand car. and my parents keep advicing me agst it too. well iwent to BM yest to test drive the altis. and i must say that its nto too shabby, and i quite like the digital air con, just like the corolla g9. the engine is quite quiet too, pick up is not bad. the SE day FC is ard 13km/L. u guys haf any feedback abt teh altis? cos i most prob will go for it. tks man guys like then buy la regardless of what car u buy, new model will eventually come out so what so scary about it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangie Neutral Newbie January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 the SE day FC is ard 13km/L. The SE is right .... 11km/l is ard 13km/l Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shouyi 3rd Gear January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 Hmm, how you know the new model is 70K+ ? Now Altis is aroud 65k. New model around 70k+. Still ok with you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 yup..in thailand and malaysia..altis has been around for ages..ever since the G9 came to singapore, there's already altis in thailand and malaysia ya... thats why i insist people dont buy altis... once they go malaysia or thailand... they cry man !!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 BM sure mark up mahz... Which new car model didn't enter the market with an inflated price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lkming Neutral Newbie January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 very funny lor... why some ppl so anti altis and made in thai products. if all s'poreans anti thai, those in geylang bo business liau. kekeke... well, it's true that when go m'sia and thai, you will see altis, but why cry? buying car in s'pore and buying car in those countries is so much difference! there is no 10 years COE crap. you can drive til the engine kaput in those countries. over here, just get the damn car if you LIKE it, TESTED it, HAPPY with BUDGET, really really NEED it! i believe these few points is the main reason why toyota always top sales here, because of reliability! if buy civic for power, later you will really cry when a m'sia kancil overtake you in highway! hahahah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
V200 Neutral Newbie January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 hi guys, i think i haf finally decided not to get a 2nd hand car. and my parents keep advicing me agst it too. well iwent to BM yest to test drive the altis. and i must say that its nto too shabby, and i quite like the digital air con, just like the corolla g9. the engine is quite quiet too, pick up is not bad. the SE day FC is ard 13km/L. u guys haf any feedback abt teh altis? cos i most prob will go for it. tks man guys If you really like the car, just buy it. Don't worry about newer models. You will never be done with it. If new models come out, there will bound to be some areas that need improvement....then wait 2 years for the feedback and improvement, then facelift....then 1-2 years later another new model.....never ending story. So do test out other models first before committing. I am driving altis, and I find the ride is good! I did test other models, but still stuck to Altis. You have to decide on which ride you want. And if within budget, just be happy with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear February 3, 2005 Share February 3, 2005 lidat go europe, bmw and mercs owner cry liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SportyGal Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 yes u r right man . those ppl whom against altis should have no regrets. i know whoever anti altis is whom those jelous ppl drive a good a reliable car. for me, i'm a owner of altis and love it very much bse it give me better performance and comfortability. it's worth to buy. be frank, before i bought this car, i did went to chevelent optra and kia cerato. but unfortunately. none of this model can give the better quality thazn altis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teddi Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 <> Did you Test drive the Megane? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SportyGal Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 helo, now we are talking abr the asian car but not hte cotinental car. by the way, if even compare to megane, altis still better than megane. bse bigger and more comfortable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gbhfdl Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 (edited) That's true. Depends on what your needs & want. How big is your family that will ride in the car? Your perception of image...family, hip, cool or just don't care. I have been looking for the right car for last 6 months from European (Renault, Opel Astra), American (Chev Optra), Japanese (Mazda 3 & 6, Toyota Altis) to Korean (Hyundai, Kia) make. The more you think about it...maybe wait for newer models soon like Nissan & Ford, the longer you will wait to buy the car...you waste more time & opportunities. If you can wait then you can compared with the newer cars that are coming in a few months like Nissan, Ford & Huyndai. Every car has it's advantages & disadvantages. Just find which is acceptable to you. My experineces are: If you are into FC & engine reliability & past reputation & past resale value and if you doing sales job and/or travel a lot everyday go for Altis. This was my need and the reason for me to buy Altis. As to whether it is made in Thailand to me is not that important as i'm sure Toyota will not compromised on the QC (Quality Control) to damage it's reputation. Yes, they may be short extra air bags for rear passengers or don't have extra gadgets/features. If you want european style & driving with safety & electronic gadget/features (do note more electronic gadget means some of it will need to be address in the future) go for Renault Megane sedan. If you like styling/look at a premium price go for Mazda3. If you want good value car then can consider Chevolet Optra sedan/hatch. Go test drive all the cars (like what others mentioned) preferably on the same road & same day (if possible) so that it is not bias. If you like the car and meets you budget & needs then just buy it & enjoy the ride. There will always be a better car come tomorrow. This just my opinion & experiences. Others may disagree but that's individual opinion. Good hunting for your new car. Cheers. Edited February 4, 2005 by Gbhfdl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 This is my take : If you like it ... and have the money for it, then buy it and enjoy it. Countering the arguments stated :- 1) Coming to end of line : If like that ... dun buy car. Whatever car you buy ... in 3-4 yrs , a newmodel will come out. So makes no diff ... if you want to own the latest model everytime , burn hole in pocket 2) Made in Thailand : For a 10 yr lifespan , makes no diff to me. I can say ... seriously, you'd probably think of another car by the time the Altis is 4 yrs old. Itchiness is unbearable liao So made in Timbuktu also no diff. Mindset have to change ... in the very near future, SGP car market will be infiltrated with many models coming in from Malaysia, Thailand an even China. Even if made in Japan ... most internal parts made in Taiwan and China, so whats the diff ?? 3) Taxis : Aiyah ... in Germany also got Merc Taxis wat ... so that makes Merc no good meh ?? So your car (the Altis) is a taxi in Thailand .... so what ley ?? I dun understand ... if the 323 is a taxi in Japan , I say "yeah so ??" . Proves nothing ley. In fact , I think it shows how good the Altis is to be able to be used as a taxi. The amount of miles a taxi covers , nothing less than a good durable car can handle So go for what fits your budget and liking My motto is : Never buy a car because of what the neighbours / relatives will say .... buy it because you like it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
V200 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2005 Share February 4, 2005 Hi. Did you manage to settle the headlight accident? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 Before you commit, pls take note of some prominent flaws in the Corolla / Altis. The external rubber seals tend to warp easily under S'pore's hot weather, and this causes wind to enter teh cabin when travelling above 100km/l, and rain water to sep in. Borneo Motors has played dirty with me and refused to replace the faulty rubber seals even though I had sent my car faithfully back to them for servicing during warranty period. My rear power windows also failed in the first year PS: My car is low mileage - 10,000km a year and garage kept. NO misuse hi guys, i think i haf finally decided not to get a 2nd hand car. and my parents keep advicing me agst it too. well iwent to BM yest to test drive the altis. and i must say that its nto too shabby, and i quite like the digital air con, just like the corolla g9. the engine is quite quiet too, pick up is not bad. the SE day FC is ard 13km/L. u guys haf any feedback abt teh altis? cos i most prob will go for it. tks man guys ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...