New to car

Dennisk

what car u driving? thumbsup.gif

i think the majority experience good FC at slow acceleration, but not necessary to change gear below 2000 rpm. example for my ride (sunny) i get better FC to change gear around 2250 to 2500 rpm sometimes because the torque only comes after 2000 rpm. thus the engine feels easy to accelerate only beyond 2000 rpm. (read: it'll give me really bad FC if i let the engine struggle to accelerate)

IMO the trick is more on the way u step the accelerator, ie do not step more gas than ur engine can consume at the given rpm, means, if u don't feel ur car accelerating somemore even if u step more gas, then maintain or reduce a little bit and let the rpm catch up.

as for ur case, engine vribate coz cannot go somemore on 3rd is not very healthy, why not try to go somemore on 2nd so that 3rd can go more smoothly? sweatdrop.gif

anyway, light footed and heavier footed driving give me a FC difference of around 2 to 3 km/l only on my ride, so why not drive it hard and enjoy the driving? thumbsup.gif

aiyah, to me make no diff ley laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

redline means bring ur rpm all the way to just before the red zone at around 6500 to 7000 rpm, can normally do with 1st and 2nd gear, 3rd redline would means a speed of about 170 ~ 180 km/h sweatdrop.gif

just do it occasionally, don't have to be often, just to clean the carbon deposit within the engine sweatdrop.gif

whether it's dragging or not depends on ur ride, different cars behave differently... anyway, just make sure u don't step more gas than the engine can take then it's ok liao. for example, at certain gear, ur car gives the same acceleration whether u are doing 1/4 throttle or 1/2 throttle, under such circumstances, just leave it at 1/4 throttle or less because any increase in throttle will not increase the acceleration but u are only wasting gas.. hope u understand what i want to say sweatdrop.gif

3rd not possible to hit 170~180kmh lar sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif the most is around 140kmh wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif for our normal N.A cars sly.gifPosted ImagePosted Image

sure or not???? [:|] when i was in perth....i floor the pedal all the way on hyundai accent (manual, 1.6 dohc), the top that i have is 160kmh and cant go anymore further (with long straight road to go)how can a 1.6 auto sunny be going above a manual?? see wrongly issit??? [confused]

the most is around 140kmh

tell me how much is ur 4th gear redline?

fyi, auto car 3rd gear ratio is 1.0, and most manual car 3rd gear is around 1.2 and 4th around 0.9. so auto 3rd is a gear in between ur 3rd and 4th [gossip]

where ur place? got sufficient to try meh?

got. an empty stretch with trees around [thumbsup]

but like i say, i didn't manage to redline, that stretch allow me to reach 6000 rpm only, where my redline is 6500 rpm [:/]

and.. i can only do it in one direction, guess why? [laugh][lipsrsealed]

aiyah, to me make no diff ley

nah, ur one elephant leg, ur light foot and our light foot is of different definition ok smash.giflaugh.gif

yah hor, come to think of it laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

sure or not???? unimpressed.gif when i was in perth....i floor the pedal all the way on hyundai accent (manual, 1.6 dohc), the top that i have is 160kmh and cant go anymore further (with long straight road to go)how can a 1.6 auto sunny be going above a manual?? see wrongly issit??? confused.gif

that's why I say not possible mah but I'm not too sure about the gear ratio of the Auto on the Sunny wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

3rd not possible to hit 170~180kmh lar

want to bet? have u driven an auto before? rolleyes.gif

oh yah, forgotten your's a auto, my is a manual lar laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

1st almost 60kmh

2nd almost 100kmh

3rd about 140kmh

4th about 180kmh

5th so far 190+kmh only

y? how can an auto drag so high?? pardon me coz i dun drive auto...for wat i noe..there is a spd limiter install in our cars...i think the hyundai accent that i drove in aust should be of same bhp as ur sunny....why it cant move further?

[laugh] wat i onli knew is whenever i floor it...the tyres squeez and burn for my first 3 gears (when shifting) fun sia...but not doing so for own car...keke...

yes it will be very loud, but for a while is ok [nod]

but make sure u don't cross the redline [sweatdrop]

if u don't feel comfortable rev till 5500 to 6000 rpm lor [sweatdrop]

and remember, don't do it on old car and new car (before run in one) [sweatdrop]

what's ur car? [thumbsup]

my car mazda 323, 3 years +

3rd not possible to hit 170~180kmh lar

want to bet? have u driven an auto before? rolleyes.gif

oh yah, forgotten your's a auto, my is a manual lar laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

1st almost 60kmh

2nd almost 100kmh

3rd about 140kmh

4th about 180kmh

5th so far 190+kmh only

yup, if i am not wrong, most 4 speed auto car 3rd gear can go up to 170+ km/h because it has a ratio between 3rd and 4th of manual, and then auto Overdrive ratio is smaller than manual 5th gear, means we'll be running at lower rpm at the same speed [nod]

my car if accelerate from OD cannot go beyond 160km/h one [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

Edited by En0203