Goodspeed Clutched March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 (edited) 2. Intake geometry. Good if you car has it. Want power? A short cone filter is all you need. Want torque, get a long tract. Bro can u explain these in more detail... currently i just change from a drop in filter with CAI into a Cone filter(open pod) with CAI.... and i purpose keep the same dia hose for the intake with the air box.so that i dont over size the intake. but not sure correct or not. maybe i show u the pic RESULTs... feeling more power from 2500rpm onward... but 0- 100 not sure better or wosre? actually not sure if this is good setup cone filter or just oringnal intake? should i just stick to mine orinigal drop in filter with CAI>? MOre Power means more TORque??? thanks man Edited March 3, 2005 by Goodspeed ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 :( I got exams from 15 April to 4th of May leh....hi ya...the perils of a student.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordalfa Neutral Newbie March 3, 2005 Author Share March 3, 2005 1) Do unburnt fuel and air get ejected throught the exhaust valves on variable valve timing systems? Unburnt fuel will get expelled through the exhaust valves. It has nothing to do with the VVT. 2) I think the stoichiometric ratio for complete combustion is 14.7 parts of air to 1 part of fuel right? If so, does that condition exist constantly in the cylinders or is it always alternating between lean burn and rich condition? 14.7 parts air to 1 part of fuel is the ideal. But there is lean burn which is up to 15.5 to 16.0 and rich burn depending on NA or FI is 12.5 to 13.5. You cannot lean burn your engine yourself unless you have an aftermarket ECU. Most manufacturers' ECU is lean burn to 14.7 to 15.0. Beyond 15 you exhaust gases are really hot and not that the exhaust valves cannot take it, it is catalytic converter will have a meltdown. Catalytic converters are meant to work in that range lambda effectively. I will define that the car will go rich burn at WOT and lean burn or stoichiometric when cruising. How do you know if your car is on lean or rich burn without using an O2 sensor? Get a vacuum gauge. Because the FPR works on vacuum, zero vacuum results in the valve closing the fuel line giving you higher fuel pressure. At vacuum -xx mmHg, you FPR valve opens to allow more fuel to return to the tank. Drive with vacuum gauge and drive below zero to attain the best fuel economy. Better than snake oils. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordalfa Neutral Newbie March 3, 2005 Author Share March 3, 2005 RESULTs... feeling more power from 2500rpm onward... but 0- 100 not sure better or wosre? actually not sure if this is good setup cone filter or just oringnal intake? should i just stick to mine orinigal drop in filter with CAI> How about normal driving? From cruising to overtaking? Your setup looks like it is for more torque. Torque and Power are related but not the same thing. Torque is using your hand to push a door open. Power is you running at full speed to wack the door open. But you need torque to start running to full speed. It is not very useable force because your need to use all your ability and might. We are interested in more power in a race car because, it is always WOT. We are interested in torque for a road car, because we don't rev to 9000 rpm to overtake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferrariz Neutral Newbie March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 (edited) jiayong, 28th march - monday morning you got school anot? going in with clubhyundai. Edited March 3, 2005 by Ferrariz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 Is it a closed track event? How many cars are going? more details? like time and events of the day.. Wah..really very tempting..hee hee.. How come every sem before my exams start..there will be bound to be a PG invitation?!! Last sem also....grrr...and last sem i succumbed into temptation.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 Hmm..i found the thread liao... so far 22 cars...hmmm...grrr...are you a moderator there? going by 2nd link or woodlands? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jhoo Neutral Newbie March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 Even with CAI on both cases, I tot low end will suffer when switched from Drop-in to Cone? Or is it only applicable to Auto tranny? I am havin a drop-in with CAI and a after market muffler, somehow I find my torque is better with the stock muffler...would changing to open pod helps or make it worse? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 oic normal driving is not that good.. hmm like up slope no power drop to third gear well lucky i mannuel car so just drop gear... overtaking so so i guess 1 litre car power is like that one lor, need to drop fourth gear to overtake. anyway most of the time i am FULLY FLooring the petal but only at abt 2500-3000 RPM the power kicks in and goes up faster, by the way the MAX TOrque for my car is at 3200RPM. anyway here is some pics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 You car carburetted? Or is it throttle body fuel injection? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 (edited) i think semi..... hmm like they mostly say is SINGLE THROttle injector... CARburetted with a single throttle injector.. anyway i am driving a swift. Edited March 3, 2005 by Goodspeed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonnybravo Neutral Newbie March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 hey goodspeed! are you Alvin from NTU? met you that friday night at bishan?? Jon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 awhawhhawwa yup u remember... so late never sleep? what u doing no school tomorrow? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonnybravo Neutral Newbie March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 hahaha! it is you!!!!! me ar.... tomorrow got work. now having attachment ma. can't really sleep leh. i think the computer is preventing my from going to sleep. are you going tomorrow night? Jon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 There is not such thing as semi lah! It is either carburetted or fuel injected. Just lift up your air filter unit and see. A carburetor is easy to see. It is mechanical and you see no wires going there. If it is throttle body injected, you will see wires going to the "carburetor". In some throttle body injection designs, you can even see the injector. Your Swift is which year? Highly possible that it is carburetted. If carburetted, good loh! No silly electronics to deal with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 my swift 1997 (facelift) i remove the air box and see wires outside hard to comment whether wire going in or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 hmm not sure i am free or not? anyway i am going into JB tomorrow to eat DIM SuM with the gang u want to come? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordalfa Neutral Newbie March 4, 2005 Author Share March 4, 2005 Your setup is not CAI lah. You will still suck in hot air under the bonnet. The hose from the outside is not enough to deliver cold air even when the car is in motion. Try using the drop in filter with a hose connecting your elephant trunk. This setup is for more power. You tune for top end. In this cas you use the K&N carb top filters. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...