En0203 2nd Gear March 7, 2005 Share March 7, 2005 oooo.. solid, but not used in automobile then no fun liao hehe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordalfa Neutral Newbie March 7, 2005 Author Share March 7, 2005 Boost on a rotary is tremendous. Don't put off a 0.4 bar boost on a rotary, it is like a 1 bar boost on a 4 cylinder. It is due to the compression ratio that the rotary is using. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 7, 2005 Share March 7, 2005 I see. but we are talking about NA here. so if rotary runs on NA it should quite reliable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordalfa Neutral Newbie March 8, 2005 Author Share March 8, 2005 IMO. Rotary must run FI. Else cannot make it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 (edited) hmm.. the old RX7 rotary mabye not be good at NA but the new renesis can chunk out near 238bhp near 200+Nm even without FI, isn't it considered good for a 1.3L? Edited March 8, 2005 by En0203 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordalfa Neutral Newbie March 8, 2005 Author Share March 8, 2005 The rotary is not a 1.3L. There is no definition of engine capacity with a rotary. Mazda have to place a displacement rating for LTA to tax the owner. Else we pay no tax? Cannot be right? Nothing is for free with gahment. They will slap you for rotary tax just like diesel tax for taxis. They will get you in any way. 200+Nm is ok for 238bhp. What is the torque curve like? You need to rev till Kingdom Come for the torque to climb. That is the bad thing on the Renesis. Drive slower you will be penalised on bad FC. Drive "spirited" and you get better consumption. Strange but true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 This question you should have asked out resident Panda. He has a Renesis engine RX8. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 The rotary is not a 1.3L Hi, i disagree with u on this point. on normal cylinder engine, u calculate the cc based on the volume in the cylinder. in the rotory, it is the same as the injection volume is 652cc and with 2 rotors it has to be a 652 x 2 or 1304 cc engine. however shape the engine may be, this is the volume for the fuel injection when the rotor open it's compartment to the max, so it has to be a 1.3L. please correct me if i am wrong You need to rev till Kingdom Come for the torque to climb again, i think this is not right, i have seen the renesis torque curve somewhere before, it is very flat. means the 200+Nm is actually available at most of the engine speed. but i could be wrong though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 This question you should have asked out resident Panda i am waiting for him to come in, but he nv come ler he got go meetup one bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 Nope. Panda is reclusive animal eating bamboo shoots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 Panda is reclusive animal eating bamboo shoots then must find him in china ar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie March 9, 2005 Share March 9, 2005 i always tot port and polish will give you more horses, but at the expense of higher fuel consumption. Is it possible then that u can get more horses but better fuel efficiency as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear March 9, 2005 Share March 9, 2005 Hmmm..i thought Port and Polish can only enhance your added on mods like TC or SC. And that if remaining NA and do a port and polish, you are only restoring your engine back to its optimum? With Great Power, Come Great......FUEL CONSUMPTION!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 9, 2005 Share March 9, 2005 i'd say its about optimising the potential lor. if really want good FC, then u have to use real horse to pull. supply grass can already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie March 9, 2005 Share March 9, 2005 hmmmm. TC or SC still want to put PnP ah....hardcore leh. typically i tot pnp is for pple who wan to keep their NA.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie March 9, 2005 Share March 9, 2005 haha... thats a good one bro. problem is, its tuff to find 100 horses and string them up to pull the car.... :) and probably that amount of grass will cost me quite abit as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 9, 2005 Share March 9, 2005 Cool. With 100 horses u have to park in the entire car park. not parking lot. not to mention the amount of droppings to clean up after. ok, back to the NA performance, I'd like to optimise my car too. those area i may want to explore is the exchaust and ECU. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear March 10, 2005 Share March 10, 2005 Eh i also not sure leh...I also just read from what other pple post wan... Think it was from the one of the old birds from honda forum.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...