Happily1986 5th Gear August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 G9 is a good car albeit some bothersome areas. I was sorry to see it to make way for current Altis. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 (edited) yo bro Maddog, you still go to TCS? The moderator did not ban you??kekekeke.... wah you G9 change so many things, most are mod rather then wear & tear leh. mine G9 going 250K km...too damn reliable to sell or scrap....FC and power still maintain the same since day one....my next car may not be as good. Edited August 7, 2009 by Julio369 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gats Neutral Newbie August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 My uncle used to drive G9 corolla. It's fuel consumption was simply unrivalled. When i drove previously,I frequent change gears only at 3.5rpm and i get minimum 600km mileage. Really nice mileage and the engine note was simply superb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maverick79 Neutral Newbie August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 yo bro Maddog, you still go to TCS? The moderator did not ban you??kekekeke.... wah you G9 change so many things, most are mod rather then wear & tear leh. mine G9 going 250K km...too damn reliable to sell or scrap....FC and power still maintain the same since day one....my next car may not be as good. hi julio, mind pm-ing me why u asked him the 2nd qn? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Usually, well designed cars can last for over 10years without need for major maintenance when usual servicing is done. What I was impressed with G9 back in 2001 was its engine, one of the 1st few Toyota models with vvti. Torquey low end, very frugal and its 4 disc brakes really bites well. She may not win a beauty contest, but she delivers reliability that few can match as many are still alive and well on today's ever more conjested road.... then is the altis a well designed car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 errh, the Proton saga is also well designed leh, somemore pioneer batch.... go malaysia can still see many of them alive & kicking. in fact, most car can last more than 10 yrs, just that we are "conditioned" to think our car lifesapan is only 10 yrs...ya our tax system. A car can be repaired, unless serious accident and body alignment out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 8, 2009 Share August 8, 2009 (edited) errh, the Proton saga is also well designed leh, somemore pioneer batch.... go malaysia can still see many of them alive & kicking. in fact, most car can last more than 10 yrs, just that we are "conditioned" to think our car lifesapan is only 10 yrs...ya our tax system. A car can be repaired, unless serious accident and body alignment out. Allow me the clarify my earlier statement: Well-designed (or should I say well-made) vehicles are ones that can last while remaining economical to operate and repair. If Proton Saga, as you said, should be considered in the league of G9 quality, then shouldn't it be the key coup to Proton's reputation. But this, sadly, isn't the case, even after so many years and conducive market of Malaysia. How many of Proton owners can attest to their national product's reliability and quality ? Yes we see many Saga which are alive and kicking and doing very-well. But we do not know those may require major overhaul jobs after 7 years./color] Edited August 8, 2009 by Wishcumstrue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 8, 2009 Share August 8, 2009 errh, the Proton saga is also well designed leh, somemore pioneer batch.... go malaysia can still see many of them alive & kicking. in fact, most car can last more than 10 yrs, just that we are "conditioned" to think our car lifesapan is only 10 yrs...ya our tax system. A car can be repaired, unless serious accident and body alignment out. the proton saga fared badly in many countrie, especially UK. nothing beats a car from japan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear August 8, 2009 Share August 8, 2009 alive and kicking with everything in the grave except one pinkie finger how many of them the "pinkie finger" dun even belong to their original body more than 75% are frankeinsteins of half cuts, quarter cuts, stolen parts if there is a fully legit 100% factory stock saga out there it must be in heaven now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged August 8, 2009 Share August 8, 2009 Ah pek? That is nearly 100K during year 2002. Maybe u are right. Only ah pek can afford that amount. can't even differentiate between affordability and style Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie August 8, 2009 Share August 8, 2009 (edited) what i am coming from is .....if a trash car like proton SAGA can last nearly 2 decades....any brand/ make above them, like japs car...should be twice or triple as good. blame it on our car tax system here....so much sweat & blood money go tax for every car registered and the usage....i think we car owners will retired much poorer than public transport commuters, based on same occupation comparison. (same is public housing) also blame on the easy 10 year loan, zero down, make it less painful initially....but want to sell will get stroke!!! the instalment we pay every month, if put in investment, haiya! 20 years later we have at least half a million dollars??? if you everyday read US or Aussie newspaper on their new car price,i think will vomit blood here. but we problably think must enjoy life first, tomorrow don even know what will happen.... Edited August 8, 2009 by Julio369 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 8, 2009 Share August 8, 2009 what i am coming from is .....if a trash car like proton SAGA can last nearly 2 decades....any brand/ make above them, like japs car...should be twice or triple as good. blame it on our car tax system here....so much sweat & blood money go tax for every car registered and the usage....i think we car owners will retired much poorer than public transport commuters, based on same occupation comparison. (same is public housing) also blame on the easy 10 year loan, zero down, make it less painful initially....but want to sell will get stroke!!! the instalment we pay every month, if put in investment, haiya! 20 years later we have at least half a million dollars??? if you everyday read US or Aussie newspaper on their new car price,i think will vomit blood here. but we problably think must enjoy life first, tomorrow don even know what will happen.... my view is that most cars can last 10 yrs. the reason why most people dun use more than 10 yrs is the road tax surcharge for such old cars. moreover every year got to send for inspection in order to renew road tax. why is the govt not keen on us keeping old cars? the reason is that if we buy new cars, they will earn more from the coe, ARF etc. final conclusion: GOVT WANTS TO MAKE $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 (edited) I'm still holding on to my 2002 G9 which has high PARF rebate(85%) and high COE 30K, and I cant bear to scrap it! ....Many parts have been replaced due to wear & tear cos my milleage is now 235K km and still going strong..... Some of them includes the following, but the list is not exhaustive: (1) Front Lower Arm Bars (2) Full Engine Mounting (3) Front ARB Stabilizer Link Bar (4) Aircon Cooling coil and a/con flushing (5) All 4 wheel bearings (6) Manual Clutch kit & Cover (7) Rear Handbrake horse-shoe brake lining (8) Suspension (Teins Super wgons) (9) Fan Belt and Pulley (10) Light Weight Crank Pulley (11) Exhaust (Simota) PU Ring Holders (12) Maintenance Free Battery (13) Big Brake Kit upgrade with S/S brake hose (14) Brake Fluid flushings & radiator flushing (15) Stainless Steel OWS air-filter (16) Fuel-Filter change every 80k Almost all the above have been professionally serviced by Riverview Auto and that's why my G9 is still maintained in tip-top showroom condition and still having more than sufficient power & good FC of 13-14km/L! apologies for digging up an old thread was thinking of getting a G9 registered in 2003.... just to tide over the next one two yrs n hope for COE drop.... r u still driving your G9? any significant drop in reliability? Edited March 30, 2011 by Raymondism Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 apologies for digging up an old thread was thinking of getting a G9 registered in 2003.... just to tide over the next one two yrs n hope for COE drop.... r u still driving your G9? any significant drop in reliability? Are u still able to find one G9 nowadays? Altis alot but G9 is really rare, those holding on probably will drive till COE expired. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Are u still able to find one G9 nowadays? Altis alot but G9 is really rare, those holding on probably will drive till COE expired. someone is selling 25k for 26 month parf close to 10k am ok to pay the high monthly.. will break even in 7 months Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 25K for 26 mths usage? Abit ex lah, and do you think COE will come down after 26 mths? Add another 10k to your budget and get a 05/06 Altis better i think. At least it gives u 4 yrs to wait for COE to come down. Reliability wise not much diff between Altis and G9. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 (edited) I scrapped or rather exported my 2003 G9 at the 4th year mark, took a loss of $40K depreciation for 4 yrs of driving. It's a good car, but somehow cannot new model withstand temptation There are other choices of many Altis/Latio/old Civic/Sunny at $20K+ flooded in the current market for u to choose. You can even get one at paper+ a little body value from the auction repo cars, coz not many is keen in such old model cars nowdays except used car dealers or those on budget. Can find 2005 Sunny only $20K+, check sgcarmart Edited March 30, 2011 by Amazon777 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...