Wind Noise

Lionheart7004

dun bother. the wind noise may result due to cross turbulence against the geometry of the car's top surface/ side surface, where eddy current are created under negative pressure side and positive wind slicing against it.

the problem is actually excabrated by the think window glazing (abt 3-4mm) supplied by car manufacturers in a "lame" attempt to cut cost & shave weight for ur car. which may explain why older cars tends to hv better sound proof. also take a look at lexus / bmw's glazing n tat may explain a lot more abt luxury cars and budget cars.

Ok i shall not use visor all bros said so.

Just for the interest, i am driving a mondeo mk3. defnitely new. I just wonder why i having the wind noise as i suppose that conti car is suppose to have a better built in this area.

Whereas for the soundproofing, i did the skin and front control paddle area.

i am exploring to the wheel arch too. Can explore.

Basically i just want to get my quality like in my old IS200.

Thanks.

There just no way to detect the source of the problem if the mechanics just use thier eyes , ears and hand to diagnose. For this diagnostic job the mechanics will have to use ultra sonic sound detector to "smell" for the minute leak.

This is how it been done - wind up all the windows, switch on the air-con blower to the hihest possible speed. Lock tight all the doors, and any openings. Allow the blow to go for a few minutes to built up the air pressure inside the car, then use a ultra sonic leak detector to go round all the possible leakage area such as door seals, air con fresh air inlet duct, windscreen seal etc etc. Any slight leak will at once trigger the detector.

Hpe this helps.

U can try to buy those rubber stripes u paste along the circumference of the car where the door closes. 3M got those better quality one at $25 per box to do one door. If cheaper brand about 18 bucks got already.

I also after stick visor, the wind noise is audible. Before that, very quiet. I suppose its coming in through the vibration of the window glass. Bcos I go listen the circumference of the door very quiet except the top part near the window visor. But I cannot live without window visor when raining and waiting for my VC. I will be stuffed to death if never on Air COn.

Folks,

My car always has wind noise when hitting aorund 80-90km/h.

What is the best way to fight Wind Noise.

i have sound proof the door liao but it is not improving.

Wad is ur ride?

Edited by Thug

actually not too chim..

it merely means that there r 3 problems/ factors

1/ the car shape.

2/ direction of the wind passing over ur car.

3/ the glass thickness being not thick. it can only shave 12decibel off noise.

all problems/ factors r beyond soundproofing, in short only 1 cure, buy a lexus.

Folks,

My car always has wind noise when hitting aorund 80-90km/h.

What is the best way to fight Wind Noise.

i have sound proof the door liao but it is not improving.

Wind noise is always there, even if you drive a Ferrari. When it becomes loud enough depends on your car aerodynamic design. Noise also comes from the side mirror. Thats why sports cars uses tear drop design to reduce the noise. If your side mirror has a square and flat contour, it probably is the cause. Change it.