Blue2 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 yup.Steelmate could be cheaper but quality still in doubts... but have make up my mind for Pioneer... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 thanks bro for the info. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 I think alpine and kenwood might fit the bill but not really sure. You can google and check out their Sub and see the spec. Not too sure if the pioneer one can do anot. You can check it out also. Cheers audiobahn active sub produces very good bass Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 Yup, pioneer is tried and tested. I have tat in my ride as well.. but in my research last time, steelmate is also good and if you do not space, that would be the best compromise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 have not really tried that but if got sample hor, maybe we can sit in and listen 1st.. U using that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 check wif Audioedge, they say it can be fitted below my seat... Now just hope that it does.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 ok.. good.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 Pioneer is better - have experience with both and installed Pioneer in the end! hi, any idea where can find TS-SW124D at good price? can't seems to find any discussion about TS-SW124D here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 Sorry, no experience - can try calling up some installers to ask for price quotes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 (edited) Hi, been there done that... Just my few cents worth. The choice is still yours. Personally, I'd rather not have any subwoofer than to have an active sub. Active subs, being small in size, are never meant to produce the sub-range effectively (<63Hz). It'll probably do well in giving you added punch (80-100Hz). For that matter, if you do have a decent component fronts, and with proper sound-proofing, you can achieve that already. In fact, some components go as low as <40Hz. Another point I realised is that if you place your active sub under your seat, you will be "disorientated" as "bass" is often hitting your backside. You'd probably lose direction of your bass. People usually Low Pass their subs to below 63Hz, so that it is not directional. That's why can place all the way behind in the boot. Directional bass should only come from your front components, so that the overall integrity of your soundstage is maintained. You may have space constraints, as I can understand...So I feel that you'll do better without the Active sub. Spend the money on other things like soundproofing to bring out your bass instead...cheers. Edited June 5, 2006 by Kermit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 What Kermit has said is partially true For a start, if one has a passive set-up any sub w/r active or passive would help to fill up the bass a little. But if one advances more into ICE, a properly powered passive sub is a must - you would never know what you are missing until you install a proper sub-woofer into your system. For a proper setup, the mid-bass would have to go to around 50hz, and the low-pass filter of the sub would have to be set approx. from 45 - 50 hz so that the sub is non-directional, and cannot be localized. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 agree...u only start to get irritated when u advance into ICE...damn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zambik 2nd Gear June 6, 2006 Share June 6, 2006 Agreed, didn't know passive sub and active sub had so much difference until I progressed more into ICE. Now I'm very irritated with my active sub. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 6, 2006 Share June 6, 2006 hi Bro, any idea wats the diff in fixing the active sub below the seat and at the car boot... me thing of fixing it soon but if cant place the pioneer active sub below the seat.... but dun 1 the bass/sound to be partially block block by the car seats if place a the car boot. Currentlt have about 3 inches of space below my seat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 6, 2006 Share June 6, 2006 Not too sure about this.. Maybe you shd visit the shop and let the professional advise u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 6, 2006 Share June 6, 2006 yup... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 6, 2006 Share June 6, 2006 Do let me know the outcome hor. I'm keen to know also, esp if I were to change my hatchback to a sedan in future Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear June 6, 2006 Share June 6, 2006 no problem bro... if still driving my ex-hatchback then no problem ah... put behind or below oso not much diff... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...