Miketow Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Sony. The BassLink is significantly smaller then the equivalent 10" Basstube. There are no localized reviews for the BassLink b/c its not that popular in SG, but ill crank out a mini review for you. My BassLink Review I personally aquired a BassLINK about 2 months ago - expect it to cost between S$580 - S$670 at today's prices. At that price level, ask any ICE enthuasiast and they will surely tell you to spend it on a passive sub/amp combo. I wasnt ready to spend that amount to get a middle of the road sub/amp combo and still be tempted to blow even more cash on upgrades. I read every review on the web and went with my guts. Spend that money and get the best active sub in the market, at least that is assured. When it was installed - the first thing you notice is that it is DAMN SMALL and your first thought is "there is no way im going to get any real bass from that!". Its only about 80% the size of a regular 10inch woofer with a box and, mind you, at that small size, it also includes/integrates the 200W Amp, Cooler Fins, Active Servos and all kinds of high tech stuff. If your installer is good (like mine), he will also integrate the remote controller for the Bass level in a discrete but accessible place and tune the whole thing "Sui Sui" for you. Adjust your basslevel to the middle and pop in your favourite Nelly or 50Cent CD - The first thing you will surely notice is that the BASS is DEEP & TIGHT - never boomy - like cheaper setups With Chill Out or R&B music, the bass is textured, smooth but still strong. The BassLink not for punchy bass, so if you like that, go for the bass tubes or,if you want bass that will rattle your boot- get a few 12 inch subs and some monoblocks. In short, buy the Infinity Basslink if you want alot of technology in a small sleek package that is able to crank out big, well defined "in-cabin" bass that defies its size ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Mike, That is one assuring "localised" review which I have got and frankly I'm very tempted... esp your parting lines:"buy the Infinity Basslink if you want alot of technology in a small sleek package that is able to crank out big, well defined "in-cabin" bass that defies its size" May I know which shop you went to? I'm now looking deep into infinity's website and comparing the Basslink II (seems to have room for expansion but cost 700 over), Basslink X (which you have) and Basslink... Have not really considered passive setup coz that's too complicated for a newbie like me.. moreover, space is a concern for my Hatch.. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Think is Steelmate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rairai Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Hi Sony, Just finished installing component speakers (with 2 layer SP) at Sin Kit Overall, good buying experienced. This is my first time installing I.C.E and definitely won't be my last I will be going there for my active sub and amps slowly but surely. Personally, after scouting around for a good shop (I'm living in Bukit Panjang), decided that Toa Payoh Lor 8 shop is still my preferred choice, thou I have to drive all the way there Still deciding on steelmate or pioneer active sub Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 ahhh.. me stay near Bt Panjang also... My component and SP for the car is quite ok liao... one of my friend driving the same car did massive SP but gain is not so drastic... so he advise that I don't have to do SP.. anyway, I'm "nuts" with ICE, so will not appreciate all these. For the active sub, I'm narrowing down to the Pioneer, bazooka and Basslink. Steelmate should be quite value for money as well... You can look at the blaupunkt Velocity as well since it's almost the same price as the pioneer. Actually all these boils down to what sort of expansion you want lor. For my friend, he can control his active sub thru his DSP, thus do not need to have the remote wired to his cabin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Bro, did u see my pm? If u r who i think is, how's ur new car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Thanks for the enlightenment.... Seems like it's back to the research phrase liao.. Now I have to look at the pioneer, bazooka, basslink and maybe the baulpunk velocity. I think my budget is set to around $550 with installation... As for the type of bass I want.. I really have no idea what I want also.. Cheers Hmm, then its best to listen to it. For Blaupunkt, the bass is not really refine for the bass box. Its however very "loud". Pioneer, no idea. I've used Bazooka for 2 of my rides. Never a let down. One of my friend uses Basslink. Pretty ok too. You should then decide to either go for Active, or passive sub. Both cost around there, active easier to install. Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Thanks... Now looking out for price liao.. progress from yesterday nite to now have been good. Just got some pricing and Sin Kit seems to offer the best value but they only have Pioneer, don't have Basslink II and need to place order for Bazooka (which is fairly large). Chuan Sing's lady is very helpful even over the phone... Price is slightly higher but I think quality is there.. Sin kit shouldn't be too far off either... i'm starting to understand a bit on active sub liao.. Let me digest that and move on to passive sub and Amp... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 If u are interested in listening to the Pioneer active sub - I have access to a car with it installed. If u want to listen to a passive sub-woofer set-up, can also try it out in my ride. Join us for the meetup tomorrow! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Thanks.. will try to make it... but no promise as I got meeting line up in the evening.. Cheers and thanks for the invite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Take note that the meetup usually starts around 9.30 plus pm and lasts till around midnite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Wah... so late.. ok.. will try to make it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Start about 9.30pm & end about ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 if u drive the RX8, means u wont be coming down with ur estima, then i cannot see ur xxx.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 I take photo of my XXX then u can see liao lor!!! Too many papers liao isit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 hahaha.. i got picture liao.. the new XXX even more steam.. hahaha.. i only 2 papers, wanna die liao.. still got 6 papers left.. maybe tmr i drop by for awhile.. hahaha.. 2 weeks never see u guys, cold turkey liao.. hahaha.. any new members? heheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rairai Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 meme Most probably will drop by for a while to see your ride as well as others... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 our setups all very normal one.. not like other ICE meetup where pple boot all like duno wat like that.. heheh.. so don expect too much wow for looks.. heheh.. but do listen out to what some of the guys say.. can learn a lot.. heh.. see u tmr lah.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...