Lightspeed Clutched May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 The Tour is so old, technology old, design old... They should look at the money involved in the long run, nobody would want to buy an old car when they know the new one is out long ago, knowing the market, the potential customers will just buy other makes which are so much newer and come better equipped. If you're comparing the Latio vs the Tour, which do you think is a better buy, looking at the equipment level, the gadgetry that comes with the Latio... Upper management in CA should be shot... You should have come to the meet the club had on Sat with the CA sales and marketing team and listen to what they had to say ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kahlid Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 Yep, as much as I wanted the new Octavia, someone up in CA just thought otherwise. I had wanted to arrange a parallel import of the new Octavia, but looking at the cost, logistical and maintemamce matters, I just gave up as it ain't worth it. Looks like we just have to wait for them to bring in the new Octavia in 2006, by then, the car would be 2-3 years old since launched, and the whole vicious cycle of importing old technology repeats itself again. What was the key discussion point with CA management on last Sat, tell me about it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 (edited) Brand awareness, and how present owners and the club can help them to achieve this so as to get better sales figures? The direction that CA is headed, what their plans for the future of the brand in SG... etc. Also feedback and complaints from the club and of 'cos some stories and talk cxxk session ....refreshment was served and it ended with a test drive of the Superb 2.5TDI Manual Edited May 3, 2005 by Lightspeed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 Been driving my Octavia classic for 4 years now. (Bought new from JTA, ex Skoda agent). Price then was 78k, depreciation about 7k per year. Now should be lower. Built quality of Skoda is great, many can attest to that. I haven't had any major problems in these 4 years, (done 108,000 km so far), except Servo recommend I change suspension 2 months ago and I changed it. Part of wear and tear, I guess. One major problem experienced by others here is the power windows failure. Mine got no problems as the 2 rear windows are manual!!! I initially plan to change car last month, looking at the low low price of cars now. However, changed my mind to keep my car for 2 more years after numerous showroom visits and test drives, ie. may change car in year 6. I considered Vios, Sunny, Corolla, (amazing the price they are selling at now!) but couldn't as I needed the space that Octy offered. Had to fetch clients sometimes, go Ikea sometimes, and more importantly, go golfing anytime!! Next are the Cefiro, Camry, Passat, Superb etc. Very very tempted, but I couldn't stand camry interior wood panel, couldn't stand superb noisy engine (feels like driving a taxi) and interior too similar to my current Octy, and don't like cefiro fuel consumption. (I can foresee $2/litre petrol in the near future). Went to see A4, Saab 93, but tell myself, why hurt my pocket now?? Looking for trouble? So, I'm stuck with my humble workhorse for another 2 years, but I'm not complaining as Octy is really a great car. engine of Superb is noisy? ? Like taxi? hmmmm.......U mean it sounds like diesel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudemobile Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 Hi all, Just trying to make an informed decision here, in terms of built quality, depreciations, car problems, etc.... How long will you keep your Octavia and why. And what do you expect or have experienced mechanical/electrical/electronics failure and when. Please share which year and model of Octavia. Appreciate your feedback. Ivan Only time I will change my Octy is when something better for the same price is available. i.e. Same road handling, same saftey features, same build quality..... I've had mine for almost 2 yrs now and still brings a smile to my face when I drive my car..... Only thing better in my areas of concern is a expensive conti car, which I can't afford right now. Fuel comsuption of 11km/l for my manual is very good for a conti car with all it's handling attributes. Beside my manual 1.6 can still hold it's own against taxi's at traffic lights (pickup against uncle almost redlining his 3l diesel engine) and hit a top speed of 190km/h with 500rpm before the redline. I'm a passionate driver short of hitting the tracks (cos I know the wear and tear caused by regular Pasir Gudang visits). So for me the best car with my financial status is a Octy. I wish they had a rear-wheel drive version.... .miss the tail spins i used to do with my '72 celica... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudemobile Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 I just found out that the new Octy's will not have the DSG for petrol versions...... damn..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 Hi, I am having a Classic Dec 2002 which I have been driving since then. Safety was the main reason of taking this Mid sized car, warranty ended recently, hence these questions. Ivan Is that the 166? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 I was actualli thinking...if CA is so concern about the brand awareness n owners' gripe, why doesnt the new sales manager present himself tat day?...I heard it's very difficult to talk to him or have an "audience" with this new guy..the former SM was always around n more approachable. jus my 0.02cts for thought. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 No idea also... hardly meet them.... bad experience liao LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched May 4, 2005 Author Share May 4, 2005 Hi, It is the 164. I had 2 Alfa 164 TS in successions for a period of 8 years before I took up the Octavia. Surprisingly (to me), I have actually found the Octavia's built quality, far from ideal (somehow I know I am going to get hit for this comment). Ivan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie May 4, 2005 Share May 4, 2005 How long have you got the Octy? Why not go back to Alfa? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched May 5, 2005 Author Share May 5, 2005 (edited) Hi Cool_Jazz, I have gotten my Octavia in Dec 2002, when I have returned from China to take up a new role in Singapore; Octavia was within company's budget and I have a dislike for Japanese (never did own a single one out of the 22 cars)..................... Out the cars available then, only CA can deliver within shortest time. And the choices then are not much, and the Octavia is best of the lots. Would love to own an Alfa, but then the 156 does not feel like the usual Alfa I have driven (164s, 75,33, Spider,GTV), a little more like the Nintendo, no feel for the road. I would like a 166 but at the present moment, it is a little steep, will look for a second hand one(hopefully, only 2 or 3 around). You sounds like an Alfa lover. Ivan Edited May 5, 2005 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie May 5, 2005 Share May 5, 2005 Hey.... don't say nintendo lah. Nintendo, Play Station also follow F1 wah. That's why these game consols have paddles behind the steering wheel. I am an Alfisti in a 156 2.0TS selespeed (generation 3). It was a tough decision between the 156 and the Honda Euro-R (CL7). But in the end, I got the 156 . It was a case of: A car capable of very good acceleration (7.0 sec) with good fun vs A really FUN car that never fails to put a grin on my face albeit with acceptable acceleration (8.8 sec) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched May 6, 2005 Author Share May 6, 2005 Hi, Will shift column if there is a huge portest. Just wondering, how long have you been driving this 156. Am looking for a 156, any Alfatist are letting go their 156. Somehow, I feel there are more fraternaty within the Alfa group than other makes. Ivan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moeykf Neutral Newbie May 6, 2005 Share May 6, 2005 bro, any idea got new version of superb coming to sg? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched May 6, 2005 Share May 6, 2005 One thing at a time bro..one thing at a time... new Octy II dont even know will make it here or not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moeykf Neutral Newbie May 6, 2005 Share May 6, 2005 k thx bro. cos thought of changing car soon....dun wait buy liao superb then new model come in less than half a year. jus like how i bought my octavia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched May 6, 2005 Share May 6, 2005 Superb got new model meh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...