Freshmaker Neutral Newbie May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 hi guys, i am thinking of supercharging my 2003 honda civic. any idea where can i get it done? im thinking of JRSC and roughly, the total damage im looking at? what else need to be installed? intercooler? ?? also, whats the complication of installing? if kena caught, whats the penalty?? thanks... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 penalty same as exhaust mod.. $500 total cost for supercharging.. prepare about $4~8k depending on brand/make/performance intercooler is not a must for superchargers as turbines are cooler.. but of course.. cooler air gives performance gains.. u'll also need a profession tuner to remap your ecu.. quite hard to supercharge a vtec.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 intercooler is not a mus unless u r on high boast for supercharger... u need to remap ur ecu or get piggyback wif boast control... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 Jackson Racing u can try Mcwell...they might be able to help u import... btw,u also need to change ur timing belt.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 (edited) You sure you don't want to turbocharge??? Its a lot easier and cheaper. Supercharging means you need another pulley and mechanics to engage and disengage the SC as well as to drive the supercharger while turbocharging is as simple as changing the exhasut system and intake system and placing the turbo somewhere inbetween. As for intercooling, neither your turbocharger nor supercharger need it. Its your engine that needs it. Hot air (and compressing air in both the SC and TC is hot, its just that most SC's don't boost as much as TC's) increases the likelyhood of your engine knocking/pinging/pinking and thats why you need an intercooler to cool the air down.If you're planning on running low boost then its fine. Anyway as most NA engines are not designed to take any compression much higer than stock, you will prolly need to get a decompression plate (i.e. super thick metal headgasket :p). As long as you don't boost too much, the internals should be able to take it. You clutch however cant. Honda clutches are notorious for dieing on boost. Try and exedy heavy duty or ORC hypersingle clutch kit. Oh btw, I hope your brakes can take it (if not need to upgrade to larger calipers and rotors), and I'm sure your insurance will not be valid anymore. Its not going to be cheap... Edit: I forgot... you might need larger injectors, fuel pump and definately a retune. I would suggest you get all engine and fueling bits done at the same time then it will save you heaps on retune costs. Edited May 27, 2005 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 there r pros n cons between TC n SC.... TC can hav higher boost.... while for the SC,u get the power right wen u step on the gas.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 depends on the car... in this application he's retrofitting an TC or SC to a NA car. Boost wise, he can't go very high unless he wants to blow his engine. With a small turbo the boost will come on fairly early and quickly with minimal lag. In addition he will have to make mechanical changes to the pulley and belt system to fit a SC while none whatsoever with a TC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freshmaker Neutral Newbie May 27, 2005 Author Share May 27, 2005 hi elf, the reason im considering SC is because all along i thought SC is cheaper and easier to do up than TC. do u know where can i TC my ride? i believe TC-ing a car will cost a lot.. then also i need to upgrade suspension and brakes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freshmaker Neutral Newbie May 27, 2005 Author Share May 27, 2005 if there anything below TC and SC? tbh i dun really need the power of tc/sc. i just need some power for a lil' thrilling pick up and sometimes overtaking, and the basic mods like exhaust, intake, doesn't give me that. whats a decompression plate btw? i am not good in driving a car with racing clutch. theres this feeling that im gonna stall the car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 TC and SC are 2 different ways of achieveing the same thing. Just that SC will be more exp due to changing the pulley system (it might be as simple as changing one pulley to accomodate more belts but you'll need a custom kit). Nah go for the best clutch disc (it affects only the grip between the flywheel and the clutch disc itself) you can get, but get the clutch plate that suits your driving style. Whats power if you can't get it to the wheels? Decompression plates are usually thick multi-later metal headgaskets use to increase the distance between the head and the block so piston compression is less. Its done to prevent pinging as well. If you can put up with a rough idle, have you thought of stage 1 race cams (e.g. Tomei Poncam or the HKS stage 1 kit)??? its kinda like a permanantly on VTEC. That and reconditioning you head (including porting and polishing) will not only make you car run better, you'll find that you'll have more power (and better economy if its just a recond/rebuild on its own.) If you have a lil more $$$ then you can get a stroker kit to increase your displacement. The good thing abt this track is that all the mods are inside the engine and its very unlikely that u will kena from LTA. Pair the engine mods with an Apexi Power Intake airfilter (put it in a custom heatshield box with CAI) and a 2 1/2 inch exhaust system and you should be on your way pretty quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ltcy Clutched May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 penalty same as exhaust mod.. $500 total cost for supercharging.. prepare about $4~8k depending on brand/make/performance intercooler is not a must for superchargers as turbines are cooler.. but of course.. cooler air gives performance gains.. u'll also need a profession tuner to remap your ecu.. quite hard to supercharge a vtec.. Actually turbo-charge is having the same penalty as exhaust mod = $500 fine, and remove of turbo and send for inspection. You will have 1 month to do all this. For Super-charge, God bless you... Penalty = Car confiscate because it's considering changing of engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 whoa.. sc is that serious ya... along i thought tc has a heavier fine... thks for the info.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched May 27, 2005 Share May 27, 2005 supercharge = change of engine? cannot be lar.. actually.. supercharging is much easier than turbocharging.. no need to change gasket/oil cooler/intercooler/ and stuff.. just that the equipment is more expensive.. shud be considered illegal exhaust mod too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 he is right SC considered changing engine = car impounded Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 how can it be engine mod as the SC is part of the air intake manifold or system......LTA rule is too strict, liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ltcy Clutched May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 Really.... This is the really you always hear of ppl turbocharging their cars, but very seldom there are ppl supercharging their rides instead. If both penalties are the same, I will not mind spend a bit more to SC instead of TC, since SC is so much easier and faster. It will make the money worth spend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 28, 2005 Share May 28, 2005 (edited) Like i said, Sc involves changeing the pulley system of the engine (and intake). Thats why its more exp than TC. (Not to mention harder). White TC is mod the intake and exhaust. Contraty to popular belief, the other changes (e.g. intercooler, gaskets) you will need to make are the same regardless of TC or SC. 4psi or boost is 4 psi of boost regardless of whether the SC or TC makes it. Edited May 28, 2005 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freshmaker Neutral Newbie May 28, 2005 Author Share May 28, 2005 hi, didnt know that so much work is to be done. guess total damage would be around 10k, add another 2-3k for suspension and brakes. and maybe another 3k for a ECU and gauges to monitor everything. dun think it is very worth it. somemore mod the engine, next time sure got many problems arise, and wanna sell car also hard, rite? somemore i cannot stand rough idling. like the car gonna stall anytime. hate the feeling. looks like i should just drive this damn thing for another couple of yrs then upgrade to a better car instead. btw, elf, u know anything about air charger? what is it? any good gains? like i said, i dun need to be very fast. but a bit of surge in pick up to overtake is good, hehe. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...