Carmodz Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 hey bros, jus to share and clarify. I decided to pump air after collecting the car more than 2 months ago. ok fair enough, pressure was lower than recommended level of 33 PSI or 230kn/m2. Anyway I overinflated it slightly to 34PSI. Woah, big difference in pick up! Of cos, ride was marginally bumpier I went back again and pumped in more, up it to 35PSI. Woah...this time steering wheel was much lighter (easier to drive) pick up wise...still the same as when it was at 34PSI. My question is, inflating it by 2 more PSI above the recommended poundage, is it bad? The tire wont blow out rite? I think i should down it to 34 again..any opinions? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 A little bit over inflated is OK. Just don't go too close to the maximum pressure stated on the tyre itself. I understand that the review for tyres testing did those tests at 36 PSI. At that pressure they did those conering test, dry braking test, wet braking test, etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kax2 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 i think it's advised to pump 5-10% more than recommended level for new tyres but not for old ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Author Share June 11, 2005 ooh ic ic..so 35 is still safe okie. But 36pSI, for all types of tires?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 Not so sure......saw that in the Stamford Tyre's catalogue for Falken & Continental tyres......they tested their tyres @ 36 PSI and came out with the verdict on how each type of tyre performed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 over-inflating...the middle threading will worn faster.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 hey bros, jus to share and clarify. I decided to pump air after collecting the car more than 2 months ago. ok fair enough, pressure was lower than recommended level of 33 PSI or 230kn/m2. Anyway I overinflated it slightly to 34PSI. Woah, big difference in pick up! Of cos, ride was marginally bumpier I went back again and pumped in more, up it to 35PSI. Woah...this time steering wheel was much lighter (easier to drive) pick up wise...still the same as when it was at 34PSI. My question is, inflating it by 2 more PSI above the recommended poundage, is it bad? The tire wont blow out rite? I think i should down it to 34 again..any opinions? Thanks tyres can take up to 60+ psi no problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Author Share June 11, 2005 wah!!! THAT FIERCE AH!!! Siah lah...i was worried when i saw the tires inflating and getting higher...side wall less bulge..kept praying don explode infront of me...i want my ear drums working! haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Author Share June 11, 2005 hmm....yah ah, makes sense..ok, wont inflate it that much then! Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 do it only when the tyres r cooler and new but not to older tyres. i did hv a case of dunlop le manz blown off during the highway, car nearly skid. 80% of belt strip off and tore the back fender. cfm is overpressure. so, whatever i said, do it at ur own risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 thats serious man...could have your life lost! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 I've read reviews on Dunlop tyres and some have reported the problems of tyres blowing out. My Ventus K104 all pumped at 41 psi. Maximum stated on tyre is 51 psi. Steering felt more responsive and pickup is better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Author Share June 11, 2005 41PSI? but wats ur recommended psi? as per sticker by the drivers door. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Author Share June 11, 2005 thats not fierce...thats violent! wah!! BLOW OUT AH?! goodness, wat speed were u doing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 I pumped 250 for all 4 tyres.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie June 11, 2005 Author Share June 11, 2005 all 4? I thought the back should be abt 2 psi less than front? By having all four the same, wat are the cons? By the way, wats the recommended tire pressure for urs? also 33psi? Wah! 250 = 37 PSI leh!! Not over pressured meh? Like really high lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikey Clutched June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 same same 250 kpa for all tyres. Max is 300 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 11, 2005 Share June 11, 2005 the recommended psi is for FACTORY fit tyres and size, ie oem however sometimes they downsize eg 16 to 15 inch locally to cut cost, or use different tyre from wat is fitted at factory, thus it no longer holds true (the see the side sticker), its only a rough guide best way is to pump high psi (to seat beads), then drop to 40, since mostly tyres run 34-36 comfortably, then slowly adjust to ur prefered softness, but take note all measurement/adjustment must be at cold temp ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...