Just changed COne air filter

Crewz14

Hi dear chevvvy owners

As per subject, changed my air filter all thanks to Encik.

I think everyone should change. Why? Because the pick up will definitely improve.

It is my first Mod so very happy and satisfied with the results. Did not know can really feel so much difference. SOmemore the sound from the engine very shiok !!!!

Looking into more mods for the future so my poor chevvy can go faster and faster.(Need for speed). Now i know why Yeoman like pass me so easily at Loyang some months back. My goal is to make my car beat or at least be on par with those JB Protons. Wa.. those JB protons fully moded cars are really damn FAST !!!

Anyone want to organize friendly pick-up race so as to see the difference with our cars and trade some tips so as to improve the acceleration of our cars?

JOE

My oil analysis tells me I should not. In fact everyone who has done oil analysis in Singapore will know we should not. Or else, you got to change your oil every 5k.

Yeah it breathes better but look out for the engine wear from dirt. It is not a speed machine, you know. No we do not encourage drag races here but in PG, it is OK. Perhaps you might want to join the Chevy guys on 2 Jul for the PG nitesprint.

Edited by Genie47

If you wanna race then change to use the filter. The constant high revvs makes the cone filter very beneficial but for daily driving, cone filter sucks in more dirt. Oil will become black very easily.

Different mentality. I mod my car like i mod my bike and mountain bike. This is how i play with my wheels. THe feeling of making your ride faster and faster just captures me. I want to take care of all my wheels too. However, somethings are worth the sacrifice.

As for the engine oil part, all the cars i owned before (Nissan, Lancer and Suzuki) each year i only change engine oil once.(Every lao Jiao driver/mechanic will tell you for a run-in engine, once a year oil change is good enough). Engine oil with become dirty no matter what kind of filter one uses. I go for regular oil change at Starauto only so as not to void the car warranty only.

Thanks for the advice though. Its always good to have more opinions on modifications. Maybe

you can tell me what kind of mods you have done too??

JOE [sly]

Only resonator removal. Other than that nothing. Car gets me 13km/L even with aggressive driving.

The difference between a car and a mountain bike is the depreciation. I gone through your mod phase except that it went all the way to turbocharging. I now see with open eyes. Mod NA car is a hopeless exercise with all these fitments. You must be prepared to pay bigger bucks for P&P, engine balancing, ECU remap, the list goes on. In the end only adds maybe 15 more HP? That is after $3000-$5000?

Want to play with car mods, should have gotten a COE EG or EK. Honda engines give you more possibilities in terms of moddability and returns in the NA department.

For better performance, there is only forced induction or displacement upgrade, nothing else.

[reply]

Looking into more mods for the future so my poor chevvy can go faster and faster.(Need for speed). Now i know why Yeoman like pass me so easily at Loyang some months back. My goal is to make my car beat or at least be on par with those JB Protons. Wa.. those JB protons fully moded cars are really damn FAST !!!

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif........bro, dun like tht say leh....wait ppl jio mi go run leh....tongue.giftongue.gifsly.gifsweatdrop.gif

kekeke....

Maybe due to my decal mod lor....each decal add 5 bhp to my car rolleyes.gifrolleyes.gifrolleyes.gif....OMG i got ard 7....so faster lor...laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

thanks bro crew14 for the good report , not every body like you when u use something there is aim on it . cheers on when the cable is here will call you .

That mechanic ought to write a written statement as a guarantee. Can sue for money you know? sly.gif

If the car covers less than 15k a year, I can understand. 1yr change once if running 40k km a year? Definitely suicide! Like that might as well pour in sand into the crankcase.

more pick up? i beg to differ.

i am using the "cone" filter as well. when moving off from stationary and with aircon on, i find the initial pick up very slow and sluggish. only when rpm rises above 2500 then you feel a sudden power surge couple with engine roar... waste petrol i my opinion.

at high rpm, the cone suddenly allows the engine to breath easier and therefore more good to chiong.

so depending on one's driving style, the cone filter may not suits everyone.

with paper filter (original), pick up is more even

Which mechanic will write a statement for you ?? If you can find one let me know. I sure frequent that "qia pang". Make sure they write down everything they said. This kind of things is through experience.. Anyway, my mechanics all in JB. And my qia pang in JB also. Opened by my aunt. ANyone need any lobang in JB can maybe msg me to introduce.. [sly]

JOE