Cyclone II

Kelpie

what i see is that it look exactly the same....but any one know how to differentiate between original and not original one?

When Cyclone first came out many years back, a copycat soon followed. Named Hurricane (I think). Cyclone was brass & the other was silver in colour.

[replyYou may need up to 4 of them depending on car make/type to be effective. To achieve the base effect, minimum 2 is required, which are to be deployed between the inlet/outlet.

Regards,[/reply]

Mine is carb car, so only need 1 to b installed as close to the carb as possible.

For injected engines, I just cant see the difference of putting more than 1. Only the one nearest to the injectors cud make any difference. But if the injector supplies fuel directly into the combustion chamber, I don't think it will help at all. The swirling air effect wud have been lost by then.

The design of the valves & head wud have it's own swirl effect in the chamber.

If that is the case, Surbo will not be effective as well. Pardon my ignorance, what is a carb car?

Regards,

Just to update, something wierd....i have removed my CAI ...fine ...now i have a surbo snout pointing toward the front of the car ...so a short RAM kinda intake ....i did mention that the pickup improved ...so scrap the CAI ....then something wierd ....my usual consumption for the past 2 yrs has been between 10-11km/l ...with that CAI removed and i have just done up my 1st tank and my consumption efficiency increased to 13.8km/l ....walaoeh ..what's happening .....i used to run with such config before and still 10-11km/l ...anyways ...it's a great sign!!!

I think so....didnt change driving style and route a bit... i am using single....i am a little worried tho with such a drastic change....same petrol and RON as well.... maybe FI tio tat ? hahah

Sorry I can't comment about Surbo as I have never seen it & don't know how it works.

Carb means carburettor as opposed to fuel injection.

continue to keep us posted...what is your ride? your's manual or auto ride? when did you install surbo? need to make appointment?

Ya lor as Dennisk has mentioned, let us know the subsequent refill whether it maintains that way. If so, I will go for Surbo liao!

Regards,

hi..

I do hav 1. use oni 1 mth. stil new. got spare cos fix cone filter n obstruction. So got spare. Can cal me if u intersted. 9746 2634 (des)

If unsure of direction of twist for surbo or cyclone, the best config is surbo before filter box and cyclone is after.......if u r going for both together. [nod]

Surbo before the filter, when air passes through the filter, it'll all be straight again. No more "surbo'ing" effect, whatever it is.

If surbo is asking their customers to do this, it'll be unethical, since it is like putting an orange in front of your AC to make it cooler.

Ya, it does sound illogical. But could there be more fiuld dynamic theory involved that we do not know which is behind the working principle of the Surbo? Got a friend who uses it and feedback about its "feel-able" improvement.

If it is after the filter, there "may" be some effect. Before the filter, it is impossible to cause any kind of difference in air flow.

The problem is that the "effect" will not propagate into the engine if it is outside the filter.

Maybe you are right. But I wouldn't comment base on groundless speculation. I have studied basic fuild dynamic and realised that it isn't just simple logic.

I know Mazda has this tumbling technology inside the intake manifold, which cause air to flow very accurately into the center of the cylinder, causing some good tumble dynamics. However, note that it is extremely localized and high precision technology.

In manufacturing and design, we always emphasize the need for robustness in the designs we do. Who know what natural attributes are involved when they designed the surbo or cyclone, might be through trial and error that they are able to produce something that boast performance which they themselve might not be able to explain it.

End of the day is, if you tried it and it doesn't work for you, do comment your findings. But if you can't support your theory by any backing of testing results or theory, but only uses layman understanding of how air is supposed to flow, then isn't your assumption very question-able?

People uses to think that earth is flat, cause that is what they see. Until someone comes around and prove them wrong. So everything is possible until proven otherwise. [idea]