Orchard Turtle Car on 7/Dec/12

Turtlekar

This happen about couple of hours ago while I was wondering at orchard....vios t-bone daihatsu...daihatsu flip....overhear the reporting, woman driver claim she was on the right of way...traffic go green, she chiong out liao...then say the daihatsu beating red light so horsay liao....

post-1495-1354895567_thumb.jpg

post-1495-1354895537_thumb.jpg

so fast........that time alot of photographers i guess....the white car also super popular liao...alot of tourists taking pic of the car

think this is going to be totaled liao...don't think it can be repaired.....

Yah, only in Singapore context, where insurance companies are greedy and car workshops are either incompetent or plain lazy.

Have seen worse in Malaysia and Thailand. The cars like this can be repaired and look like new again.

The car got overturned is a terios? [:/] If yes then i find this car seems like not very stable lo, although it is a 4wd. I saw before one terios also overturned at a junction many months back.

Yah, only in Singapore context, where insurance companies are greedy and car workshops are either incompetent or plain lazy.

Have seen worse in Malaysia and Thailand. The cars like this can be repaired and look like new again.

So you are saying are if the chassis is compromise we should just ignore and repair to look like new again??

After you watch the clip before you may change your mind..

If not, good luck to you then...

think this is going to be totaled liao...don't think it can be repaired.....

You see our players no up. Repaired already will be advertised as low mileage, accident free, well taken care, inspection graded "A". If strike lottery get a certain heshe seller, will even be ex-owner's 5th car.

Eh which part of Orchard...came from there just now...picked up wifey at regent hotel and dropped off her friends down over doby gaut MRT before heading home to Woodlands but never see any accident...but jam and traffic was slow even at late hour..

So you are saying are if the chassis is compromise we should just ignore and repair to look like new again??

After you watch the clip before you may change your mind..

If not, good luck to you then...

I know some workshops in Thailand and Malaysia have machines to repair (pull) the car chassis. My relative's Peugeot 405 in Thailand has been through that process before. So far so good leh... It's been ~ 15 years after the repair (accident happen in 1997), the car still drives okay. In term of heads-on collision, dun think they have intention to test it. [laugh]

Actually, it all depends on the mindset of the owner/buyer. Like me, when I buy a car, safety (as in the no of air bags, crash-test rating) is the least of my concern mainly because I dun intend to crash my car. Maybe I am the kind of guy who believes in fate. If it's meant to happen, it will happen; no matter how hard you try to prevent it.

Edited by C-K

The car got overturned is a terios? [:/] If yes then i find this car seems like not very stable lo, although it is a 4wd. I saw before one terios also overturned at a junction many months back.

High CG and the angle are factors that cause the car to turtle be it 2wheel or 4 wheel. Yday I also saw a toyota wish taxi flip to the side at teck whye

U think car repair like Lego bricks? Pull out and snap back?

I agree that our insurance companies are greedy but not with your statement of WS unable to repair/plain lazy.

For example, this Car being totaled cost usd 3k used in other countries, y spend $20k to repair?

In another example, brand new car totaled would be one for one exchange.

Insurance company would repair at 30k to save 150k but the car wouldnt ever be like new again.

It should had been scape and actual one for one as it makes no sense to spent the same amount of dollars to repair when the car actual cost is less than that.