The Whiskey Thread

Parkingidiot

What's your favourite Whiskey brand(s)?  

103 members have voted

1. 1. Favorite Whiskey(s) (includes single malts, bourbon, blended, etc)

• Glenfiddich
    • Macallan
    • Glenlivet
    • Highland Park
    • Ballantines
    • Cutty Sark
    • Johnnie Walker
    • Chivas
    • Jim Beam
    • Gentleman Jack
    • Jack Daniels
    • Others
  2. 2. Other Drinks (everything else)

• Beer
    • Tequila
    • Rum
    • Vodka
    • Red Wine
    • White Wine
    • Champagne
    • Cocktails
    • Soft Drinks
    • Water
    • Others

Sorry OT a bit, my ah gong got 20+ bottles of XOs that he would like to liquidate.

Anyone has any lobangs or kangtaos to intro anot ah? Noob when it comes to alchol.

there are companies that buy back old liquid but i think at most is $50 to $70 per bottle. You can find them in classified ads. fyi, once the liquid is bottled, it does not age anymore. thus no matter how many years you keep, the value of the liquid is still the same. (example: a 12yo whisky kept for 30yrs does not equal to 42yrs of whisky as of today)

if the bottling is old enough or out of production, maybe the bottle can fetch more money than the actual liquid. haha..

alternatively there is another option:

take one bottle and donate to those temple toa ya peh and tell them give you 4d to exchange for your old XO bottle. maybe can fetch better ROI? give 20 bottles to 20 different temples to maximize your chances. [laugh]

i like this thread cos whisky drinking is so much easier than politic bashing..

Edited by Idunspeed

Jim Beam when i'm out fishing. Good on a hot sunny day.

Ballantines Blended when i'm chilling at night.

A trick I learned fm a fren on an Indonesian fishing boat 1 hot afternoon.

Take a clean ( well as clean as possible considering where we were) bucket n fill it with ice cold fresh coconut juice n flesh. Add a bottle (or adjust according to your taste) of jack Daniels n just drink with whatever container u can find.

Wah. Damm shiok on a hot sweltering day. After a few drinks, fish bite also cant b bothered. [laugh]

Sorry OT a bit, my ah gong got 20+ bottles of XOs that he would like to liquidate.

Anyone has any lobangs or kangtaos to intro anot ah? Noob when it comes to alchol.

Bring to our next MU. We help u to liquidate. [laugh]

I know of 1 chio bu [gorgeous] who wud love u for it.

i like this thread cos whisky drinking is so much easier than politic bashing..

and also helps improve the beauty of all the women in the vicinity.

Did you know thatit's blasphemes to mix whiskey with water? :D :D

Seconded.

If the distillers intended for whiskey to be mixed with anything else, they would have done it at the distillery. Its meant to be drunk, full strength, all 40+% of it :D

OK, all you experts out there.

Recommend a good and relatively cheap single malt please. Where to buy.

calll me cheapskate or what.. but my whiskey purchases usually from DFS once I return from an overseas trip. Saves a bundle.

Recommend a few leh. I drink mostly wine.

it really depends on what you want. just like wines.

if you want something easy and not expensive, go for glenrothes, famous grouse or glenmorangie standard (10yo).

if you like something more "full-bodied", go for highland park 10yo, bowmore or laphroaig or lagavuline. i personally like highland park as its lightly peated, sweet and taste heavenly on neat.

the main thing about whisky is about flavours and most importantly the finish aka "after taste in your mouth".

to buy cheaper than market price, go to laurels or chuan hoe. these are the wholesalers. definately cheaper than stores.

Reading this thread make me thirsty for whiskey....

I like it neat , sometimes on the rock, and yes, best to have it with good friends ^_^

i would say whisky is best consumed in bed with a woman. pretty anot isnt important cos after a few glass, all look the same. [laugh]

it can be consumed at room temperature (i presume your room temperature is about 30?). to enhance your drinking experience, you can slightly chill your whisky with a special-made ice holder (those type dat doesnt allow ice to contact with your whisky or simply chill your glass (just like the beer).

i do not agree with the statement that whisky should ONLY be drank as neat without ice. i would say whisky should be drink the way u like it most. given the different climate conditions, the scots drinks a dram on neat cos the cold weather there allow them to do so. in our climate, we can add a little ice and water to enhance the whole drinking experience.

adding a little water into whisky helps to releases the flavours. dat,s y it looks oily.

i been to several whisky food pairing both local and overseas. i would say the pairing works as in the way of bringing out the flavour of food and whisky. those that i went to normally are over hype and too expensive to do it on regular basis.

i have did a few private pairing with friends at home and here are some local ideas i can offer:

1. strong peated whiskies goes well with roasted pork (siow bah, not char siew). it leaves a nice smokey flavour on the siow ba - new fusion - smokey siow bah.

2. same for roasted duck - it will turn out to be smokey duck. the fatty oil in duck goes very well with peat and leaves a just nice smokey after taste.

plus many others that we experiment.

the above food doesnt cost an arm or leg. buy from hawker and enjoy at home.. [laugh]

This thread was inspired after MO made me thirsty when he brought up the bottle of Jack in the Why Surf In MCF thread. I feel that Whisky deserves it's own thread... no politics or drink driving issues please... [;)]

I love whiskey or whisky. Just a bit of general knowledge about the drink:

Whisky (Scottish English) or whiskey (Hiberno-English) is a type of distilled alcoholic beverage made from fermented grain mash. Different grains are used for different varieties, including barley, malted barley, rye, malted rye, wheat, and maize (corn). Whisky is aged in wooden casks, made generally of white oak, except that in the United States corn whiskey need not be aged.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whisky

There are many varieties of whiskey (Single malts, blended, etc). Can read this for an info overload:

http://www.maltmadness.com/malt-whisky/beg...-to-scotch.html

So.. let's discuss the whiskeys (no offence to the beer or wine drinkers - you can always start your own threads).

hey bro, are you trying to get us all drunk surfing??.... :D:D