Freestylers09 5th Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Not right leh, i did a calculation, dunno correct or not. If Spore reserves = $300 billion and they give = $50 000 then if your saving = $100000 then you should give = $0.017 only leh, not $5000. If give $5000 then the gov should give $30 billion liao. Someone check my maths see correct bo? u damn zai la ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Not right leh, i did a calculation, dunno correct or not. If Spore reserves = $300 billion and they give = $50 000 then if your saving = $100000 then you should give = $0.017 only leh, not $5000. If give $5000 then the gov should give $30 billion liao. Someone check my maths see correct bo? still got $300billion reserves meh? I thought they lost like nearly half in gambling on overseas investment failures? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Author Share January 18, 2010 I am not asking you to give $50k, I am asking you to give $5k. We are chicken and duck talking...forget it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Author Share January 18, 2010 Mai seow seow arhhh . . . US$50,000 will make us number 1 kiam kana. We love to be number 1 you know?? Taking number 1 lah but when giving different story. You see the newspaper article that I posted on the first page, the red bar for Singapore is so faint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Author Share January 18, 2010 actually, if we bring this situation to a smaller scale.... take example one of your colleauge's family member pass away. everyone donating "white gold". If you don give and tiam tiam, no one will know. Even if they know, they willn't comment anything cause it is up to you. But while everyone donating $10, $20 (colleague of your level) and even $50, $100 (your manager, senior manager), you donate $1....... Very good example. I am surprised that ST even did that chart up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 wait like renci and nkf how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 wait like renci and nkf how? never thought of that. but my friend jio me together donate one so together die lor hahaha. but i'm sure the money will be used spent in a wise manner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 acutally, when sg went to indo's assistance in the form of heli, plane, armoured vehicle and boat to distribute medical assistance, food, water..........i was very proud of what we did we did not take the easy way out of donating money what food can a US$50 note buy a poor little kid in haiti? what they need now is not money but all the heli, plane, armoured vehicle and boat to distribute medical assistance, food, water.......... who can do all this? who is the best person? -----------------US military (bec they are located next door), UN (but UN take just too dman long to do anything. Even the EC is more powerful than UN) do we need to donate money to them? i really don think so....But if UN undertake such an operation, member country must pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 acutally, when sg went to indo's assistance in the form of heli, plane, armoured vehicle and boat to distribute medical assistance, food, water..........i was very proud of what we did Yah. Felt so proud when CNN was reporting from Indo and in the background there was a C-130 with Singapore markings. I wonder if RSAF have any transports and heli in America. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 what reaaly needs to be done is getting big brother (aka usa) to organise aid relief efforts key issue is transporting the aid to the right people then all the people who wanna volunteer set up camps to distribute blanket, food, water, medecine can sit in big brother's b-52 for a free ticket in (our c130 is like mosqioto compared to the angmo's b52) remember the china's recent mega earthquake? helis couldnt go in because there were no place for the helis to land what they need is bull dozer to clear a path into the city and pure human labour to manaually carry in the supplies because all the 4 wheel drive or even track vehicle cannot get into the city giving lots of money can earn us a fall of fame but sending in the guys with the supplies direct to the poor kid on the street, priceless Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 It will do certain people good to realize that faked humility is actually very insulting to the intelligence of the not-so-stupid folks that abound in this forum. I guess everybody goes through a certain phase of life that takes a while for them to grow out of, eh? In any case, a good point has been raised here: the US and the UN are in the best position to deliver relief efforts to Haiti due to its geographical proximity, and European nations next. It would be nonviable for Singapore to provide direct aid to Haiti at this point of time, not to mention almost entirely inefficient. This is in contrast to similar situations in Indonesia and Aech where Singapore did indeed respond rapidly and efficiently. $50k is a small amount to be donated as relief funds, I agree. But I am disturbed by comments from certain people that it is better to not give at all and hope to escape notice and hence ridicule, rather to donate such a small and measly amount and suffer mocking on the international stage. 2 key points are being missed here - at the onset of the disaster, there was very little news filtering through from Port-au-prince and there was no concrete picture on how serious or widespread the damage was; and it is definitely better to donate $50k than to not donate at all. If our Govt indeed chose to remain silent and not donate at all in the hope of escaping notice, I would be more deeply troubled than their paltry donation of $50k, as that speaks volume about the character and complexion of the current Govt. In any case, it is still early days, and let's wait and see how much further the Govt will step up their efforts to provide relief funds or aid to Haiti, eh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 whoa your level of angmo makes me no wonder my teacher always say me can count cannot write Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Hmmm...any truth? US Quake Test Goes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Author Share January 18, 2010 (edited) South Korea increased their finanical aid from US$1 million to US$10 million. South Korea also dispatched a 35-member search and rescue team to Haiti, which arrived Sunday. Edited January 18, 2010 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 when the country is richer, they donated more when country poorer, they donated less simi logic? just wondering china and taiwan also quite rich,why they need donation from other countries?this i abit dont understand..unless to maintain some internationally good relationship..but still need donate ? Not only donate more, can send DART also... Singapore donate US$200k... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 still got $300billion reserves meh? I thought they lost like nearly half in gambling on overseas investment failures? Don't use the word GAMBLE lah, use the word that makes up from PM's surname and his wife's given name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Wah lao eh! Damn malu man! This is the kind of news I'll completely understand if they wanna keep it under wraps! But NO, must publish and now we Singaporeans dunno where to hide our face when travelling overseas!! Idiots!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 ask all those up there each to cough out 1mth of their salary, i tink anytime hit millions... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...