Jman888 Moderator April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 talking to strawberry some time will vomit blood and die! [sweatdrop] Demanding job candidate sends rude messages to employer Friday, Apr 19, 2013 While most job candidates try their best to be polite and courteous in front of their potential hirers, one particular applicant in Singapore does not seem to care if he offended his reviewer at all. According to a Stomp contributor, the candidate was rude in text messages and demanded to be given directions to the interview. The candidate also did not bother to watch his grammar and spelling while typing the messages to his potential employer. In the end, the interview was called off as the employer felt that the applicant's rude behaviour was not something he could put up with. Here is the original contribution posted on Stomp: A Stomp contributor was surprised to see that a candidate who was contacted for a job interview replied to the potential employer through text messages in broken English, in which he demanded to know the directions to the office. Stomp contributor K wondered if this was how members of the younger generation responded to potential employers. K elaborates: "Is this how one talks when trying to arrange an interview with a potential employer? "Is it alright to use such bad English and demand to be taught how to go to a certain place? "Is this how the younger generation goes for an interview?" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 the problem with some of them is they think they world owes them a job and probably everything in life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vectrasonic 2nd Gear April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 Gd luck to them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 sounds like a malaysian actually.... it actually points more to a lack of education than a lack of courtesy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 Is this how employers now invite candidates to interviews? By SMS? Very professional! This employer gets candidates they really deserve. I am not sure why they are complaining. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 The trouble with employers is that they think people are begging them for a job. Anyone or any company that says its very hard to find good staff just needs to take a long and hard look at themselves to find the reason why. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 19, 2013 Author Share April 19, 2013 (edited) we dun know, by looking at the first message, it could be the employer call the candidate and she missed the call, hence the message to the caller. Is this how employers now invite candidates to interviews? By SMS? Very professional! This employer gets candidates they really deserve. I am not sure why they are complaining. Edited April 19, 2013 by Jman888 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 I have one friend who says that usually the first response is "How much you pay ah". Don't take the time to ask about the job details, explain why they are interested and why they would like this job. And the sms from the guy above, why not show some initiative? If you can't work out how to get to the location, use google! First impressions count and I would have done the same as this employer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 recently got one newly joined left our company also shortly. when asked why, she say the company environment serious, doesn't fit her. they kind of expect the job environment to fit the candidate rather than the candidate fit into the environment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 Once I called a candidate to come for interview, she said email her my company address. I said forget it, I don't take instruction from her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 I have one friend who says that usually the first response is "How much you pay ah". Don't take the time to ask about the job details, explain why they are interested and why they would like this job. And the sms from the guy above, why not show some initiative? If you can't work out how to get to the location, use google! First impressions count and I would have done the same as this employer. lets be honest on this.. how many of you apply for a job without first knowing the job details? in interview, a lot of time we are just wayang and ask if not look bad on us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 recently got one newly joined left our company also shortly. when asked why, she say the company environment serious, doesn't fit her. they kind of expect the job environment to fit the candidate rather than the candidate fit into the environment it's an I, me, myself mentality nowadays with the younger generation. and instant gratification. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 looks staged to me.. then again, i've got a cousin who is really like that.. abt 24 yr old but will ask for help in small things and need hand holding all the way.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 (edited) The trouble with employers is that they think people are begging them for a job. Anyone or any company that says its very hard to find good staff just needs to take a long and hard look at themselves to find the reason why. If you wrote emails like you post I'd be amazed if you got an interview Just kidding. Edited April 19, 2013 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 Once I called a candidate to come for interview, she said email her my company address. I said forget it, I don't take instruction from her. That's a bit overboard lah... I'll just send the address, esp if I really think that candidate could be a good fit. No good worker will wanna join a company that does not think they are valuable. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 19, 2013 Author Share April 19, 2013 i actually thought kids nowadays are quite smart and independent, with all the internet and google, you can find any info you need. but come to things that are not of their interest, they want people to feed them looks staged to me.. then again, i've got a cousin who is really like that.. abt 24 yr old but will ask for help in small things and need hand holding all the way.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 To be fair it's an I, me, myself mentality nowadays and instant gratification with the older generation too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 19, 2013 Share April 19, 2013 job agency kena troll by people lah edmw people got "bracklist" some job agencies who are pro foreigner so kena troll lor got smrt troll, sure got these type of job agency troll key thing is: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...