Clio Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 wait till u see his ride...with ELIA bodykit ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 i remebering reading an official RENAULT article that LATIO is never CLIO but MODUS. MARCH should not be a CLIO either. just compare their wheelbase and track length. Then by your own definition the Latio cannot be using the Modus platform, since they have different wheelbases (2600mm for Latio, 2482mm for Modus) and track. I suggest you do a simple Google search on Clio, Modus and Micra to find out the truth. The fact is that new Alliance B platform is highly versatile, like most shared platforms are. Gone are the days of the Golf IV one-size-fits-all sharing. These days, wheelbase and track can be changed easily. Just look at the Edix, uses a Civic platform but widened considerably. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clio Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 oic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xirc0m Neutral Newbie August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 (edited) Let me put it this way... Say I am Bias... and Yes I own a Megane II Sedan... I did test drive all the Sedan for conti... so please no point comparing the hatch...its a seperate area... If I want a Hatch...it will not be a Megane... heheheh New Ford Focus was a big disappointment... 1) Dashboard... eeeer... not as solid as the rest of conti cars....noisy 2) Power wise obviously way out compare with Megane..... 3) till this day... I frankly speaking no problem with my M2... what you seen on the RCC forum complains are all very isolated issues... I have visited all the rest of Conti Forum in Singapore... all sound familar on complains ...and again lots of complains... ... so its the same... 4) Whole cabin... eeeer could not match the outdated Megane... 5) AutoGear Transmission or Tipronic funcion eeeer very werid... could not do what I want out.The Megane can perform more as comapare with Focus... 6) eeeer... frankly speaking over pricing for the new Focus...alot of hidden "Accessories"...need to add this and that total up pay much more for the basic price... unlike the Megane... fixed prices... with most standard features since day one selling... 7) I find it werid on the wiper on the new Focus... looks innovative... but what the hell and where can u get a 3rd party replacement... seriously...take a hard look @ it!!! 8) ESP? hey... this is nothing new...I did a hard winding on both New Focus and Megane II no difference... 9) if u do a hard look the standard layout on new Focus and Megane II... u notice Focus has alot of missing .... and the carpet fitting...mountings... panels are eeeeer.... seriously take a good look ....seeing and feeling is believing... Cheers.! Edited August 23, 2005 by Xirc0m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie August 25, 2005 Author Share August 25, 2005 Thanks 4 d input, bro......tis info shld help when i decide 2 change my ride.....cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 25, 2005 Share August 25, 2005 Hey Xircom! Great to c another Rccian here! Cheers! Well said bout the Megane. So far, my dad's Megane 2 auto also had no problems until now. According to what I found out, the common problems mainly occur in the initial production batches. Renault had it rectified in the later production series already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear August 25, 2005 Share August 25, 2005 But the thing is that in people's minds..the "problem" would always be there.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schumi168 Neutral Newbie September 4, 2005 Share September 4, 2005 Renault.. cos Alonso crusing tops in F1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xirc0m Neutral Newbie September 4, 2005 Share September 4, 2005 (edited) Well basically its a personal issue when choosing the right car..., to me test drive several cars, yourself within the same day... can tell how the car or roughly what the car you want... Edited September 4, 2005 by Xirc0m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie September 5, 2005 Author Share September 5, 2005 Bro Schmi, It seems that u r a ferrari fans, jus like me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanr 1st Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 Better car like ferrari will be men and women favourite!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 Focus handles much better. Only thing the 1.6 engine brought into SG market is too anaemic. Need the higher-spec 1.6 engine to really make a sale, otherwise people in SG won't pay for the price of a Focus. Thus cannot move much, cannot sell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie September 5, 2005 Author Share September 5, 2005 Ya man......focus is really under power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 i dunno if this was asked before.. but will the new FOCUS ST be coming to our shores? wat happened to the "planned" FOCUS RS wit 300bhp? anyways, even IF the FOCUS RS is back on track, i doubt REGENT will bring it in.. and if it does......... can i assume at $190K incl COE??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 Oh I already asked RM. Don't push your hopes too high. RM has no plans to bring in anything other than their only 1.6 model. Even stopped bringing in the manual 1.6 (except in the first batch), since the GM found out that the auto 1.6 has got selectable gears (a la Tiptronic). But I told them its not the same. Their so-called pseudo-manual is really an Auto tranny ... unlike VW's DSG or Alfa's Selespeed. The lag in-between gear changes is, well ... super long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 i dunno lah, but from a consumer's point of view, RM is trying to sell their cars in SPR like a mass market car: i.e: Toyota. Tats y they dun dare or see no point in bringing in versions of the Focus/Mondeo tat cld be seen to "cannibalise" on their bread & butter 1.6 auto focus & Mondeo 2.0l... However, in the public's mind Ford simply cannot compete in "price, percieved value & perceived reliability" VS brands like toyota...YET RM continue to market its product similarly to Toyota. No doubt in many countries Ford is not a premium or even mid range brand... but in SPR things are different. Cant they simply bring in the FOCUS RS at a reasonable "niche price"? at least it showcases the bread & butter 1.6 Focus and IMHO is the best form of advertisement for such a good handling car. Imagine wat it would be like IF CnC did not bring in the golf GTI... the standard golf will simply be just another hatchback... nothing sensational... i dun see how the GTI cannibalised on its cheaper siblings.. in fact i'd be happy to sell more GTIs than the standard golfs... Said this before & i say it again; i cant believe they talk abt bringing in the FORD GT40 as a showcar.. and yet NOT A SINGLE FOCUS RS in Singapore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 My sentiments exactly. Unless RM attempts to bring in niche-market Fords, to grow their brand image, there is no way that they can hope to usurp Toyota or Nissan loyalists over to Ford. To an average Singaporean guy, why pay more to live with unreliability (perceived, or otherwise) and lower resale price? There is no way RM is gonna make volume sales this way. They need to do a complete rethink with their Ford principals. They must understand that Singapore is NOT a third-world country equivalent, where they can dump their lower-spec cars here. For that, we have the lower-priced Thai-Japanese and Korean makes to satisfy the entry-level masses. Focus (pardon the pun) on niche market as well as pushing the staple models. If they really believe that they have got a well-designed, well-balanced, perfect-handling Focus, bring in the high-spec 1.6L. If Ford Europe does decide to build the RS version for the new Focus, bring some in. (However, I read in Car magazine that Ford has no plans to build an RS model, as it is just too expensive to build one). Show to the public what Fords really are, on the roads, in real time. If their pricing is right (i.e. not BMW-like), then the general public may start comparing performance, quality and safety vs just price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 Frankly speaking, I find the plastic they used on the dashboard terrible. Worse than some of those on VAN!!! or is it just me? Apology to those who had the new focus but my 1st impression are that. Correct me if I'm wrong. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...