CAI installation

Sei_fei_loh

if i am not wrong, pulley lessen the load on the engine thus most engine power is transfer to the wheels. correct me if i am wrong. [:p]

errr yeah thats what I said but I used the word "Release" because pulley doesn't give you gains.

Whacking a TD06 25G Turbo will "increase bhp gains" by huge amount yes. [sweatdrop]

i've learned quite alot abt CAI from you guys. juz 1 stupid question to ask... if i juz wanna add abit more power n better air intake.. no need to realli increase alot, juz better then the stock one is satisfying liao... juz change the stock air filter to a better one wil do the job? ie..change to Apexi Power intake, the cone type. or do i have to do CAI in oreder to get the maximum result?

i'm still learning, pls pardon mi...

CAI yes... But not significant. More of improving mid to high end torque as well as responsive throttle response.

Works well with larger exhaust piping.

Hi Gexer,

No matter how much ram air effect we try to achieve, also cannot measure up to even a light light pressure turbo.

What the scoop can do is channel a good amount of cool air to your filter so that the engine will not be starved of air when you WOT or drive hard.

Whatever minimal air compression it have will be lost due to all the bends and most importantly at the air filter.

Unless we can turn our engines around with the TB facing the front and installing a monster scoop, maybe can have some effect. Like those crazy American muscle cars 4 throttle popping out from the bonnet and facing the front with no air filters [laugh]

Can show your air scoop? I wanted to buy a scoop from a site in US also. About USD$49 but decided against it in the end [:/]

what car you driving bro?

if you want ok gain, get a drop in high flow filter can liao. if you have slightly more cash, do athe apexi dual funnel. my fav. you low end will suffer. but i can bring it back to life for you. CAI of coz will be optional. just a small mod will bring back your power. you interested can email me. [email protected]

err. i dun think so. if MT yes. but bringing back AT low end is harder. but my car is AT so i am quite confident that it is my CAI that bring me the boost i need.

enlarging the exhaust will kill low end for AT cars bro.

agree bro. but if

1) your scoop is 8" to a 2 1/4" the amount of pressure will be higher.

2) lesser the bends for the hose to the filter

3) allowing shorter ram to TB

this will very much lesser the hinder of the compression pressure. of coz we cannot compare to a light TC. but the logic is somewhat the same. just like what you mention, 4 TB facing head front.

if i have a turbine forcing the air in, i will have TC effect also. but AT cars are different set up altogether. what can be done on MT cannot apply directly to At cars

CAi is more of improving combustion. low mid high is a different set of story again. like more air for high and mid. more compression ofr getting low end.

so depending how you do your CAI to get what you want to acheive. but low end gain to AT cars are very hard to acheive. and AT cars are harder to mod. so with this gain i have, seriously i am very happy to share. i spend like 6-8 month R&D my setup. this is my 3th setup. first, crack, second, leak, and third BEST!. [sweatdrop]

IMHO... i don't think CAI does make a big difference in everyday driving...

forced induction is different.. how fast do u have to drive to achieve the same 'force'?

say at 150km/h = 8202ft/min

Q, volumetric flow rate = Velocity X Cross section area (eg.3in pipe)

= 8202ft/min X 3.142(0.25ft)sq/4

= 402.6 cubic feet per min of air... that is being 'forced' by the 'ram' effect..

and still not including losses frm friction, desnsity, baro pressure and temp

feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Yc86

yap boost. to me it is boost for sure. i am happy with the gain i acheived with my mod. i know it sounds funny and might be consider snake oil to some. well, my dyno show gain and i am happy with it. need it be called power, boost, compression, torque is no longer important. i am happy how my car perform for me. [drivingcar]

wowo bro. you shut me with your equation bro. [lipsrsealed] i think i better dun say too much here. just note that we can base on a lot of theoory and maths. there are mod that works not always relaying on equations.

to me simple equation...... if it work, it work. if dun, then it doesn't.

i am just sharing my idea of CAI but in return kana bomb by a few bros. i had gain in dyno, had won 2 car length in drags of same made. to me, i am just offering my idea to bros who are interested in doing CAI. i am not doing this for a living. [shakehead] i dun even mind if bros out there would like to take a ride with me in my car. just to prove my point and for me to kick some butts and shut some mouth.

i just finish one CAI for Vios. he is happy with the torque gain, i am happy that i help.

this will be my final equations

interested = email [email protected]

not interested = dun flame/quote/slam me

i rather just spend the same amt of time playing with my baby boy than replying as if i am at the door of hell proving my innocent.

for those who slam me. try spending not more than $150, mod a mazda3 with a open pod already installed and give me the same or more gain or torque. i had ppl spending thousands getting only same or slightly better than my gain. [sleeping] if you can do it. i will buy you kopi. if cannot then dun flame me.

Edited by Gexer

no bro, scoop is in the front of the intake. have draw a pic to show you. this is an example of the scoop. but the actually need more than just this, it needs fins to direct the air for some cars.

bro,from ur pic,what is the CAI thing???is it pod filter???

cos the whole set up is CAI mah....

so is ur pod lifter near the TB????

i've learned quite alot abt CAI from you guys. juz 1 stupid question to ask... if i juz wanna add abit more power n better air intake.. no need to realli increase alot, juz better then the stock one is satisfying liao... juz change the stock air filter to a better one wil do the job? ie..change to Apexi Power intake, the cone type. or do i have to do CAI in oreder to get the maximum result?

i'm still learning, pls pardon mi...

if u wana change ur stock filter to the Apexi one,

u got to change the whole intake system....cos the stock box can't fit the Apexi...

what car you driving bro?

if you want ok gain, get a drop in high flow filter can liao. if you have slightly more cash, do athe apexi dual funnel. my fav. you low end will suffer. but i can bring it back to life for you. CAI of coz will be optional. just a small mod will bring back your power. you interested can email me. [email protected]

i seriously dun think a high flow filter will give any gain!!!

the most i guess is 1hp on stock....