Chrome license plate

Tleslie

They don't have to say what is disallowed, just have to tell us what is permitted; easier for them. That's our gov! [;)]

Initially I thought so too. Then I noticed that on the background (reflection), you can see where Mr. LTA took a picture of the plate. (It's probably a HDB carpark with lots of shaded trees.)

Such a reflection can only be found on acrylic plates, I think. Anyway, if your 'chromed' plates are matt finished, defeats the purpose of having it in the first place. It'll just look like any other aluminium plates. [:p]

Edited by Clark75

Agree! i was stopped during roadblock regarding my chrome plate as well, but they only issue a warning to me tats all cos i told them i will replace them wif the original asap. [laugh]

I got mine from Mel (as mentioned by Geezer). $60, 1 day turn around time. You can get a partially censored view of my plates here:

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...1179669#1179669

Claimed to be LTA approved, I quote his original posting below:

APPROVED CHROME LICENSE PLATE @ $60

Matt Chrome finished, Non-Reflective.

Long Plate

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/mel7711/FITPL1.jpg

Square Plate

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/mel7711/SQPL1.jpg

Have done more than 20 sets this month for vios, Honda, and other models!!!

To order, pls sms or call 91737711.. or list details below, I will contact U.

Eg: Name SFY0000D, 91737711, Car Model

1) Jonathan Sham SBY 2363 J +65 93389210 Miata MX5 (only need the rear licence plate long)

2)

3)

Deposit of $30 is needed.

Disclaimer: Information is correct at time of posting. However we are subject to LTA change of rules and regulations. At no time the author shall be responsible for any damages or inconvenience caused. Thank You.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

To clear doubts of all bros and sis here... I do have to answer this question of whether its really approved, like I have to answer in Vios, Honda forum....

I actually called LTA Vehicle Engineering Department, They said that as long as it is matt surface, non-reflective, spacing and lettering size according to spec, it is approved.

Unconvince, becos still genna queries from my fellow VOGS forumers who still insist that it is illegal.... I drove my ride down to LTA, look for the officer, he saw my car, said APPROVED!

At the end of the day.... so many VOGSters now in the forum order.

I install my chrome plate for 2 months liao... once genna caught by TP uncle for speeding, uncle look around my car, also didn't say anything... in the end, only warning for speeding.... ;-)

But like I posted on my disclaimer, we are still subject to LTA change of rules and regulations from time to time.... but the moral behind the story is, if we wanna beautify your ride... then who cares!!!!

"ai sui mai mia" ;-)

Interestingly, since this subject popped out, I shared with you my experience.

Saw a car infront of mine, cannot really read the number until I got real close. Basically there's no contrast between the letter/numberings and the background. I am wondering if the camera can actually capture the registration number or not. Let me check with the TP.

Very surprised to know that LTA has approved chrome number plates already.. Becoz as far as I know, I got friends who kenna stopped by roadblock, and was told not approved and must change back to original.

I agree nowadays very common on the roads already... Rather surprise.. But then again, pple still mod their rides against LTA regulations mah.. So this 1 I understand.. But just hope that will be able to get a clarification from LTA that chrome plates has been approved..

wah...that is a lot of $$$$ leh

ask u hor, u kanna what time for the speed mobile trap? nite time?

can the cam see your chrome plate???