Car_man 2nd Gear May 22, 2006 Share May 22, 2006 Hi like to check with aveo owner does your engine sound very noisy like a diesel automobile and feel very rough engine running? My engine sound become like that after doing my 40k servicing and after i took out my resonator.Any solution to make the noise reduce and smoother? Pls Help ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 What's your oil that you are using. Most of us realize that using 10W30 and below will make the Aveo engine very quiet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 10W30? Would that mean the changing interval needs to be shorter? Or still can tahan 10-15K? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 Can tahan 10k lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbx750p 1st Gear May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 You got to be kidding ! The thinner the oil, the noiser the engine ! Common sense ! Diesel engine use thick oil, i.e. SAE80 or SAE 20W50 at least ! Thicker oil would increase pressure on hydraulic lift thus resulting in quieter engine but engine drag increase ( loss of power ) resulting in higher FC ! CBX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 Nope. Diesel is inherently noisy and you can't compare with the petrol engines of ours. The Aveo guys are mostly using 10W30 and 5W30. The engine is very quiet below 3000RPM. Floor the throttle and the engine sounds angrier to the delight of many. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear May 23, 2006 Author Share May 23, 2006 i'm using mobil 5W50.Dunno y the engine sound so rough.Any way to make it smoother or is there any problem with engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 24, 2006 Share May 24, 2006 Nothing is wrong with the engine. 5W50 robs it of power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miketow Neutral Newbie May 24, 2006 Share May 24, 2006 Swap out the Aveo engine with a V6 - sure quieter one. Small engine, sure noisy one - it really depends on your own expectations. If you are used to a a 2.L Inline 6 or a V6, anything less...sure noisy..no matter how thick your engine oil lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear May 24, 2006 Author Share May 24, 2006 HAHA if got money sure buy A higher CC car. My AVEO 40K Disc rotor warp,brake pad uneven and transmission leak.Ask Starsauto y so fast spoilt and they can't give me an answer but subsidised all the repair after i complain to the manager.This Aveo give a lot of problem but what to expect cos the car is cheap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear May 24, 2006 Author Share May 24, 2006 IS it true using 5W30 make the engine quieter?Smoother? If that the case next servicing i will change to that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 Check with the rest of the Chevy guys who converted. It is smoother. The engine's tolerances and clearances are tighter and hence the reason why 30wt is good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 So it will make the engine smmother but will it reduce the engine noise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 A smoother engine has reduced engine noise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jubilong 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 Try mobil 1 gold, 0w40, FC improve, feel it gives more power and most of all i felt engine is smoother and quieter. i'm using mobil 5W50.Dunno y the engine sound so rough.Any way to make it smoother or is there any problem with engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 26, 2006 Share May 26, 2006 Its still going to suck power out of a meagre 1.4L engine lah! 10W30 and below is the way to go. Right now, with 10k OCIs, M1 Gold is damn expensive for that kind of interval. With cxxxxxe and Schaeffer's selling 30wt oils so affordable, that's the way to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear May 26, 2006 Author Share May 26, 2006 But is cxxxxxe the same quality as Mobile !. Afraid later engine largi worse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 27, 2006 Share May 27, 2006 Please lah! Its just a damn car! It doesn't care if you give it cxxxxxe or Mobil 1, it only cares if there is enough oil to generate oil pressure! And no, Mobil 1 does not have a 30wt oil available. Just use whatever 30wt you can find be it cxxxxxe or Schaeffer's or RP. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...