Unfair Rating ? Optra

Cbx750p

moderator, doubt anyone dares to buy le... but i admire [thumbsup] the owner to come up to speak [furious][rifle] about his new ride... no doubt its painful [sweatdrop] but he was honest in telling us the truth.. [thumbsup]

I dare what ! But about telling the truth...only one sided ! If only someone from Starsauto would be kind enough to give comments on this ! Looks like the AD and GM is taking the hits onesided ! No one from there coming here to defend themselves. Too bad ! Maybe SA should publish the details about this complaint so that people would know about the truth. Nevertheless, the fact remains, it is not possible to meet with people's expectation all the time. Change the car for a leaking seal ? Will TOYOTA or LEXUS do this ?

People also the same.... the number of divorce cases are on the rise. People talk love, love and make love then get married. After a month or year, realise got the wrong partner...so go & divorce ! Problem is, there is no forum to complaint about this or people simply do not write about such stuffs. Shy what ! [gossip] Got Divorcees forum where people go and complaint about their partners ? Want to get a refund for the dowry or bride price ?

When it comes to cars....they talk this and talk that and complaint this and complaint that and demand this and demand that ! Singaporean in general all like that. Younger punks nowadays especially worst than that. The Kiasuism culture is brought upon us by the Singapore society. Blame the government lah... they make us like that what !

I also complaint King but reasonable in my demands. I know that getting a new replacement car in Singapore is near impossible unless it is really very justifiable ! Remember the BMW overheating/leaking case ? The owner took over 3 years to win the case against PM. Now, this is a justifiable case where the vehicle is really faulty and the AD cannot fix it !

CBX

Edited by Cbx750p

automobile companies tend to have their vehicles 'proven' in races because doing so increases customer confidence in their stock product. It conjours the image that the technology that went into the winning product might have gone into the stock product as well. Although merely being proven in races is not testiment to how well the stock vehicle will perform, half the time, consumers buy vehicles based on impression. Then again, how many of us here would like to boldly state that we truly know the vehicle. Most of our knowledge is also based on opinion.

Ah Huat, you are right ! Optra is also proven on the track what ! But problem is, they have only the Optra shell on but the engine & transmission is a different devil !

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1050514/asp/...ory_4709686.asp

This is a branding marketing ploy to give people the confidence in the brand. You cannot win them all. People are entitled to their own opinion.

CBX

ehh.. if your car's engine block emmited smoke within a few days you won't give a bad review????

like said he got a lemon. the problem is the lack of proper follow up. of course there are good chevies around, but he is the one with the lemon! not you.

I asked around about the aircon cooling down but none of the Chevy owners seem to have this concern. So, this would mean I got a lemon ? Asked SA but they managed to prove to me that the cooldown is dependent on the weather condition and how fast I am driving ! A lot of Bull Sh#t but I learnt to accept it ! Got the car V-cooled and improved the situation. Cannot bring myself to condemn the car just because of this. This Babe handles like a Conti car ( SA told me got European suspension ) compared to the other Korean or Japs, the price I paid is good, the wife is happy and best of all, I am satisfied with the car ! Living and managing expectation is what some people need. IMHO, this guy needs to sell his car and move on to another brand.

CBX

From 1999 till now, I had owned the Sunny ( the one before the cureent model, Civic (Ek3) and the Optra ( almost 1.5 yrs)

there are a few guys whose Optra were lemon, including myself.

The no. of parts changed in my ride would amount to couple of thousands.

Including replacement of the brain of the car aka ECU.

I had lost count of the no. of trips I made to SA during the first 2 mths of ownership.

Afterwhich it was a call and they will come to my residential place to do a one - one switch.

Anyway since then, everything had been fine. In term of drive, the Optra is as boring as the Sunny,,,the only saving grace is tat it is as spacious as the Ek3.

I dun think the amount of complaints made of Optra can rival those of the Honda Civic ES8.

There was an old Honda forum in delphi where almost everyone who bought the car was complaining of the gearbox.

In fact, the ES8's gearbox was so problematic that it was withdrawn from the market within 2-3 yrs of introduction.

Look at Toyota car forum, quite a number also complained of the Altis's rear suspension system. Colleagues of mine who bought the Altis also complained of the rear suspension as well as insulation strip dropping off.

So Jap, Korean or Euro,,,nothing is perfect.

Its not a shorted plug. The engine overheated and nearly burnt itself to roast beef. As you know an overheated engine even with a top overhaul is that great anymore.

Eh, use your brain.. u've shown your stupidity already.

Which came 1st the 4a-ge or the 4a-fe?

1) Would they make a 4a-fe 1st and waste useless money tuning it up?

2) Would they make a 4a-ge 1st then tune it down to lower cost for both consumer and production for normal usage?

I need not reply to a retard anymore.

*simplified version*

1) Research and make a 4A-FE 1st and waste money researching another time on tuning the 4a-fe to a 4a-ge. (2 researches)

2) Make the 4A-GE 1st then downgrade to a 4a-fe? (1 research)

Edited by Sw20

Agree with Cracker.. [nod]

I own an Optra and it is fine except for some minor issues which SA recitified by resetting my ECU and adjusting my rear left brake. Have been driving for 2+ years now and still have no regrets. Probably if I were to choose another car TODAY, and budget allows, the new hybrid civic is the only other option I will consider because of looks and it is environment-friendly.

Once, one of my gal colleague, who know nothing about cars and brands of cars, sit in my car and commented that it is so comfortable, quiet, much better than my other colleague's car. This, to me, is the most unbias comment one can receive as her comment is based on real feel of the car and NOT the brand of the car. BTW, my other colleague's car is Mazda3 which handling, IMO, is pretty good.

Just to share my friend's experience on other make...my friend's brand new popular 1.6 jap car's gearbox gave up just after a few weeks old. When sent back to agent, agent says cannot be repaired and no stock is available, need to wait for a month or 2. My friend was so incensed that she made noise all the way up. Suddenly agent was able to get the gearbox within a week (I think)! Make your own conclusion here.

Then I remember the case on Honda civic too...which is all over the papers.

My point is there are bad agents and lemon cars in all makes...it really depends on luck. Just buy what is most suitable for oneself... [;)]

maybe.. i have never heard of those kuku brands....

only brand i heard still quite okie is Ford? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Actually, most Americans are very Patriotic about everything US. But if you speak to any American about cars... They'd tell you that American Cars suck Big Ass...

Even the people who buy budget cars would much rather get a Hyundai or a Kia over a US car. Maybe cuz Hyundai US gives a 10 year Warrenty on Drive Train.

Even for Ford... Seems like Ford is only making money from Overseas markets. Ford in US domestic market is also loosing $$$.

That why I was so surprised that people in SG actually say Ford Focus is good car... German...etc...Conti... ??@#?$@#?$@?#????

Anyway... Just my sharing my experience with these US brands.... General US opinion pf US Brands is that they are not reliable...

No offense to those who own US cars...

Edited by Alveron2001

Your obsession over this is absolutely regressive to the point of having a brain of a simian.

Argument is that race proven doesn't necessarily mean the company makes good street proven cars. All I can see from your arguments are Toyota engine codes with with no inkling what the point is all about.

At least I'm a human retard by your standards. You are quite obviously a ring-tailed lemur.

Actually, true blue American car build quality is quite up to standards with the Japanese. Lots of American insiders will tell you this is the true. The main letdown is the UAW who loads the car makers with lots of welfare to the point that the cars have to sell dirt cheap to remain competitive with the imports. This diminishes the money for research and other developmental programs. Makes them not only big but not very nimble to answer to changes in the market. They cannot answer quickly to fault rectifications, recalls and all that. Sometimes dragging their feet on it like the GM V6 and V8's notoriety to overheat due to cooling system design faults.

You should see how much the GM employee gets from GM. They can get huge discounts over the already cheap cars from GM and their medical is way better than most companies.

Now they talk here talk there deciding what to give up and in the end, they gave up Subaru and Suzuki in the end keeping stuff like Oldsmobile and Buick. shakehead.gif

Lol....

I didn't know SA has classified Optra 5 as a sports car category.... so which is the other 1.6L sports car you driving? Of course you can't expect the car to handle like the other 2L turbochanged cars you have driven right?

Cannot anyhow compare apples right....Fuji, gala, McIntosh... all different....

But i do really agree with you that Optra drinks too much... and the heavy body is only suitable for a bigger engine... like the ones GM uses for the FIA WTCC.. nosebleed.gif... I would say that Optra (aka Lacetti) is also race proven (engine not included thou laugh.gif)

Is good to from owners to say their cars suck.

Anyway the STUPID optra 5, is bought without my consent!!!! luckily, is not my daily drive.. i just use it when i need practicality.

The car really sucks to the core... sorry i am a sports car person.. not a normal driving person.

When turning at 120km/h the stupid front suspension which is holding the weight of the car... DIPS!!! is not even stiff enough!!!! ALmost killed me!

WHen i need to over take cars... engine seems to rev very slowly... always in the wrong gear by itself!!!

another thing.... the stupid engine drinks more than a 2l turbo charged car i'd driven!!!!

Is slow and is thirsty....

Only 3 good things about it... Strong and heavy body... able to handle malaysian roads.. and Comfort.

It may drink alot by the way i usually drive... so i cannot comment on that.

Looking to get a Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6L or an ITR as a family car.

guys guys....discuss discuss. Don't call names k? cool.gif

[*]Respect the viewpoints of others, even if you may not agree with them. Agree to disagree. [*]No personal attacks on other users.

[:)] ..... [:/] ...... [:(] ...... [blush] ...... [sweatdrop] ...... [smallcry] ..... [bigcry]

[laugh] [laugh] .....ok lor....like dat lor..... [:)][;)][:)]

Edited by Ah_veo

Please allow me to share my views on this matter. I have been Japanese car owner and now Optra. So far, none of the cars I have owned (10?) have given me any major problem. Minor issues, plenty even Honda the so call top Japanese brand here.

when someone wrote here to complain because his engine leaks. Well he is not going to say sweet things about that particular brand even it is Merc or Maybuck. Out of the 1000K cars produced, you are going to get a few rejected but somehow slipped thru' the QC.

The morale of the story here is, you should consider yourself lucky you get your car with minor defects. Don't expect the agent to replace your car even the best european brand if they have major defect. All they gonna do is to repair it free!

I agree. Cars are just machines, some more man-made, sure to have some flaws even if ppl deem some cars to be perfect.

Car owners in the Latest Review are too quick to judge. The car models i see are all brand new! [sweatdrop]

No hurry to post ur views lah. Give it a few years to comment oso not too late mah.

It's no different from reading car reviews from local car magazines.

Or may I suggest this forum to change it to Long Term Review instead of Latest Review. More comprehensive. [thumbsup]

Watwheels, although the reviews are written by individuals new car owners, it is just for them to express their feel of their new car. No harm to share a bit of their new excitement.

It also provides opportunities for them to check with experts here, people like Genie47 when they encountered problems.

We should avoid baseless talk or personal attack on people or brands. If one have a bad encounter, it is good to share but not necessary everyone will have to agree with him. That is all this forum is about, k-po a bit lor.