Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 Stickers!! stickers only boost ur ego bhp.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 For NA car, i still prefer doing up Exhaust system, changing the air-intake system and adding a piggyback and tune it first den should be quite ok for a NA car oready.. To T.C n S.C nt a cheap things to play lei.. the steps u mentioned is a basic steps of NA mods... the most u can get is 10-15 horses for all the mods combined.... but high cams can give more gains... but still need to do other mods to give its fullest gains.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 supercharged cannot compare to NA mah... ofcos supercharged is better lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 supercharged cannot compare to NA mah... ofcos supercharged is better lah... Sorry, didn't make myself clear. I mean it is better to supercharge a NA then to Turbocharge it. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 i see.... but i think not really also... dun forget the supercharged is using the engine power.... in a long run also will hurt the engine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 i see.... but i think not really also... dun forget the supercharged is using the engine power.... in a long run also will hurt the engine... 1. So better to stay away with SC and TC and enjoy our NA. 2. If only there is a less rigid LTA approval process on SC and TC. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 no lah, the SC in itself will not harm the engine. all the harm comes from the extra power in the movement of the pistons if the parts arent capable of taking those forces (e.g. if you overboost a factory FI car). Same problem with nitrous. In fact nitrous is better for the engine than petrol as not only does it have more energy than petrol, it also cools the intake charge. (as per normal i drift off topic the only prob with having and SC rather than TC is that as the SC is mechanically driven, it robs some power from the engine which otherwise would go to the wheels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 I dunno if it is better, but TC is more efficent. See my reply to turbonetics on SC. the real question is do you want more power at low revs or more top end. the SC is better for low revs as it spins quick enough for boost from start but runs out of puff up to and a TC takes some time to create boost (lag) but does not run out of puff at top end if you get the right size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 I dunno if it is better, but TC is more efficent. See my reply to turbonetics on SC. the real question is do you want more power at low revs or more top end. the SC is better for low revs as it spins quick enough for boost from start but runs out of puff up to and a TC takes some time to create boost (lag) but does not run out of puff at top end if you get the right size. Is there a balance between the two? Recently, market introduced some electric turbo stuffs, Is there such a thing? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 elect turbos don't work. they cant move enough air to create any difference. There was one exception, but it costs too much. Not to mention that you might as well go for a SC as the loss of power efficiency is still there as there is an increased load on the alternator which still robs the engine of some power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie May 29, 2006 Share May 29, 2006 Very subjective. Number 1 it depends what you want. Performance or handling or both Number 2 you cannot do the turbo and forget everything else. Upgrading the turbo requires a numerous amount of supporting mod. Without 1 or the other none will work. Most people think by upsizing a bigger turbo it'll mean more power. Well its not as simple as upsizing a turbo or adding a turbo into a NA. Upsizing a TCed car requires a variety of supporting mods. TBE, intakes, ECU, Injectors, Fuel pump, better RON ratings if possible, bigger intercooler ranging from TMIC to FMIC to VMIC. Bottomline, everything is important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie May 30, 2006 Share May 30, 2006 I already got performance boost button in my ride. It has a label A/C written on it. Switch it off and I get a 20% increase in acceleration/ pick-up and a 2km/l improvement in FC : : : Bad joke..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 elect turbos don't work. they cant move enough air to create any difference. There was one exception, but it costs too much. Not to mention that you might as well go for a SC as the loss of power efficiency is still there as there is an increased load on the alternator which still robs the engine of some power. What is this exception? So in conclusion, TC is more engine friendly than SC? NOS is illegal so will not try here. NOS is prone to explosion, perhaps the reason of its ban. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 I did a post ages ago about an elect turbo that did work. it would set you back ant USD$2k just for the actual item. TC and SC are both equally engine friendly, just that SC is less power friendly as it uses the engines power to drive it while the TC uses waste gases. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 NONE of the above: Get a new higher CC car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 wah a bit hard... for power increase per $, TC then SC then nitrous. Intercoolers do not increase power although they allow you to make more power safely. How do you compare suspension when it does something totally different to the rest of the mods?? Intercoolers do not increase power although they allow you to make more power safely. I tot it is to lower the temp. of the air b4 it enters the air intake manifold? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 $$$ helps the most . Buy a Ferrari, everything solve liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 might as well go for a higher CC and TC car right ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...