Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 4, 2006 Share June 4, 2006 Well if jap car to jap car shouldnt be a prob as the PCD is either 4x114.3 or 4x100. If you had one for a focus or renault etc then you might have an issue. Anyway just check your tyres for what i said. generally most tyres have a heat cycles that allow them to last for roughly 2 years. I always play safe and change them every year. do note that softer compounds generally have lesser heat cycles but theaspec db's should be fine. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 4, 2006 Share June 4, 2006 i think they may not be as sticky as before. braking dist may increase even with no change in threadwear. but i dun think it will be more prone to puncture. based on bicycle tyres.. i never did this to car tyre. but i do know tt my rear tyres which are damn old but have lots of thread have really shitty grip. rubber harden liao. for normal driving still ok but if i push the van on a wet day.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 4, 2006 Share June 4, 2006 i only need them for normal day to day transportation to and from work as i suspect that my stock rubbers are contributing road noise to my daily trip....so want to try changing back to my Aspec DBs to see got improvement or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 5, 2006 Author Share June 5, 2006 how come ur brake disc got holes de?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 huh ?? the pic is from my old n16...... i changed to DBA Gold x-drilled n slotted rotors, for better braking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edrollbrick Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 (edited) Tyre makers say about 20K to 40K, some even claiming 50K. But Tyres hardened within about 2 years from exposure to the elements. With an average of between 10K to 12K travel per year, not all will normally hit 40K in a year in Singapore less those whom are on the road for work every day and frequent NS travel. Edited June 5, 2006 by Edrollbrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear June 5, 2006 Author Share June 5, 2006 brake disc with holes will have better braking?? sorry for my ignorance, i thought only bikes have holely brake disc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 (edited) For me, I change when I can see that the tread is barely gone or smoothen... Edited June 5, 2006 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qwert Clutched June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 I will change it when i get my car on the first day Did the same thing, took the car, went straight to the tyre shop just 3Km away....to upgrade the rims... Within minutes! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 Tyre change for me would be 38,000Km or 2 years whichever comes first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaoxing 1st Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 My stock tyres are the Bridgestone Turanza ER30. Is it really that lousy? I find it quite ok leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roddy0 Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 but i do know tt my rear tyres which are damn old but have lots of thread have really shitty grip. rubber harden liao. for normal driving still ok but if i push the van on a wet day.. A little friendly advice, I suggest you rotate your back tyres to the front if possible. In normal driving there's not much difference, but in emergencies your handling will be put to the test and if your back tyres are more worn than your front tyres, you could fishtail or spin. Especially in a van or other high CG vehicle, spin can lead to rollover. http://www.michelin.co.uk/uk/auto/auto_cons_bib_pqr_neuf.jsp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 brake disc with holes will have better braking?? sorry for my ignorance, i thought only bikes have holely brake disc.. nope......NA cars will not have x-drilled or slotted rotors.....these are usually avail on high performance cars or sold as aftermarket brake upgrade kits. same logic as bikes, the holes and slits will provide more friction points to give better braking but at the same time, your pads will wera out faster also. check out www.dba.com.au or www.brembo.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elantrahatch Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 GR 30 comes stock with Camry i think. The newer Camry comes with GR-80. It's not entirely lousy. But it is more to comfort then performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speeddemon Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 brake disc with holes will have better braking?? sorry for my ignorance, i thought only bikes have holely brake disc.. yup...if i'm not wrong...its cos the discs can cool off better then normal discs....i had x drilled discs on my previous ride too....an opel astra 1.4m in any case....i change my tyres when i change rims ....which is technically about once every year or so....and i do rotate them once every service which is about anywhere from 10k to 20k of running..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frozebite Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 MIne i think that i have to drive from pandan loop to AMK to change. Hope that i can get a good price for trade in. Or else forget it man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanzy Clutched June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 Actually, solid disc gives the greatest braking torque followed by cross-drilled, then slotted. Slots and Holes are for cooling, venting and cleaning of pads. It's like a compromise, so the rotors are usually larger too. Slots are considered best for track used because of crack resistance but is never found as standard on street cars because they have poor cold-wet bite. Cross-drilled are preferred straight out from the factory as they give decent cold-wet bite and yet provide cooling. Obviously, cold-wet bite is not an issue for track cars, so aftermarket rotors tend to be slotted. Given a well maintained car with everything in order, brakes are a tiny determinant in braking distance because braking on a road car is limited by tire grip and never brake torque. Stock brakes will certainly over power any street tire's traction causing the wheel to lock up and ABS to intervene, so even if you have gigantic brakes, it's just going to cause lock up and ABS to come in. Big brakes are for better pedal feel and increased fade resistance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 Spot on... need to highlight one thing you said... brakes are a tiny determinant in braking distance because braking on a road car is limited by tire grip and never brake torque Thats one thing that most people don't realise. Also the reason i go for tyres that have good wet and dry drip rather than something that has low noise. Better stopping power is always in my good books!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...