OPC Restricted Hours to be Extended to Johor

Mubarakrashid

The papers mentioned only JB, which excludes Muar. If this going to extend to whole of johor, then we just hop into the next state Malacca by 7am loh. tongue.gif

No lah..wont b so bad..

those occasional trips 2 JB 4 sporean OPC car owners will still happen..

oso gd..put coupon liao..no need wake up earli 2 go JB..can juz put coupon & go after 7 & come back b4 7..

juz wkends will b more jam packed..

You are not looking very far ...... if the OPC cars do comply, the MY authorities don't make any $$$ fr you.

If u read one of my earlier posts, it does mention that the MY gharmen is losing $$$ due to their "residents" r now buying "cheaper" OPC cars instead of MY plate cars. So it is in their interest to prevent them from owning OPC cars. They cannot tell them not to buy so they come out with this so called rule that an OPC cannot b used in MY during the restricted hours without a coupon. This alone wil make it too expensive & the target owners will switch back to a MY registered car.

On SG government side, they claim to protect the petroleum industry - go figure.

The 1/2 tank & later the 3/4 tank rule was implemented cos our gharmen claimed at that time the high petrol prices here was a method to prevent excessive use of cars & hence traffic jams here. [shakehead]

They never openly say they r "protecting" the oil industry here but many pple know the real reason is exactly that & also to collect more revenue as petrol taxes.

BTW no one except you so far claims that the 3/4 tank rule is to prevent congestion .....

I think it's the other way around. It's only u that say the gharmen has openly claimed that the 3/4 tank rule is to protect the petroleum industry here. That is tantamount to protectionism which our gharmen always claim they r against.

why only johor ... a lot of opc car also drive up to melaka, kl and even penang if based on the reason for insurance coverage .... bla bla bla

conspiracy theory between johor & singapore [rolleyes]

Johor faces this problem more cos many pple staying in Johor r now buying OPC to replace their MY plate cars. This cud b cos many r Sporeans or Msians with SG PR or Sporeans married to Msians. They know the system & have done their calculations on which is cheaper to buy.

Other states have not felt it cos those pple r still owning a MY plate car.

why only johor ... a lot of opc car also drive up to melaka, kl and even penang if based on the reason for insurance coverage .... bla bla bla

conspiracy theory between johor & singapore rolleyes.gif

problems mainly at Johor.. anyway, to get to Melaka, KL or even Penang, you still has to pass Johor.. wink.gif

Today Sat your OPC can use freely after 2pm issit? Then just go in after 2pm & u save $20. [sly]

Its FOC(free of coupons) after 3pm. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Its ok....i put up valid coupon on saturday and went to office for a while, thereafter went into Jbee at about 1pm. [:p][:p][:p]

Wahhhhhhhhhhh.....the spore check-point was thoroughly checking all OPC cars on thier valid coupon. Checked once after u clear the immigration by TP. Second time at the check-petrol/x-ray divider point. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Somemore not the see-see-look-look from the outside type. Its give the whole coupon to them to check upside-down, inside-out. [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

Really?

But today's newspapers say no leh.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No JB peak-hour ban for S'pore off-peak cars after all

Jan 02, 2007

The Straits Times

OFF-PEAK cars from Singapore can be driven in Johor Baru (JB) during peak hours, said Malaysia's High Commissioner to Singapore, Datuk N. Parameswaran.

Asked about reports of a new rule banning these cars from JB roads during peak hours, he was quoted in Malaysia's The Star newspaper on Sunday as saying there was 'no such thing'.

Any Singapore-registered car with adequate insurance coverage can enter JB without restriction, he added.

Off-peak cars, which are identified by their red licence plates, are allowed on roads here from 7pm to 7am on weekdays, after 3pm on Saturdays and any time on Sundays and public holidays.

Drivers of these cars pay $20 daily for a supplementary licence to travel outside these times here.

Last Saturday, it was reported that Johor's Road Transport Department intended to implement the new rule restricting Singapore off-peak cars, from yesterday.

Those who flouted the rule, it was reported, might have their cars seized and be fined RM300 (S$130).

Still, Mr Parameswaran advised Singapore off-peak car drivers to have enough insurance coverage when driving in Malaysia.

Johor traffic commanding officer, Deputy Superintendent T. Raveendran, agreed. 'If there is no insurance, the car owner can be fined and if there is a fatality in an accident, the car may be seized,' he said.

There is capital control .... no capital control ....

foreigners can own property ... cannot own property ....

As long as the country is run by fickle-minded homer simpsons, I doubt I trust what the malaysians say... [thumbsdown]

If Pigs could fly [lipsrsealed]

GOOD NEWS to u !!!!!!!!!

No JB peak-hour ban for S'pore off-peak cars after all

Jan 02, 2007

The Straits Times

OFF-PEAK cars from Singapore can be driven in Johor Baru (JB) during peak hours, said Malaysia's High Commissioner to Singapore, Datuk N. Parameswaran.

Asked about reports of a new rule banning these cars from JB roads during peak hours, he was quoted in Malaysia's The Star newspaper on Sunday as saying there was 'no such thing'.

Any Singapore-registered car with adequate insurance coverage can enter JB without restriction, he added.

http://ads.asia1.com.sg/image.ng/Params.richmedia=yes&site=TAsia1Home&sec=a1_sti&pagepos=1&size=300X250Off-peak cars, which are identified by their red licence plates, are allowed on roads here from 7pm to 7am on weekdays, after 3pm on Saturdays and any time on Sundays and public holidays.

Drivers of these cars pay $20 daily for a supplementary licence to travel outside these times here.

Last Saturday, it was reported that Johor's Road Transport Department intended to implement the new rule restricting Singapore off-peak cars, from yesterday.

Those who flouted the rule, it was reported, might have their cars seized and be fined RM300 (S$130).

Still, Mr Parameswaran advised Singapore off-peak car drivers to have enough insurance coverage when driving in Malaysia.

Johor traffic commanding officer, Deputy Superintendent T. Raveendran, agreed. 'If there is no insurance, the car owner can be fined and if there is a fatality in an accident, the car may be seized,' he said.

must be those red eye ppl who spread the news [gossip]

anyway, why on MC today??? thought today is supposed to be public holiday?? [confused]