Small dent want to change bumper

Limws1

You claim other people insurance you still need to pay excess? I thought excess only applies when you claim for own damage from your own insurance.

erm if he car sends back to mazda motor for repairing and changing a new bumper.

for sure it wont be $600.

btw 3rd party claim has got nothing to do with own's excess.

excess only comes into play for self claim.

got to get the facts right. [:)]

[thumbsup]

he is drunk on his mods list [laugh]

or maybe his insurance works differently ... 3rd party claim cant be lower than his excess [laugh]

so just look for an insurance company that gives him excess $5k quote. [sweatdrop]

then on road just anyhow bang ppl, they cant claim him cos claim amount is lower than his excess. kekeke. [lipsrsealed]

wouldnt that be a nice system? [idea]

Actually I feel you had it good that the other party are willing to go to your workshop (CAS). Some will insist on sending it to the authorised dealer.

From your view, it may seems excessive to have the whole bumper replaced, but to the other party it won't make sense to compromised and get a 'damaged bumper repair...cos it was 'new' b4 you hit it. He/she may even feel that he/she was being nice to you in agreeing not to have it fixed at the agent.

For me, I would just get them the original bumper and forget about it. I was n such situation b4. I even make sure the workshop use original parts and do a good job...cos I seee that it was my fault in causing the accident and for that i should make sure the other party get the car back to the original state.

If metal body part den can hit back, but if kena plastic one i think need to change as hit back will still leave a scar. However if kena a little bit, i think no need to change.

the problem with bumper is that no matter how small the dents or no matter the dents can be restore back, normally they will re-spray the whole bumper and the re-spray colour tone will be a bit out.

my friend also recently got his hyundai avante hit my merc at carpark and guess what...he bring back to komoco - they change a new bumper and cost is $1500 and now he will claim the merc...hahahah dun play play korean car bumper also not cheap.

insurance basic rule is that - any compensation will only make good up to the original state u have but cannot be better. hence for bumper to be restore back 100 percent is to change the entire one. anyone beg to differ.

In such accident, doesn't matter if it's a hairline scratch or whole bumper drop off..

the point is that someone is in the wrong and another is inconvenienced by someone's wrong doing.

Whether the party is graceful enough to accept a lesser compensation is up to them.

IF you are in the wrong, offer him cash + repair at your own workshop back to original, otherwise, the other party does have a right to claim your insurance.

I was in your situation but the other vehicle got a small scratch. She wanted to go back to agent and I'm sure agent is going to be a killer. I offered her cash + a check at a workshop on her reserve sensor.

All I can say is that I'm lucky to have met someone that is willing to neg and accept my offer. But she does have the right to go back to agent.

BTW, my neg with her took 1hr and another 2hrs at workshop. [sweatdrop]

Change whole bumper bcos of a small dent? [sweatdrop] The workshop should be able to knock out the dent and do respray. $600 is too much for such a small damage.

Will you accept this should your backside kena such things as well?

My wife hit a Mazda 3 last Thur on AYE. The Mazda got a small dent next to the license plate. See pic. The owner wants to change the whole bumper at Mazda Motors and claim from my insurance. In the end, we settle for a private settlement at CAS to change the bumper. In addition, I agreed to compensate $50 for his taxi fare. The repair cost me $600.

Do you think the owner is resonable? If claim my insurance, will my insurance allow him to change the bumper? What would you do if you encounter such driver?

Hi friend, dun bother abt this guy.

He cannot claim insurance for such a small dent.

Offer him your workshop repair.

If he does not want, dun bother.

He will not be able to claim you as his excess will be more than the repair cost itself.

Cheers.

hey, sure can claim lah. that time got 1 car hit my bumper, only hairline scratches, i also can claim loss of use + change new bumper.

i agreed with you.

let's take for an example, in which someone hits your car bumper badly.

he refuses to pay or let you claim his insurance. he refuses to give his particulars. he offered $50 which is peanuts compared to the damage. you don't want. he drives away.

all you have is his vehicle number.

any suggestions?

If you switch ON your charm, maybe it takes you 10 mins and maybe no need to go workshop, go hotel instead to settle. [sly]

yup! I also had the same incident....and we did it at my workshop....the other party was also graceful enuf to tell me not to claim insurance as it was not worth it...since my NCD is alreadt 50%...smile.gifsmile.gif

I also prepared letter, lawyer style...but in end found that he was a gentleman

I went to my bro-in-law workshop and changed his bumper for him...he din even claim any taxi fare from methumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Works both ways....if both parties very accomodating..only settle with minor inconveniencethumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Edited by RadX

1) Find witness & take photo asap if possible.

2) Make police report on hit & run

3) Await TP to conduct investigation

4) Use investigation report (hopefully in favor of you) from TP to make 3rd party claim on the culprit

5) Repair and happily drive away with a new bumper and without even a need to see that @r$e-h0le.

6) That jerk would most be likely facing a fine + NCD loss + loading for his 3 premium.

[laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Kokanadan

At least you talk to her and manage to give her a reasonable deal. [thumbsup]

A car reversed into mine, but came out and said things like I shouldnt have parked behind his car and how come my car so low, he cant see it. I guess what he cant see means its okie to hit. hehe [laugh]

Even ask me to claim his insurance, when ironically I was the one trying to convince him its not worth it. [hur]

Wouldnt also give me a letter of acknowledgement for having reversed into me, sighs .. I had to get witnesses to sign my letter after he left. [sweatdrop]

I seriously think driving schools should teach everyone what to do in the event of an accident.

but i thought TP wouldn't care as there are no injuries.

as for reporting it as a hit and run, he can says that he had tried to negotiate but you weren't interested.

still no use reporting to TP isn't it?

even got witness also no use, as he will admit that it is his fault and he had negotiated but you do not agree to the amount.

I had an accident 2 years ago, exactly like yours. I was dropping someone off, so parked alongside a row of parked cars. While looking right to ensure that my passenger reach her block safely, this van reversed out from his lot and banged in my left front area. He also blamed why I parked behind him, cannot even see. I told him, next time don't park head in, you cannot see on-coming cars one (actually was wanting to tell him 'you never check mirror one meh?'). In the end settled at my WS for a few knocks and respray.

Now I still see his car in the parking lot, but always back in lo [flowerface]

if got witness then can just directly claim his insurance.

for hit and run, you are just filing a case with TP. I dont think TP will interfere but perhaps send him a letter. It is still considered as intent, i would think ....

yes there are no injuries, but he did hit your car, didnt wanna negotiate and left or negotiated and gave u unrealistic offer.

I havent had this happen to me before, but it doesnt make sense if someone were to kick your car door and offer you $10 for any damages caused, u dont accept and he gets away scott free? [sweatdrop]

At least filing with TP would reserve your rights to file a civil suit for damages caused.